We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depends on your standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rainbow Khaosan Hostel and Guesthouse
Ranked #760 of 1,155 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Depends on your standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

It's a bit hard to rate this place because it really depends on your own personal standards.

For the lowest price we could find in the area we got a private double room with private bathroom. Yes - the walls are stained and there are holes everywhere, the bathroom and shower are as small as possible, the beds are rock hard, the sheets have holes in them, you have to climb a huge set of stairs to get to the rooms...

But the staff is kind and helpful and the location can't be argued with.

Anywhere else this place would be given a serious thumbs down, but it's Bangkok. And we paid $5 Australian between us for the night... Our standards might not be as high as yours but we were reasonably satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canaussie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    47
    53
    36
    41
See reviews for
5
43
60
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

...and that's not much. You get a tiny room that needs more than just a fresh paint. Rooms are damp, no wonder, half of the bathroom facilities are leaking. No window, no charme and except for the owner I didn't meet anyone from the staff who spoke sufficient English. It's ok for low budget backpackers and one-nighters, but only for that!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bourne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

My first time here was three months ago, when I started my traveling. One of my friend from bangkok took me to this place for having a breakfast. Its very relaxing place, I really like their food from menu. It tastes amazing. There is free wifi. Staff are very pleasant, nice and friendly.

Room Tip: I dont know this information. I think all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinaKaplanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The title says it all: the price is right if you like the area, but if you're at all picky about where you sleep or shower, you might want to look elsewhere. The room we stayed in was a double and it was quite tiny, with a few holes in the walls, no windows and a really musky smell. The ceiling was rotting in certain sections and water damage was visible everywhere. The place could do with a paint job and some new ventilation since windows aren't an option. Still, the staff was really friendly and not a hassle to deal with at all.

Room Tip: I don't know if they have rooms with windows or not, but you could try asking for one before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a no frills hostel which does exactly what is says on the tin. Cheap rooms in a great part of Bangkok.
I went with my girlfriend and although the staff were very friendly, helpful and pleasant the rooms could be improved. The is a slight smell in the place that needs to be eradicated. The rooms could be redecordated to add a bit of style.

Having said this for the price you pay, I shouldnt really complain,

Free WIFI, as well as luggage storage for one day. Indian restaurant was brilliant (I am in Northern Thailand and really miss Indian food)

Great staff. Location could not be better just off Kao San Rd and withing walking distance to the Grand Palace and Wat Angkor

I would go back

Room Tip: See the room first as different travellers have different expectations
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madeinguiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Yes, the rooms are tiny, bed is hard, no windows and thick air- but it's clean, you have free wi-fi, staff are nice, and the location is amazing: just in front of the Kahosan, but a bit far fron its noise. You pay only 250 baht for a single room. I was pleased. If you are looking for a very good room, but- don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mor333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Cant really complain much about this place - to be right on Khao San Road for 150 baht a night is a bargain in anyone's book. The staff are so lovely, and while it isn't pristine I have definitely seen much worse. The restaurant is a great place to socialize too. If you're on a tight budget this is the place to be.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
#85 of 1,155 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Banglamphu
Feel At Home Backpackers
Feel At Home Backpackers
#161 of 1,155 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Sukhumvit
De Talak Hostel
De Talak Hostel
#130 of 1,155 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
The Street Hostel
The Street Hostel
#137 of 1,155 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Banglamphu
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
#21 of 1,155 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Banglamphu
Nitan Hostel Khaosan
Nitan Hostel Khaosan
#87 of 1,155 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Khaosan Hostel and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Khaosan Hostel and Guesthouse

Property: Rainbow Khaosan Hostel and Guesthouse
Address: 43 Thanon Chakrabongse | Banglumphu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #760 of 1,155 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow hostel in Bangkok provides budget rooms in the Khaosan Road area. We have more than 30 aircon dorm beds. All our dorm beds are aircon. We also offer some double and singled private rooms. Free wifi throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Rainbow Khaosan Hostel and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Khaosan Hostel And Guesthouse Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing