We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
In and around Bangkok Private Tour Guide with Custom Experience
332

Book in advance
from
$54.83
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Museum of Siam
from $54.83
More Info
from $58.00
More Info
from $9.00
More Info
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveler rating
229
183
62
14
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
229
183
62
14
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews interactive exhibits audio guide thai history and culture all ages learning experience wat pho grand palace thailand multimedia information interactivity visitors sangam revolution admission series mrt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 504 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

The main exhibition in the museum, defining Thainess, examines Thai identity throughout recent history and is a fascinating insight into what makes up a cultural identity. The multiple rooms in the exhibit are interactive and cater to kids and adults alike. The museum is easily accessible from the port and the hop-on-hop-off boat.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank RachaelR17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

One of the most stimulating museums I have been to and it focuses on critically thinking about and examining Thai identity and historiography. All these are done with a tone that is low-key sarcastic and subversive and makes you question not just the state-endorsed "Thainess", but indeed culture in general, with its general argument that all culture is fluid and constantly evolving/adapting to geopolitical or geocultural situations.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank maxynickytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

We went to Museum Siam having read about it in our guide book.
We were thoroughly impressed by the exhibition which explores the idea of defining “Thainess” through different rooms. Each room explores a variety of elements of Thai culture (such as food, clothes, education and religion for example), and comparing ‘expectations’ or ‘stereotypes’ with real-life in Thailand. The audio guide was well worth it as it added a lot of depth and insight on top of the display information. The exhibition was very interactive which we really enjoyed, almost every room had something to physically engage with the exhibits.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank brionyh485
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 23, 2019

I loved the European (perhaps Portuguese?) architecture of the museum that used to be the ministry of commerce. The ceiling heights and room sizes and wooden floors and colonnades made this a great place to wonder around for an hour or so. Entry for non Thais is 200 baht and with that comes a headphone in various languages.
I was rather surpised by the exhibits as there were few ancient artefacts and relics and the museum is far more focused on what constitutes Thai identity. A room dedicated to uniqely Thai innovation includes flip flops, a cd used as a tail light for elephants, or for costume decoration and as a mean to ward off flies, a knotted plastic bag pierced by a straw etc. Once I realised this was not meant to be an intellectually challenging museum visit I started to enjoy myself. There were a lot of young children there having great fun playing with all the interactive exhibits including a mock classroom and an area where you can dress up in national costume.
The message I took away from the museum is that Thai people are open to all cutural influences that they will adapt according to what they find useful. Don't go if you are looking for a more highbrow experience

Date of experience: March 2019
3  Thank Mai2055
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 16, 2019 via mobile

We stumbled upon the Museum of Siam because it was near the Grand Palace, which was too crowded for our taste. Museum entrance was free as was the English language headset. The exhibit was about Thainess - the history and culture of being Thai - and we learned much of interest for foreigners interested in learning about the history and culture of the country we are visiting. Much of the exhibit was interactive and the place was full of kids. From reading the reviews it seems the typical admission charge is 200TBH; surely we would not have liked it quite as much if we’d had to pay.

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank Karsikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews