We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location is great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #324 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Jakarta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“location is great”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The location is great but the room and breakfast is so so. the wall in the room is so thin so we can hear people from outside the room. The Air Con is noisy but it's cold. The other thing in the room is not bad is standard 3star hotel. I suggest you can find breakfast outside the hotel cause every morning there is food stall selling local food and fruit also sweet dessert.


I really hope that they can fix all the aircon. cause i rent three room all the same, already asked for the maintenance but i dont think he can fix it right away cause somehow it's still noisy.

There is no parking lot for car in the hotel so when you using car to stop you have to parking in the pedestrian for a moment only.

The staff is nice esp the receptionist, but the maintenance cant understand english well. there is a bellboy who is very nice also and helpful.

But if you looking for cheap and great location hotel. this is the place.
You can try the local food next to the hotel on a parking yard they sell good seafood especially love the shrimp and also cheap. Dont know the name thought

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oline_widi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegacyExpress, General Manager at Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Khun Oline_widi,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to learn that our location, hospitality and service provided by our staffs have met your expectation. I have noted down the points that you mentioned for the improvement. Please be assured that your comments will be looked into.

We do hope to welcome you to stay with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Ms. Nuntaporn S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    196
    100
    17
    15
See reviews for
67
142
95
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

It's a decent hotel with pretty ok rooms, clean and good in my opinion.
It's worth the money, lots of food to eat nearby also. The staff were friendly and helpful, gave us directions and advice to many local places. There's a 7-11 downstairs so its convenient to buy snacks and stuff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emanlien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegacyExpress, General Manager at Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Khun Emanlien,

Thank you very much for your short review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to know that our rooms and services have met your expectations. We will do our best to ensure that you will have the similar experience for your next visit.

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Best regards,

Ms. Nuntaporn S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

For Bangkok, this hotel is excellent. Rooms are modern, spacious, clean and well furnished. It's a city hotel so you will hear the sound of traffic in the distance. You soon get used to it.

What let it down were the staff. Think they tried their best but it often took more than one person to sort something out. I'd say, double check everything they say especially if you book any tours or airline tickets with them to make sure they have told you all costs involved. They seem to blame any misunderstandings on new staff but I'm not so sure.

The hotel restaurant which they are still advertising was actually being refurbished. It did feel like you we're sitting in a cave to eat breakfast. That reminds me, the breakfast wasn't all that great. They do good omelettes though.

Room Tip: May be don't choose a room near 406 area as this is where the maids seem to have their things st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mala8830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegacyExpress, General Manager at Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Khun Mala8830,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you love our rooms, cleanliness, and decoration. However, we really apologize for unpleasant experience that you highlighted. Your comments have been noted and the staff concerned will be instructed to meet the desired standards. We would strive to improve in delivering good service to our valuable guests.

We hope that we will have another chance to welcome you back again.

Best regards,

Ms. Nuntaporn S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have never been to Bangkok before. Hence when I had to choose which hotel to stay in, I asked for a friend's recommendation. Legacy Express was chosen because of the location. The hotel located in the middle of Sukhumvit and only 3 minutes away from the train station. Which is perfect for me.

However, when my airline changed the airport destination to Don Mueang instead of Svarnabhumi, it was a little bit difficult to reach the hotel. The original plan was to take the airport express and stop at Phloen Chit BTS station. To explain the location of the hotel to the cab driver - whose English is very minimum - is quite challenging. Finally, the Bumrungrad Hospital help the cab driver understand where exactly the hotel is, since the hospital is just few metres away from the hotel.

My first impression of the hotel was not disappointing at all. The image in the hotel website is not very different from the reality. It has a 24 hour convenience store on the ground floor, a 24 hour KFC nearby and a bank across the street. As well as - as I mentioned earlier - the Phloen Chit BTS Station and Bumrungrad Hospital - if you ever need a medical treatment -. Location, location and location!

The staff was very helpful. I got a lot of helpful informations and tips of what to visit, where to get the best food and specially, how to go to the Grand Palace. Lucky me, the hotel is providing an half-day complimentary tour to the Grand Palace with english-speaking guide. I booked the tour in instance. The staff also suggested to book a cab for my flight back since my flight was at 6 in the morning. Everything was scheduled appropriately.

The room was clean and spacious. They put me on the top floor per my requested when I did my booking.

The only downside of this hotel is its restaurant. It seems that restaurant is still under renovation. There was no tiles to cover the floor and the lighting is quite poor. The food is not the greatest food, but it still good.

Overall, the hotel is very appropriate for traveler whose looking for a value in terms of budget, location and a good quality of sleep.

Will I book my next trip to Bangkok in this hotel?

The answer is yes.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor on far from front side of the building as the room is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the-travelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegacyExpress, General Manager at Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Khun the-travelo,

Thank you for choosing Legacy Express and taking time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to know that you were satisfied with our property and services. We always try to maintain and improve standard of service for our significant guests. We do hope to welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,

Ms. Nuntaporn S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Part of the issue with writing a review for TripAdvisor, or indeed any other similar site, is that we are all hostages to our subjectivities and perspectives, and that a ‘budget’ hotel room is high-end category A cell of an open prison to one person, and ‘compact and cozy’ bijou to another. ‘Twas ever thus.

So with these thoughts in mind, I’m starting this journey through my views on the Legacy Express (LE hereafter) on Sukhumvit Soi 1 early – I’ve been here 2 days – so that I don’t lose my train of thought 2 weeks and 10,000 kilometres down the line. I’ve just opened my laptop because I’ve been waiting for a non-smoking room since I checked in at the start of the weekend, I was loathe to unpack then repeat the rigmarole all over again in fairly short notice. I got my n/s room after excuses and 2 days.

Right, here I am again; let me begin with some ideas about photographs on websites, because it’s my firm opinion that the cunning contrivances of enticing photographs and clever photographers to make a place look better than it really is has been stretched to rather disingenuous levels with the LE, in my opinion. The glossy imagery belies the reality folks, it just is not how it appears. Yes, I know, they all do it to an extent, but that doesn’t make me feel any better. This is what happens when I sacrifice common sense on the altar of ‘adventurous’, and decide to try some place cheaper than my tried-and-trusted regular hostelry. So endeth phase 1. I’ll return later with the updated version.

So what’s it like being here? Well, if it’s true that you get what you pay for, no-one should really complain about the lack of quality that’s evident at the LE. It’s everywhere. Let me begin with security – or, a lack of it more to the point. The place simply isn’t as safe as it should be. There’s a door leading to the stairwell adjacent to the lift; this should be closed and keycard secured; it emphatically is not all the time, but is often left wide open offering easy access to the stairwell and rooms for anyone that wants to get to the guests’ living areas. I told the staff on the reception at least 3 times about this, but they clearly chose to ignore me. It’s also notable that the American guy in the room opposite mine complained to Reception staff about some buck-naked feller roaming the corridor whilst he and his girlfriend were just leaving.

The rooms are minimalist too. It’s apparent to me that this place was designed with the bare necessities in mind. Little of note in the toilet/bathroom area – a slip mat and towels that are occasionally not replaced by the chambermaids, and a slight lip that joins the bathroon floor to the bedroom, so it’s easy to stub your toes. The storage capacity is rather poor too; I had to leave much of my clean clothing in my suitcase as there is not enough cupboard or drawer space in the room to store it. What exists is very poorly put together, too – imagine IKEA flat packs, a drunken carpenter, and there you have it. The room window is extremely small, and is not very open to the outside world. Very little natural light reaches into the room, so guests are heavily dependent on manufactured lighting for illumination. Okay, this may suit some people, but I’m an ‘au naturelle’ man myself, and would have thought twice prior to booking a room here had I known this.

The ‘restaurant’, if that be the word, is a spartan arrangement with what appear to be unfinished, crudely-laid floors, little or no decoration to relieve the open and rather bare nature of the room, and no colour or redeeming attractions to enhance the breakfast experience.

If you're only staying for a few days, then I suppose this place is okay. Longer, I suggest that you look elsewhere.

On the plus side? It’s handy for the BTS transport system and the delights, dubious or otherwise, of Sukhumvit Road. Also, my early morning call arrived on time and the taxi I requested had been booked.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorDarkeDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegacyExpress, General Manager at Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Khun DoctorDarkeDerby,

Thank you for taking time to complete a review.

We would like to apologize that the experience you have been received during your stay did not meet your expectation. I have noted down the points that you mentioned for the improvement. Please be assured that your comments will be looked into.

We hope to be able to welcome you again and have another opportunity to serve you better.

Best regards,

Ms. Nuntaporn S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the hotel. Very near the expressway from the Airport. It was just a turn from the expressway exit, and we saw the hotel immediately.

Air con in the room was a little noisy. Walls were also quite thin, so you can't really switch on your TV too loudly. I wouldn't say that the rooms are entirely clean as there was a caterpillar in my room. Apart from that, rooms are pretty fine otherwise, with the basic amenities available.

Receptionist's services were so-so, but the security guard had extraordinary service! He was extremely jovial and helpful in helping us to flag for a taxi each time we needed one.

Hotel breakfast was simple. Definitely not a full-course international hotel breakfast, but there were noodles, fried rice, tomatoes, bread, sunny side-up, sausages, bacon vegetable, cereal, fruit (either watermelon or banana) and the omelette which the chef would cook for you on the spot. Apparently, the restaurant doesn't replenish all of the food. So if you're too late for your breakfast, you may find that some of the food is no longer available.

Hotel has a 7-11 just located downstairs, which is a plus factor. KFC, Macdonalds, Pizza Hut are also located nearby. In the night, the area beside the hotel becomes a large street side eating place, with affordable Thai seafood that were in fact pretty good. These also become street stalls in the day, selling both clothes and food, if you're interested. Massage located just at the street beside the hotel was also not too bad.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegacyExpress, General Manager at Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Khun Tkjy,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us.

We would like to apologize that some experience you have been received during your stay did not meet your expectation. I have noted down the issues that you mentioned. Please be assured that your comments will be looked into.

We hope that we will have another chance to welcome you back again.

Best regards,

Ms. Nuntaporn S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Located near Bumrungrad Hospital, the Sky Train, and major shopping malls. The hotel is clean, and the rooms are quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Good value includes breakfast buffet with omlet bar and free wifi in the room. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegacyExpress, General Manager at Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Khun Kathy A,

Thank you very much for giving us the great review.

It was a great pleasure having you staying with us during you trip to Bangkok. We are glad to read that you have been overall happy during your stay at Legacy Express. You enjoyed the hospitality and services provided by our staffs. Moreover, you would come back and stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!!

Best regards,

Ms. Nuntaporn S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Majestic Suites
Majestic Suites
#237 of 859 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Sukhumvit
Citrus Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Aspen Suites Sukhumvit 2 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Skyy Hotel
Skyy Hotel
#452 of 859 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Sukhumvit
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
#107 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality

Property: Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality
Address: 29, Sukhumvit Road | (Front Corner of Sukhumvit Soi 1), Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legacy Express is one of Bangkok's newest brands, delighting travellers with affordable accommodation in a prime location on Sukhumvit Road, featuring bright, modern rooms fitted with every convenience and comfort. This newly built 3-storeyed low-rise accommodation has just 63 rooms guaranteeing personalised service and attention to detail. Our fully air-conditioned rooms are decorated in rich earth tones and are equipped with the latest in-room technology including wireless internet access and, 32" LCD TVs and an in-room safe. With 24-hour security, wireless internet access in the public areas in addition to two internet stations in the lobby, a restaurant serves a delicious variety of Middle Eastern, Thai, European cuisine and fresh seafood and a 7-Eleven convenience store is also located right outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Express Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing