We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service, hostel for younger crowd”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
Ranked #26 of 1,344 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Overall, hostel was average. It was clean and conveniently located near old quarter. Major temples within walking distance. Khaosan road is a backpackers area with many food options and bars/pubs. Staff was only nominally helpful. No good map available and no introduction to the city. No restaurant or other area recommendations. When asked about local travel, they said to take a taxi or tuk tuk. Top reason to stay here is conivence to sights, but might not stay here otherwise. Shower and toilet were separate which is a nice change of pace from other SE Asia hostels. Air con is only on in rooms at night, but once on its very comfortable. Main lounge/lobby has air con all day. Free computers and good wifi. I stayed in the dorm rooms, and although they have a thin curtain to separate from other beds, there is nothing to block out the sound (people returning late at night or using their lockers).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lianelau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

525 - 531 of 720 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

When I booked this hostel, I planned to see what it was like before booking any more nights. Damn was that a poor decision as this was fully booked for the whole of the next week after my day there. In terms of your room it is like a standard hostel with bunk beds and aircon. However the social element was incredible and I met so many awesome people in my time there. You enter the main foyer and there are mattresses across the floor and pretty much everyone chills out there while listening to coffee shop music, then everyone heads out to Khao San road which is about 2 minutes away. The fact this hostel isn't on Khao San road is definitely a benefit as you get the social element without the noise and constant bustle which you can go in and out of as much you choose. If I went back to Bangkok this would undoubtedly be my first choice place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

i travelled to Thailand last December 2012. wikid destination, right next to a well known road for shopping, temples by day and clubs bars restaurants by night,

very clean place, i stayed in a mixed dorm , seperated by curtains. so so clean. you get a lock for your locker. hot water. and so reasonably priced.

i met loads of friendly people that stayed here, who i went out with all the time. staff are great, they talk good english, and help you with things from questions about the area, what to do in the day and night and they warned me how not to get ripped off by tuktuks and stools.

really lovely hostel. i would reccomend this place 100 times over.

thnks nappark!

Room Tip: i stayed on the second floor in a mixed dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

You can certainly find somewhere cheaper to stay, but this place is worth the extra few dollars. I paid $15 for my female dorm room (4th floor, no elevator, so request a lower level if this a problem) and it was worth every dollar! Air conditioned, very clean and airy, with each bed feeling like it's in its own room when the shades are drawn, clean and simple bathrooms (with a lizard or two, but they don't bother you), lockers and free towels. There is a nice big common area with a lounging area for you to hang around and meet people. It's a very friendly place, and if you sit downstairs for half an hour, you will definitely make a friend. The wifi is good all over the hostel and they also have about 5 computers that you can use for free. My only issue with the hostel is that the AC is turned off in the rooms during the day, so you can't hang out in there in the afternoons (like if you need to stay is bed if you're sick), since it's way too hot, but I'm sure that if you just ask the staff they would be happy to switch it on for you.

It's also located near enough to Khao San Road to stumble back at night, but far enough away so you can sleep. It's also within walking distance to the grand palace and a few other cool looking temples. Also, in the streets surrounding Nappark (excluding Khao San, which of course you have to visit it you're in Bangkok anyway) you will find lots of places with cheap massages, cheap and delicious street food and souvenir shopping.

Room Tip: Female dorm is on level 4, no lift. Request a lower room if you don't want to climb stairs! (tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The best hostel in Bangkok as everyone will tell you. Not the cheapest but that's standard for Bangkok! Awesome to meet other backpackers, the have great facilities: air con dorms, male and female bathrooms (not shared), good reception staff, outdoor chillout area, wifi, hot showers, 2 min walk to Th Khao San. I now live in Bangkok and I recommend this hostel to backpackers I meet around the area if they ask me. I stayed here 3 nights and really enjoyed my stay. Chok dee na ka :)

Room Tip: Make sure you book. They tend to book up really quickly and you can't really just walk in and ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in the female dorm for 8 and loved it. Really clean, staff are lovely and loads of space to chill out after a night on the Khoa San Road! The cafe out front does great food and the lady who runs it is a real character. Rooms and bathroom facilities are all clean and well maintained - cant recommend it enough!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Annakeen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Before I arrived in Bangkok I found this hostel online, The pictures looked good so I thought lets book here. I arrived at 2 a.m. and basically went straight to bed. The next morning I started talking with some people and we became friends immediately. That's one of the things here in this hostel. The atmosphere is great and you will meet alot of people. The hostel is very clean and they keep it that way.
The hostel is close to Khao San road but you won't have any noise from it.
Im staying here already for the third time since I'm travelling and it's like a home to me.
I have been travelling in Lao and Thailand and this is the hostel I liked the most of all the hostels I've been staying at.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YuBo189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
#30 of 1,344 in Bangkok
382 reviews
Banglamphu
Here Hostel
Here Hostel
#18 of 1,344 in Bangkok
240 reviews
Banglamphu
The Oasis Hostel
The Oasis Hostel
#24 of 1,344 in Bangkok
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siamaze Hostel
#4 of 1,344 in Bangkok
554 reviews
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,344 in Bangkok
1,098 reviews
Banglamphu
Chern Hostel
Chern Hostel
#21 of 1,344 in Bangkok
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NapPark Hostel @ Khao San? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NapPark Hostel @ Khao San

Address: 5 Tani Rd. Taladyod Phranakorn | Khao San area, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 1,344 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $12 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — NapPark Hostel @ Khao San 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your NapPark Hostel @ Khao San reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nappark Hostel @ Khao San Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing