We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, right next to BTS”
Review of Golden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden House
Ranked #475 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The location is great- right next to the BTS. They have a helpful bright yellow sign that you can see from the street. We, as two women, felt very safe walking to this hotel from the BTS. Wifi was great. Breakfast was made fresh to order- eggs with toast and coffee. Hotel was mostly clean, but bed linens outdated. Great hot water and water pressure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSF17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Golden House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 140 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Location is great. As long as we spent all days shopping the disadvantages of the hotel (tiny room, dirty walls, no wi-fi, unhelpful staff etc) were not that important. In that hotel we refreshed our knowledge about five styles of cooking eggs :) Staff suprised me a lot, I have never seen such unsmiling staff in Thailand. Although I liked the clean towels and linen. Nonetheless I will check other hotels for the next trip to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aido4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for a week after reading
the reviews. Booked directly with the hotel they have a no refund policy. The rooms are small and very old. walls are dirty this is like a 2 star hotel overpriced. better value elsewhere nearby. Location is good and staff friendly. Never again though.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephineandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

stayed 1 week the location is good near Chit Lom BTS but the price is very expensive for this very old and run down hotel, room was tiny, shower kept blocking, sliding wardrobe doors kept falling off, wifi was terrible could not connect or stay connected most of the time, staff were very friendly and responsive, however for the price can stay somewhere far nicer, never again

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonynray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed 3 nights here. As expected, the biggest plus point is the location. It is just next to Chitlom BTS.

Pros:
- location, short walk to BIG C supermarket, Central World shopping centre and the whole of Pratunam market where all the bargains are! Shop till you drop! :D
- 5mins walk to famous 4-face buddha, Erawan shrine
- Room is generally clean
- located in a quiet alley, ensures you have an undisturbed sleep at night.
- air-con and water heater are all individually controlled.

Cons:
- the price is a bit high compared to other beautifully renovated boutique hotels in the area. However, if you consider it is just steps away from holiday Inn, meaning you share the same convenience of the location, but pay slightly more than one-third the price ...
- breakfast, I agree, only eggs cooked in different styles, 2 slice of toast, I do not know if you can ask for more ... anyway it is enough for me.
- TV is old crt type, but that is not the problem, it says cable tv, but very limited channel, then again who goes to bkk to watch tv? lol
- do buy your drinks/beers/snacks probably at BIG C first before going back to hotel, this is one rare location whereby there is no 7-eleven nearby, I did find one, about 10-15mins walk away further down.


In conclusion, I will still consider this hotel when I go BKK again. It is the cheapest hotel you can get at this right next to BTS location. Rooms is generally clean but there is a smokey smell.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoseidonLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I had book a 3 nights stay with them on a Double Room Suite which is located inside Renaissance hotel (Condo Building). Could not comment on the room yet as my trip there is on Nov. But the pre arrival services they provided me was way above the "Budget" hotel standard as all emails that i send was replied in less than 5 mins.

On the booking of the room itself, I had given the wrong credit card information which causes the transection failed. They had made it a point that they emailed me that there is an error and will be calling me soon. And soon enough i received their call and clear all the mistake.

As the Suite room was not located in the main building (It is located opposite the main building, roughly 10mins walk), they had promised that they will be waiting for me at the main lobby of the suite room to handle my check in. They had also provide me a location map just in case I'm using any taxi service. Well done to the front desk team.

I shall comment the room after my stay with them!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Deltor71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

It is a great location for the proximity to the malls for those into shopping. Being by the Sky Train really helps to navigate the city as well. If you are into more nighrtlife there are other hotels with bars nearby, besides access to the Chit Lom BTS. Rooms are real basic, but who stays in the room in Bangkok? If you wants a lot of conveniences, pool, kid friendly activities this will not be the place.
I found the staff to be Bangkok friendly. They are reserved until you start warming up to them and they were very helpful in all of my requests.
As noted it is off the main street so please have the address ready with you at the airport and see if the hotel will fax a map location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hermann48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
Aphrodite Inn Bangkok
Aphrodite Inn Bangkok
#326 of 879 in Bangkok
317 reviews
Holiday Inn Bangkok
#118 of 879 in Bangkok
1,417 reviews
Pathumwan
Arnoma Grand Bangkok
Arnoma Grand Bangkok
#264 of 879 in Bangkok
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok City Inn
#710 of 879 in Bangkok
439 reviews
Siam
Muangphol Mansion
Muangphol Mansion
#751 of 879 in Bangkok
139 reviews
Cape House, Bangkok
#62 of 879 in Bangkok
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden House

Address: 1025/5-9 Ploenchit Road, Lumpini, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#135 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $39 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated in the city center side by side with international chain hotels such as the Grand Hyatt, Holiday Inn and Intercontinental. The BTS Chidlom sta. is only 50 meter away from hotel (1 MIN WALK), and near major shopping center such as Central Childlom,Central World,MBK center and the most respected Erawan shrine are all within walking distance. We are a boutique hotel with 27 charming rooms with full facilities such as TV and Wi-Fi internet (free of charge) are available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Golden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden House Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing