We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for stopover at Bangkok, good value!”
Review of Orchid Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Orchid Resort
Ranked #54 of 632 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Hamburg
Level Contributor
76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great place for stopover at Bangkok, good value!”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This hotel (it's nothing close to a 'resort') offers excellent value if you plan a stopover between connecting flights at Bangkok Suvarnabhumi. Don't consider staying here if you plan to visit Bangkok downtown.

Pros:
- great cleanliness
- well equipped, new rooms (refrigerator, tea/coffee facility, DVD player, small balcony)
- free airport transfer (pickup was unreliable, though)
- good breakfast
- pool
- free WiFi
- safe surrounding with some small restaurants, hawker stalls and convenience stores

Cons:
- unreliable airport pickup service, had to take a taxi ourselves despite preliminary arrangements and communication with hotel staff after booking
- location not very romantic, only for stopover, don't book it if you want to visit Bangkok downtown

Recommended, would stay here again when stopping over at Bangkok.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fruehstueckspause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    86
    46
    8
    5
See reviews for
34
83
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I got a room at the last floor close the water pump machine room,asked a room change them try to charge me for(its maybe a routine trick??) i ask to check out just after 1 hour i coming in,but the hotel staff refuse to pay me back the money;just after the local police coming by my call,the cops put the hotel staff to give me back a part of the amount payed;for this price you can find many hotels in same area better of this;this hotel still have a actrattive price (799b)for a standard room,for later charge you for anythings:taxi to airport 100b(all hotels around will give to you this free or by taxy meter you just will pay about 70b)same story for the breakfast charge 100b up for person..(Alrerady 1000b person)BAD experience,like a nightmare..

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlo1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is the best choice you can make if you need a place for a short lay-over and flying out of Bangkok. Staff was incredibly friendly and professional, the room was really clean and nicely decorated, with a lot of snacks and a full fridge in case you need a refreshment (meal) during the night! It is really close to the airport too, so very convenient! I will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gergana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Had the usual one day layover and needed an overniter. Went to the tourist sales center at the airport level two and looked at many brochures. Not much help from the sales staff so I picked the one with the nicest brochure.The Orchid offered round trip to and from airport and king size non-smoking rooms for 1000bht. WOW.. great ride and very nice and CLEAN room and staff was excellent.Nite market was awesome.Overall great value and I'll do it again when in BKK.

Room Tip: I did hear the bells at nite but it didn't bother me,but you could ask for a front side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uncledave57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhaka
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

While checking in online I found out that my flight had a huge delay, so I had to spend one unexpected night in Bangkok. Arriving late at night and checking in early in the morning, I looked for a hotel not far from the airport and I found this hotel, whose rates were very cheap. Considering the good reports, I booked it and I was positively surprised at finding a very clean and comfortable hotel at such a good price. The staff is very helpful (I had lost my mobile in the taxi, less than 10 minutes from the airport, and they helped me getting it back immediately); my room was big enough with all the comfort you can ask (flat screen tv, dvd player, minibar, kettle, air conditioning, queen size bed, balcony...), not so noisy (I could only hear the bells of the buddhist temple by the hotel). As I left early in the morning, I did not have breakfast, so I can not say how it is. The hotel provide even a van to go to the airport at the cheap fare of 100 THB. Definitely a hotel to consider if you do not want to spend too much and must stay close to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank max4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I stayed overnight twice at Orchid Resort to catch flights the following day. The hotel provided transportation to and from the airport for a very reasonable price. Rooms are small but clean and well furnished. This is a no-frills but excellent hotel for short or overnight stays. The staff is so friendly. I arrived very late in the evening and when I asked if I could still order food, even though the kitchen was already closed, the manager herself cooked the food and brought it to my room! How's that for service!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pachelbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We picked the Orchid because it seemed reasonably priced for the airport area. We opted for the airport transfer (100 baht for both of us, totally worth it), and didn't have too much problems finding our ride but did have to ask around a bit. The pool was a godsend, as we weren't used to the Thai heat and needed some relief. The food at the resort is not good and I wouldn't recommend it, but there is a nightmarket close by that is AMAZING, there's no english at all and we were the only tourists around which we loved, with a little bit of charades we managed to buy some very delicious and excellently priced food (spring rolls, and noodle dishes) I highly recommend checking it out. The location itself is not super touristy, there isn't really any english anywhere but we enjoyed it. The room was clean, A/C worked, loved the pool, staff was pleasant, and there's free wifi in the room, so nice. One complaint is it stated there was free breakfast when we booked and there was not, and we had trouble finding breakfast around the hotel. Also free water drinking water which was nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadianbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.4 mi away
Mariya Boutique Residence at Suvarnabhumi Airport
3.0 mi away
Aranta Airport Hotel
Aranta Airport Hotel
#74 of 632 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eat-Ting
Eat-Ting
#215 of 1,189 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dharasom's Colonial House
Dharasom's Colonial House
#11 of 1,189 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lilac Relax-Residence
Lilac Relax-Residence
#20 of 632 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
3.0 mi away
At Residence Suvarnabhumi
At Residence Suvarnabhumi
#6 of 1,189 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Resort

Property: Orchid Resort
Address: 62 Soi Ladkrabang 48 Onnut-Ladkrabang Road | เลขที่ 62 ซอยลาดกระบัง 48 ถนนลาดกระบัง แขวงลาดกระบัง เขตลาดกระบัง, Bangkok 10520, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 632 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchid Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Close to Suvarnabhumi airport just 10 minutes. - Rooms are very clean. - Quite place. - Full facilities ; air conditioner, water heater, TV, refrigerator, electric kettle, hair dryer, slippers, telephone, mini bar. - Free WiFi in the room and public area. - Complimentary tea, coffee and 2 bottles of water in the room. - Swimming pool. - Transfer from-to Suvarnabhumi airport only. - Near the evening market, 5 minutes by walk. - 24 Hour service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing