We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect base for khao san road”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fortville Guesthouse
Ranked #166 of 710 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

the room was clean and very basic. Think living out of a backpack. We stayed 3 days, which was just perfect as its so tiny. We wanted a room at a good price, close enough to walk to khao san, without the noise thats comes with staying there. For this, it was perfect. 5 mins walk, 7 11 across the street. A great cheap, clean choice with air con. If i ever visit this area again, i would use this guest house.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 249 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is our second time at the Fortville. It's a nice and simple. And in a good location. Not to far from famous Khaosan road (just a few minutes walk), but the "busy-sounds" of it won't effect you at all :-) ..

Room Tip: If you are a smoker, get a room with balcony. It's help real a lot :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeumalaYatim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The Fortville guesthouse is in a good location, about a 5 min walk from the Khao San road, so you're close to all of the bars and restaurants there without the noise and crowds.
After seeing the website for the guesthouse we were expecting somewhere a bit funky and quirky, but in reality the rooms are basic and look a bit unfinished with all of the concrete, but I guess that's what you get in a fort?!
Our room was small, but it had air con. There was some noise in the morning from the garage next door. We didn't get chance to use the bar or terrace, but these looked nice enough.
Overall we found the guesthouse to be adequate for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynseyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

When I entered this guesthouse for the first time, I felt comfortable. Dunno why.
I have a check-in late night, around 12.30 am, because my flight just arrived on 11.30 pm. The receptionist help us to get the room and when we had a conversations, we knew that he is an Indonesian too like me. So, we speak Indonesian languages. I spent 3 nights at Fortviille. Everyday the room services changed the bed cover. The bathroom is also clean and comfy. I love the bedstead, big pillows and white colors. The room is quite small, but no problem, its can accommodated me and my stuffs. The locations is so strategic, because near 711 and Khaosan Road. You can buy anything at 711 (almost completed). But there's a point that I got disappointing, why Fortville couldn't give the guests free breakfast for two person cause we have to pay 115bath if we want to have breakfast in there :)
By the way, you have to use the elevator! so unique, like an old classic hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvoneTriesYuarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

If a hotel knew that the air-condition was not working, why would you let the room out. When we ask for them to check the air-condition we simply got no service and staff couldn't find a solution. In addition, a new room was not offered. I understand it isn't the staff's fault but a little service with a smile would've been nice. I did not enjoy my stay and probably won't return in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DND13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I laugh reading other comments that the rooms are small. We just arrived from Hong Kong and the room here is at least double the size of our HK room. But I digress...

Basic simple rooms, comfortable, very clean, safe and an excellent location within walking distance of the main sights. Several cheap restaurants near by and a coffee shop and restaurant on site.

Only downside from me; you only get one hour free WIFi, but you van buy 24 hour access for 150Baht.

I would very happily stay again on m next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pennydoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stay at this cheap hotel in September 2011. The check in time for us was at 9:00 am. whithout extra cost. The room are not so big, but nice and comfortable. There is a good place for visit the nearest Palaces and other place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AleStepanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Diamond House
Diamond House
#305 of 884 in Bangkok
307 reviews
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#147 of 884 in Bangkok
1,839 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#393 of 884 in Bangkok
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Banglamphu
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
#31 of 1,303 in Bangkok
368 reviews
Banglamphu
Chern Hostel
Chern Hostel
#20 of 1,303 in Bangkok
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortville Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortville Guesthouse

Address: 9 Phrasumen Rd. | Pom Phrasumen (Phrasumen Fort), Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $23 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fortville Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fortville Guesthouse is a reasonably priced boutique guesthouse. It is the first and the only one in Thailand with a “FORT” designed. Not only the exterior is different, also the interior is charming.With a “FORT” theme, we concentrate on our guests’ safety as our number 1 priority since the fortress represents security and protection. We provide CCTV, 3 Emergency Fire exits (including the main stair), smoking detectors, fire alarm system, and fire extinguishers on every corner of each floor. With us, guests can be sure that they will be safe in the arm of Fortville.According to the research on our targeted guests’ demand, Fortville Guesthouse provides you Standard Double, Superior Double, Superior Twin, and Deluxe Balcony with in-room facilities such as LCD TV with in-house satellite, double layers curtain, double glasses window (for noise pollution), comfortable bed and mattress, water heater, refrigerator (Deluxe Balcony Only), and more. All the rooms are simply designed to offer you private comfort with heartwarming hospitality.That is not it. To kiss your butt, we also provide some more to excite and comfort you such as, Boutique Elevator, Luggage Storage Room, Safe Deposit Boxes, Canal Bank Garden, and Roof-Top Restaurant. Moreover, you can stay in touch with your families and friends by using our WIFI anywhere in the building.With all these, we are sure that you cannot find one like us in Thailand.Just come and Feel It Yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fortville Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortville Guesthouse Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing