We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely the best VFM in Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fortville Guesthouse
Ranked #145 of 632 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Leeds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Definitely the best VFM in Bangkok”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We were originally undecided between this hotel and another but we were so glad we chose this one! On arrival we found that the other was right in the centre of Khaosan Road! You would be forgiven for thinking when you arrive at the hotel that is actually a designer boutique hotel which has cost you a small fortune! It is right next to the fort in the centre of Bankok and about 10 minutes walk from Khaosan Road which was definitely close enough for us. The room was clean and spacious and had a balcony looking out over the canal which we loved as we could watch the locals getting right into the water to place their fishing nets. The only negative thing about the room was that there was no wardrobe but this did not bother us at all as we were only there for a couple of nights. There was free internet in the cafe downstairs which also did the most divine iced coffees.....not to be missed – this was also where the continental breakfast was served. If we went back to Bangkok we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: make sure you get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    118
    65
    15
    13
See reviews for
12
137
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Unique style (jail alike decor, for some people it might be look creepy, especially with its open door elevator). Nice small hotel in Bangkok. The location is good, although the taxi driver didn't know where it is and we have to driving on circle to find the hotel. It would be better if the hotel stated that they near the Baan Athit Pier, so guest can easily located the place. The room is very small (eventhough at that time we took the best deluxe room with balcony) and the staff is very friendly and helpful. But overall it it nice hotel.

It is located near bustling Khao San road, need to walk about 10-15 minutes. Little bit scary at night as the street was quite deserted, only full of life when already near Khao San. Easily access to several temples (Wat Arun, Wat Pho, Grand Palace) as the hotel near the boat pier. Guest can also took the boat and then proceed to Saphan taksin Pier and continue with Sky Train to various shopping place (Siam, MBK, Central World, etc)

Room Tip: Deluxe with balcony (biggest)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aikouka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

I booked this hotel for 2 nights before I left my home city. I read so many reviews of terrible sounding places around the Banglampu area, but this one seemed to only have positive reviews.

I am so glad this was my first hotel in Bangkok. The room is basic, but very clean. Location is great for a walking tour and I walked to the Grand Palace and Wat Pho from the hotel ( you will be dying of heat though, but doable) both ways. Also other Wats like the Golden Mount.

It is pretty quiet for Bangkok, I slepted fine and AC & plumbing all worked great.

What is so great about this place isthe service. I had so many questions that I would be too embaressed to ask back home, but I had no choice here as I don't speak a word of Thai other than hello & thank you. Not only did the 2 lovely ladies and the guy ( I should've gotten their names!) answer all of my questions and offered great suggestions, they were extremely patient and understanding. Like when i didn't know how to load the minutes onto my cell phone because it was all written in Thai, they just giggled and helped me out.

The cafe downstairs also has excellent service and pretty damn good coffee too. Internet was super fast and very affordable. You only get one hour free, but seriously, it is 40 baht for one hour, I can't even buy a pack of gum for that price in the US.

I have to come back to Bangkok for my flight out and will probably return if they have any rooms available.

Extremely accomodating and great for a basic lodging without going all caveman.

Room Tip: Even though it is close to Khao San, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wandering_Creampuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Fortville is a total gem for the price. The rooms are small, but they are clean, new and modern. Compared to other places at the same price, Fortville is fantastic. Sila the manager is very helpful and kind, there are lockers for your valuables (bring your own lock), the A/C works well, strong free wifi in the rooms (1-5 hours per day, based on your room rate, after that its 40 Baht/hour), and the internet cafe downstairs has great coffee and breakfast that you get a reduced rate for. If it were more expensive, we might not have felt like it was such a great deal, but for what we paid, we felt like we found a hidden treasure.

The only recommendation we would make: Sila - get some bus maps to sell in the lobby! Given the location Fortville is in, the only means of public transportation nearby is the bus, which is pretty impossible to figure out, or the boats, which are limited in destination. Which means that unless you can afford tuk tuks and cabs, once you leave for the day, you're out for quite a while - which can be tricky in the Bangkok heat. Until Fortville stocks them - we recommend buying a bus map if you plan on venturing further than the old city.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank watchourstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Great location, less than the 5 minutes from Kho San and 20 minutes from major temples. Rooms are small, but comparable to most Bangkok hotels. Extremely clean and well designed. Good breakfast and friendly staff. Can't complain!!! AMAZNIG VALUE

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aross658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We stayed 6 nights here in balcony rooms. Rooms are small but clean and these are the calmest, we stayed one night in non-balcony room and they are noisy. You can hear a little noise from outdoor, but you can't hear the other guests.
You don't get a free brekfast for this price but a 20% discount, which is not nice, we got a free breakfast any where we went.
So the hotel would be great if the price was lower, you have Bihmann hotel just next door with pool and free breakfast for less money!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leylab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2011

A nice hotel with friendly , trustworthy staff. A great location with clean modern rooms.
I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyflude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Bhiman Inn
Bhiman Inn
#352 of 859 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Banglamphu
Diamond House
Diamond House
#297 of 859 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House III (Super)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Smile Buri House
Smile Buri House
#73 of 632 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Banglamphu
Viman Guesthouse
Viman Guesthouse
#100 of 632 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Banglamphu
Khaosan Immjai
Khaosan Immjai
#63 of 1,189 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortville Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortville Guesthouse

Property: Fortville Guesthouse
Address: 9 Phrasumen Rd. | Pom Phrasumen (Phrasumen Fort), Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 632 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fortville Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fortville Guesthouse is a reasonably priced boutique guesthouse. It is the first and the only one in Thailand with a “FORT” designed. Not only the exterior is different, also the interior is charming.With a “FORT” theme, we concentrate on our guests’ safety as our number 1 priority since the fortress represents security and protection. We provide CCTV, 3 Emergency Fire exits (including the main stair), smoking detectors, fire alarm system, and fire extinguishers on every corner of each floor. With us, guests can be sure that they will be safe in the arm of Fortville.According to the research on our targeted guests’ demand, Fortville Guesthouse provides you Standard Double, Superior Double, Superior Twin, and Deluxe Balcony with in-room facilities such as LCD TV with in-house satellite, double layers curtain, double glasses window (for noise pollution), comfortable bed and mattress, water heater, refrigerator (Deluxe Balcony Only), and more. All the rooms are simply designed to offer you private comfort with heartwarming hospitality.That is not it. To kiss your butt, we also provide some more to excite and comfort you such as, Boutique Elevator, Luggage Storage Room, Safe Deposit Boxes, Canal Bank Garden, and Roof-Top Restaurant. Moreover, you can stay in touch with your families and friends by using our WIFI anywhere in the building.With all these, we are sure that you cannot find one like us in Thailand.Just come and Feel It Yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Fortville Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortville Guesthouse Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing