We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dated hotel but friendly staff”
Review of Nice Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nice Palace Hotel
Ranked #488 of 742 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel is trapped in the 70's. Everything in the room needs replacement except for the flooring. In my case the aircond is very noisy. It's from the condenser unit at the balcony. I slept with the windows open to circulate the air in the room. It was bad when. First enter. Good that the hotel has mosquito netting all over. Staff are friendly and helpful.
My room comes with a small balcony which I enjoy in the morning and late evening.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
Thank CHRISTIAN_LEE32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 138 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

This place was a dump. The woman at the register was counting money as I was standing there and giving her dirty looks for ignoring me. My eyes would have crossed forever from rolling them, if I waited for her to stop. She won. She kept doing her thing until i told her that we need a room. She gave me a price that was a bit high. I told her it was too much and started leaving. She lowered it - I ignored her. She called me back. Lowered it again. I told her we are leaving. So at the end we DID NOT stay here, but that small interaction was enough for me. They'll rip you off at every step of the way. The lobby looked dirty and empty. very few people walking around.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alek2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights and it was ok. The staff is mostly friendly and the rooms are good, big rooms, good bed, clean, AC and hot shower for 600 Bath. The only thing I can't understand is that they make you pay for Wifi, even though you're staying in the hotel. I think in 2012 you just can't do that anymore. They thought otherwise.
But, if you don't mind that, it's a good place to crash. About 10 min away from the skytrain at Saphan Kwai

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dick133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I was there in October of 08.The hotel is A good location to A big C ,and BTS station.The room was fine.
No problems.The biggest thing that I didn't like was the Hotel Taxi's.They would tend to overcharge
when going somewhere.We would eventually go out to the main road and hail A taxi.
They have A restaurant and the breakfast was good.
I would stay there again,but i like the riverside area of Bangkok better.

Room Tip: Been to Thailand many times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thrilled747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The room we had clean; walls, wood floor and bathroom. The AC air flow and temperature controllable by remote. Standard channels on TV. Wifi was chargeable. Best taken by the hour 20 at a time. If you pay 100 thb for 10 hours starting at 4 pm, it ends at 2 am irrespective of use or not,

The mini bar is fully stocked, although we managed to fit 4 yogurts to supplement our diet. There is a short cut to Big C and Skytrain. When you exit the hot make a right, follow the road and make a left when i ends. It takes you to the rear of the building. Unless you have very light small luggage, the Airport Link,and Skytrain combo, while inexpensive requires stairways that soar to earth or heaven at Saphan Kawai BTS. EXIT 1.

Room Tip: If you are young seniors like us, take the meter taxis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Goodgenie4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Very pleasant dining room staff - a cheery hello each morning with excellent breakfast.
Mixed attitudes at Reception, two young ladies very friendly, Manager fairly surly and abrupt in manner, for example early one morning I needed a Bandaid for my finger and asked if they had a spare one - she pointed to outside and said "go and buy one". A kindly fellow traveller, also at the desk, overheard and gave me one from her own supply - she could have taught the manager a thing or two about customer relations!!
The room was adequate, fairly old but with clean bedding. Bathroom ok.
Overall, the hotel served our purpose budget-wise and was within walking distance to Sky Rail etc, however, we'd choose another when returning to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Su H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I was forced due to recent floods in Thailand to seek alternative low cost accommodation for my wife and I.

We opted for their superior room at a discounted 642THB per night excluding Breakfast.

Location: located in Inthamara Soi 1/1, which is a quiet soi about 10 mins max walk to Saphan Kwai BTS station and or the Local Big C supermarket or 20THB on a motorcycle taxi. Sits in the middle of lots of eating places so you are wide choice

Hotel: It is in need of a restoration but for the price and location it does not pretend to be the Ritz but does pride itself on meeting its price point, being clean and having helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are a good size, TV (has English Channels), Fridge Aircon.

If price is your driver in a local 'thai' setting then use it, if you are looking for more luxury or 'chic and modern' then go elsewhere.

Tip: It does have wireless internet that is chargeable 3 hours 50BHT. Tip go out of the hotel cross the road enjoy a drink / meal and enjoy their free wifi internet

Room Tip: Not on a main road and has a lift so opt for the superior rooms which are slightly larger and better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalRoverMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Suda Palace Hotel
#706 of 891 in Bangkok
57 reviews
Din
CK2 Hotel
CK2 Hotel
#405 of 891 in Bangkok
30 reviews
Din
Bangkok 68
Bangkok 68
#299 of 891 in Bangkok
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paragon Inn
#345 of 891 in Bangkok
704 reviews
Buddy Place
#597 of 891 in Bangkok
7 reviews
Phayathai
Karnmanee Palace Hotel
Karnmanee Palace Hotel
#606 of 891 in Bangkok
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Palace Hotel

Address: 72/54 Soi Inthamara 1/1 Shutthisan Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #488 of 742 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $16 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nice Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nice Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing