We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very price worthy and nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Siam Riverside Guest House
Ranked #19 of 731 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed in New Siam Riverside for 3 days. Usually I pay little less for hotels in Bangkok (but then also get less fancier rooms) but this hotel is very price worthy. Friendly staff, good breakfast included, nice view from the restaurant. The rooms are nice, even if not brand new, very high standard for the price. Good big safety deposit in room. I had a room towards the street that maybe was a bit noisy during night but it didn't bother me too much. The staff told us this at check in and offered me to change room if we found it noisy. Walking distance to Grand Palace and Khao San road for example. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by traffic sound from the road, ask for a room not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Per R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 569 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed here in January with by husband and two adult children. My husband and I splurged on a riverside balcony room and it was worth it for the gorgeous view of the river and the entertainment provided by barges, long boats and other river traffic. The buffet breakfast served outdoors by the river was delightful, with a great choice of food. I particularly liked the freshly made omelettes. The staff were very helpful and obliging. One staff member spent ages patiently trying to get wifi working on my ipad and persevered until it finally worked! The large pool is a bonus, as is the location close to a ferry station and attractions such as the Grand Palace, Bangkok Museum etc.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Great value for your money! We paid 1500 bht for the standard room which included an amazing breakfast buffet (including good coffee, juice, muselix, real bacon, several types of eggs and sausages, pancakes, French toast, etc) which you can eat in a relaxing outdoor yard overlooking the river beside the hotel pool. The room was very clean (a few ants, a given in SE Asia), towels changed everyday, super comfortable bed (extra firm, thai style), laptop size in-room safe, fridge, tv, AC. Everything you need for a comfortable stay, and just the thing to help us get over our jetlag. The bathroom was a bit small and the water pressure in the sink was a bit low, but I really can't complain much about my stay. The staff were friendly and we can't say anything negative about them, though we didn't ask for too much help having visited bangkok several times already.

Within walking distance to Royal palace, Wat Pho, Khao San road, and river ferry. Convenient location if you only have a few days in Bangkok. Even if I was staying longer than a few days I would still stay here! We had rooms overlooking the street as the quieter rooms were booked, which was a bit noisy between 11 pm to 2 am when the bars were playing music, and the staff offered to let us switch rooms, but we didn't think it was too bad and stayed. Highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank KaraJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The location of this hotel is fantastic and on that basis alone I would stay here again. We stayed in a standard room which was quiet, comfortable and certainly good enough for 2 nights in busy brilliant Bangkok! The pool is nice as is the breakfast outside with a view of the river. The downside for us though was that the staff were rather unhelpful. We asked them to phone a restaurant that we wanted to go to. They didn't and said there was no need to book. We arrived at the restaurant and couldn't get in as needed a booking. Furthermore, we had to walk right through the middle of the protests to get there - it would have been nice if the staff had warned us about this. The Thais we chatted to in the street were all very lovely and telling us to keep away from that area yet the hotel gave us no warning. However, if you can let that sort of thing not bother you then i recommend this hotel as a comfortable base to explore the brilliance of Bangkok!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shellyc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I've now stayed here twice, my last visit was on a break with a group of 25 year old friends. this time stayed with my girlfriend. booked online before we went, I wanted a nice and clean hotel and in a good location to get to Khao San Rd which is a 5 minute walk away (though there are some excellent bars restaurants on the way down Ram Butti Alley). It's also close to the palace and leaning Buddha temples which can be walked to in 15-20 mins.

Rooms are clean, as is the pool which is great after a day of sightseeing. Bar is well priced with bottles of Chang and Singha. Internet can be paid for - either wifi on daily basis or use the computers in the lobby for 20bhat for 15 mins.

Overall, if you want a clean hotel in a good location for less than £30/ $50 a night near KSR, i'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_hops12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

big room, nice service, great pool to relax when you are with a child, good breakfast (European and Thai), restaurant food and prices also good - tastes exactly the same like in any city bar, big comfortable bed, comfortable bathroom, central location, close to the pier

travel agent:
+ we booked a private tour through BK channels and it was very nice
BUT
- we booked also 1 day tour to Arequipa and it was THE MOST AWFUL EXPERIENCE EVER!!!! DO NOT BOOK IT!!! it was worth nothing. The guide did not speak understandable English, the food was too little and basic - tasteless rice with vegetables

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Would give this a good rating but for some odd reason TA doesn't have that option!! We visited the new siam riverside four years ago during our first visit to thailand and opted to stay here again as we were flying into and out of Bangkok at the start and end of the holiday and we had a good experience last time.
Previously we had the deluxe rooms at the very top of the hotel which were great, this time we had deluxe rooms on the 1st floor with balcony overlooking the pool and river. I would always request a river view as that is the reason we choose to stay here. In a very crowded and hectic city, having a reasonably priced riverside hotel.
The two rooms we had were clean, spacious and have a safe. Rooms are not cleaned unless you request it, which for a couple of days is fine.
Staff are very helpful and obliging, breakfast is a buffet that can be eaten by the river and there is a nice pool area.
I would say that the rooms are getting a bit tired and could do with a lick of paint and some ant powder and the air con is not quite as strong as I would like but for the money this hotel is still a great option for a few days in Bangkok.
You can access the river and its piers directly from the hotel and it is well worth getting an all day pass (150 baht) for unlimited trips on any of the boats that travel up and down the river stopping at all the little piers along the way.

Room Tip: pick a high up, river view room for definite. there are rooms with balconies on first and top floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collymarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#19 of 890 in Bangkok
1,787 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 890 in Bangkok
1,457 reviews
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#140 of 890 in Bangkok
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#141 of 890 in Bangkok
1,654 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#169 of 890 in Bangkok
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Siam Riverside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Siam Riverside Guest House

Address: 21 Phra Athit Road | Chanasongkhram, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 731 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $51 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Siam Riverside Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Siam Riverside is a luxurious guest house located right beside the Chaophraya River at the heart of Bangkok's tourist district. All of our rooms come with a safe, a mini fridge, satellite TV, bedside control, and a latex foam bed. Additionally, a breakfast buffet is included in the room price. New Siam Riverside features a large patio by the river where you can relax and enjoy a delicious meal from our restaurant, or go for a swim in our pool. We also offer an airport taxi service, Thai massage, and a tour service. New Siam has always been dedicated to providing our guests with the same care and attention we would give to a guest in our own home. The guest house is located within walking distance of a number of great tourist attractions including: the grand palace, Wat Phra Kaew (the temple of the emerald Buddha), Wat Pho (with the great reclining Buddha), Wat Arun (the temple of dawn), the national theater, the national museum, Thammasat University, and Khaosan Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your New Siam Riverside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing