We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome all the way.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The St. Regis Bangkok
Ranked #14 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awesome all the way.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Stayed at St regis bangkok for 3 nights during my birthday celebration. Had a great time during the stay and was very pleased to be upgraded to the Metropolitan suite (hubs is a member of Platinum SPG). The room is very spacious and so is the toilet. Hubby made arrangement with the hotel to surprise me on the eve of my birthday.....flowers, cake and floral bath. Very romantic indeed.
The hotel is conveniently connected to the Ratchadamri BTS on the 2nd floor of the building...can't ask for more. We were also given free BTS card worth 70THB upon check in. The hotel is only 1 stop away from Siam Paragon (one of the premier shopping malls in Bangkok).
I was very very happy and pleasantly surprised to see my favorite concierge guy Athipol in St Regis. I met him during my previous trip to Bangkok while staying at Intercontinental Bangkok. He's like the wikipedia of Bangkok! He gave us a lot of recommendations for food, drinks and shopping places. He also help us make arrangement for massage. What shocked me most was he's ability to recall the charges for one of the massage places I wanted him to book for me (I googled that place earlier). So, if you do stay at St regis..do look out for him!
The breakfast at Viu was nothing to shout about. Drinks at the lounge at night and during noon was not bad, considering that it views the race course.
We tried out the ride from hotel to airport on their Bentley (cost THB4000 excluding taxes). It was our first time on a Bentley, quite an experience. There was also a hotel staff to help us with our check-in and VAT claims at the airport.
Overall...it was great stay and I will definitely be back !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eeklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger_Jacobs, Director of Sales & Marketing at The St. Regis Bangkok, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for posting your birthday experience at the St. Regis Bangkok here. We are delighted to hear that you spend memorable time with us on your personal day! Yes, Khun Athipol is our Chief Concierge and definitely one of our top performers in the team. He is already excited to look after you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,321
    324
    86
    47
    20
See reviews for
298
616
139
323
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is my third stay with the St Regis Bangkok within a span of 9 months. All the stays were for leisure. The first two stays were great and I couldn’t stop talking about the excellent service and great breakfast spread whenever I got a chance to talk about the Bangkok property. Unfortunately, the most recent stay fell short of expectations. Things that shouldn’t have happened actually occur in this property.

My partner and I made our reservation a couple of months ahead of our trip. As usual, we stated our only request – to be put on the floor in which our preferred butler, Khun Paul, was assigned to. This is because he knew our habits such as our preferred time for the turn down service and when to collect our shoes for polishing. And it was because of his attentive service we keep going back to the St Regis.

Hence, we were disappointed and a little annoyed when our request was not attended to. On hindsight, we shouldn’t have assumed that Khun Paul was serving our floor when we were allocated a room on our usual floor. It’s only after we checked much later that we found out that he was serving three other floors. When we expressed our disappointment to him, he was quick to say that in addition to the three floors, he was specially assigned to our room. It was a smart response from him and a kind gesture from the hotel if it was true. But we have our doubts. We didn’t pursue it further as he was off from work the next few days. And we could tell the difference in service between him and his colleagues. The finesse was missing.

The next disappointment came when we head down for breakfast. Generally, the selection was similar to the past two stays but we notice that the hotel has replaced a premium branch of French yoghurt with something that was a little more mass market. We were told that the French brand was replaced because the delivery was unpredictable. What a waste because the yoghurt was really good.

While we could accommodate the two incidents, what followed the next two days was unexpected. Our phone system has a similar IP address as another room. We received a very early morning call on one day. It was followed by another call from the butler service to inform us that our coffee was on its way to our room (very early in the morning), another call to inform us that our stay was extended, and finally a wrong credit card number was given to them for the room extension. And none of the calls were actually from our room. If it was not because we pursue the issue on the room extension, we wouldn’t have known the reason behind all the wake up call and update on the coffee status. We didn’t expect this from a hotel that has been in service for the last one year!

Despite all that had happened, I must say that the staff really put in a lot of efforts in their work. They include Janet and Paul from the butler service, and George and Siragoon from the Viu restaurant. They are friendly, professional and really deliver the service standard that is expected from a luxury hotel.

The spa, gym and pool are great! They are well maintained. Next time, I might try the new Japanese restaurant which was open recently.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QCInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger_Jacobs, Director of Sales & Marketing at The St. Regis Bangkok, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you very much for passing your valuable comments on to us. We would like to apologize for the disappointment of not being served by your favorite butler. Unfortunately, while we are trying to accommodate personal preferences as much as possible, sometimes the internal scheduling does not allow us to allocate the manpower freely. In this case, Paul was scheduled for his days off going forward and started his prior (pre your arrival date) shifts on different floors.
We also looked into your comments in regards to the phone calls which caused a lot of disturbance and confusion. After investigating we found that the portable phone in your room had been mistakenly switched by a phone from another room nearby. We would like to apologize for this human error when the phones underwent general maintenance.
Our team looks forward to your next visit to showcase the improvements to our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

I've stayed in many hotels and the location, service, and most of all, comfort of this hotel is unsurpassed. It truly is a 6 star hotel. I don't even like Bangkok but I don't mind so much now that I can stay here. Rooms are soooo quiet and comfortable - butler service, gorgeous bath and large shower - bedding was perfect! They have a nice gym and a relaxing pool. Located within walking distance of everything. Looking forward to my next visit in the next few weeks.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momwith2boysVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger_Jacobs, Director of Sales & Marketing at The St. Regis Bangkok, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for posting your praise here. We are excited that you enjoyed our hotel as described!
We also look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

The hotel portion occupies the ground floor and floors 12-22 with two lobbies in this 47-storey sleek skyscraper. The interiors are beautiful, polished, and clean built with very high quality materials and appointed with likewise furnishings. We arrived at this property on the afternoon of January 4th (high season) for a 5-night stay. A very friendly porter greeted us on the grandiose ground floor (first lobby area) and took our luggage. Another employee took us past the huge post-modern yet folkloric Siamese baskets sculpture to the elevators and on to the 12th floor (second lobby area). There are two restaurants on the ground floor, the Italian JoJo and a branch of London’s modern Japanese and sushi Zuma. We did not try either eatery on this stay.

The spacious marble lobby on the 12th floor is full of light and accented by colorful design area rugs and choc brown hardwood floors. A beautiful FD manager greeted us and offered us refreshments while we were checking in. We were immediately upgraded to a Metropolitan Suite. During the check in process, the hotel GM came by and introduced himself, and gave me his business card for further contact if we needed anything. This was very special, as this has never happened to me before. This floor includes the lobby bar and its outside balcony facing the polo club. This bar has become one of the hottest spots in town, not just for travelers, you will definitely see the hi-so types and the occasional royalty mingling there. VIU Restaurant where we partook breakfast is also on this floor, and so is Decanter Cellar & Wine Lounge.

The spacious Metropolitan Suite was luxurious yet a bit dark with separate living room, bedroom, and a bathroom that has a huge standalone bathtub in its center. The suite is well appointed with luxurious furnishings and high quality materials. The bed and pillows were so comfortable that it was the best night sleep that I have ever had ... really! Separate shower, double vanity, and top of the line toiletries. There is also a small bathroom with sink in the foyer. The view is nice facing other hotels and huge residential skyscrapers but it did lack the WOW factor.

The next day, we were further upgraded to an Astor Suite on the 22nd floor facing the Polo Club with fantastic views of Bangkok's skyline. As you enter the suite, there is a good size bathroom with sink in the foyer for visitors. The huge bedroom was to the left facing the Silom area and was well furnished with high-end materials. Plenty of closet space that are accented with beautiful Thai floral designs. There was a pair of fancy bathrobes with matching slippers, umbrellas, and other high quality amenities in the closets. We requested a baby cot and an extra bed, and those were provided promptly without any extra charges. I do like properties that do not nickel and dime their guests, and for sure, this St. Regis is one of them.

The black and white marble bathroom was not enormous, but everything was so well placed, it felt spacious. Separate shower and a large stand-alone bathtub that sat next to a huge floor-to-ceiling window with expansive views of Silom. Double-sink vanity flushed against the black marble wall with two huge mirrors that has textured design glass (Versace?), which is set next to another floor-to-ceiling window facing the Polo Club. The heavenly rainforest shower was anchored in the ceiling had great water pressure. This shower also had a hand held unit with pressure controls setting for those hard to reach spots. Glass enclosures for both, the shower and the commode, but the commode had textured glass for privacy. Fragrant soaps and lotions were provided by fancy Remède toiletries. Baby bath set was provided along with its toiletries. My wife wanted to take a bubble bath on the last day of our stay, and the butler showed up promptly a made for her a wonderful tub full of bubbles.

I also had a couple of drinks in the lobby bar with some friends and the service there couldn't have been any better. Although the drinks are pricey as in the case in many Bangkok high end hotels, the service provided by Khun Anne and her team more than made up for it. Rooms service food was mediocre, however, I cannot say enough good things about how great the St. Regis' scrumptious breakfast was ... the best breakfast in Bangkok, hands down. The weekend brunch looked even better ... we did not partake at any other outlet. Another thing I really enjoyed about the hotel was the happy hour session in the evening. This was from 6-7:30 PM at Decanter Wine Bar serviced by an award wining Sommelier (Khun Fahad) who is quite knowledgeable about wine and spirits.

Wi-Fi is free, and a working office desk in our suite's living room allowed us to plug in our computer. The business center on the 12th floor has two iMac computers in addition to a desktop PC terminal. This was the second time I had the chance to use an iMac and I was very impressed with its capabilities of media uploading, editing, and publishing.

On the 15th-floor, there located Elemis spa and an exercise room with the pool area in-between. The spa offers a full menu of treatments with Jacuzzi whirlpools and a gray-slate hammam filled with eucalyptus steam, as well as "waterfalls", high-tech steam rainforest showers, and relaxing areas (cocoons). Although I did not use its services, I was allowed to visit the Men's section of the spa and during my tour, I immediately sensed its quite and serene environment. The modern-looking outdoor pool has impressive views of the polo club and Bangkok's skyline. There are some plants around this black/grey granite & wooden deck pool. The very modest-sized pool is served by two full-service bars: indoor and outdoor. There were plenty of lounges around enough for all to use. An exercise room and “rest” areas is located on the same floor facing Silom, with many high-tech looking machines. But I didn’t come here to work out!

Located at Ratchdamri in the center of Bangkok next door to the Four Seasons Hotel and walking distance to the Erawan Shrine at Ratchaprasong intersection. Direct connection from the property's 2nd floor to the Ratchdamri BTS station enabling guests and visitors an easy access to all points of interest in Bangkok. Siam Square and its mega shopping centers and entertainment venues are one BTS stop away, while Ratchaprasong intersection and its shopping venues of CentralWorld, Gaysorn, Isetan, BigC, etc. are all within walking distance.

In addition to being a great value for elite SPG members, the St. Regis Bangkok has the lowest rates in comparison to other Bangkok hotels in the same category. For the business traveler, or the rest of us who feel like a splurge every once in a while, it is well worth the indulgence. We will savor this stay in our photos and memories for years to come, and, we cannot wait to stay here again. This hotel is highly recommended.

See photos of our stay here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/kalboz/sets/72157628777073793/

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Bangkok Sports Club and its green park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zilfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger_Jacobs, Director of Sales & Marketing at The St. Regis Bangkok, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your detailed review and the praise of our services and facilities! We could not agree more with the description you have given. Our General Manager and the whole team are delighted to see you return in the nearest future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

This was our 1st stay at St Regis Bangkok and our 2nd with the St Regis Hotels. To tell you the truth, we haven't really been wowed by the brand as a whole but our Bangkok stay was a much better experience overall than Singapore. The Thais would have to be one of the friendliest people on earth and this was reflected in the staff who were at all times - professional, helpful and extremely courteous.

The hotel has been tastefully decorated though it bit too 'grey' and 'boring' for our liking. Saying that, the rooms were very comfortable and we had the best sleep ever. Our butler was great and everything we requested, was met perfectly. As SPG Platinum, we were lucky to be upgraded to a huge suite and were able to indulge in the wine tasting/ canapés every evening at Decanter. We tried this once and it was fantastic, from the standard of food to the wines served.

One thing we were disappointed about was the breakfast. Clearly, the restaurant struggles with service and food replenishment when the restaurant is full. It was utter chaos - guests being shown to tables, then finding out that someone else was sitting there when they returned from the buffet! The food offering at breakfast was also very disappointing in terms of food selection and quality. Limp waffles, a few paltry pancakes.... these were not cooked to order and the hot food that was cooked to order appeared to be only poached eggs. We did see some guests being delivered freshly cut mango which was not part of the fruit table but we were never explained fully how the breakfast service operates. For a 6 star hotel, you should be told this. For an exceptional breakfast in BKK, Le Meridien is one of the best.

To date, we have never been able to partake in the champagne sabring. They do not do it in Singapore and we found out on our last night in BKK, that it is done there from reading the back of the drinks menu. Maybe they do not want their guests to know about this?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mister7Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger_Jacobs, Director of Sales & Marketing at The St. Regis Bangkok, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We would like to apologize for the breakfast service which did not meet your expectations. In order to improve we have increased our staffing and we also increased the training for each staff in order to raise the service quality. We have also reviewed our food offering and presentation to make the necessary changes. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed here just after new years and have to say was nervous given poor experiences @ both the Sheraton & Plaza Athanee. Totally different experince.

- Prompt and friendly check-in.
- Lovely swimming pool overlooking polo grounds. No building blocking the sun!
- Fantastic gym which has a kinetic machine I wasnt familiar with. Helpful gym who assited me in working out how to use it!
- Could not get my laptop to play a movie at 2 am so staff came up and spent over 30 mins to get it to work and did eventually!!
- New room with comfy bed and modern amenties.

Note other users have said how expensive the restaurants where - can't say I tired them myself.

Will be back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger_Jacobs, Director of Sales & Marketing at The St. Regis Bangkok, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and we managed to exceed your expectations even at 2am.
We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed at the St Regis Bangkok for 6 nights whilst on a recent holiday. From the moment we arrived at the airport we were greeted by the hotel rep & the drive to the hotel was comfortable in the S class mercedes. Upon arrival the staff were attentive and check-in was proficient. We were upgraded to an executive deluxe room which was greatly appreciated. The room facilities met our expectations and the hotel restaurants in particular JoJo's for dinner and the main restaurant for breakfast were wonderful and offered an extensive menu selection. The staff were always professional & attentive, a special mention to the Chief Concierge - Atiphol & his female assistant and not to mention the security personel who both had great attitudes. All in all, a great hotel in a great location. Close to all the major retail shops and with access from the hotel to the sky train. Be prepared to take 2 sets of lifts - 1 from the main lobby to the 12th floor reception & a 2nd lift from reception to the guest rooms. Although we didn't request the Butler Service, they were not visable on our floor (19th). This certainly didn't negatively effect our stay. We would certainly return & recommend this hotel to our friends & colleagues. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger_Jacobs, Director of Sales & Marketing at The St. Regis Bangkok, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for the great comments made. We have already passed your praise on to our concierge, security and restaurant teams. We will also continue the training of our butlers to improve their performance.
Thank you for sharing your great experience with your friends and colleagues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bangkok

Property: The St. Regis Bangkok
Address: 159, Rajadamri Road | Lumpini Sub-District, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#30 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent St. Regis Hotel is a paean to timeless elegance, stately situated in Bangkok's most coveted address along Rajadamri Road, the city's key commercial corridor where major corporations and elite financial institutions make their home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC and Travelocity so you can book your The St. Regis Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing