We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penthouse suite with swimming pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
S31 Sukhumvit Hotel
Ranked #242 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had a problem at check in. First we dropped off our luggage at 1pm, and went to lunch. They told us our room will be ready by the time we come back. We went back past 3pm, expecting to be taken to our room and the kids can take their naps, but were told that they were still cleaning... We were not shown to our suite until almost 4pm and that is after I almost made a scene in the lobby, and they said if we didn't mind that they were still cleaning the living room. When we finally got to our room, it's mostly clean except for a cigarrett but by the pool side. (Probably because they had to rush).

We made a complain and the hotel offered to treat us dinner for the inconvenience, but the buffet dinner only looked okay so we didn't take the offer. They gave us 2500 Thai Baht of credit instead - which we used at the spa. The spa, was not "bad" but nothing special.

Breakfast is good. Besides regular coffee and tea you can order cafe latte or mocha and they will bring to your table.

Room Tip: Since it was a big family trip, with elderly and 2 little kids (7 and 2 years old), we booked the pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 635 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

A wonderful hotel with just a very few weak spots. I was there for 23 days on a business trip; had a very nice suite room with the upstairs bedroom and bath and downstairs living room and frig. Wonderful service and great location if you are doing business in Bangkok; or just visiting for fun. Very close to the BTS rail station; a major mall; and lots of places to eat. Only weak spots; very slow internet connection; and a problem with hot water in the shower if I was taking a shower during the morning; probably too many people and not enough capacity. Other than that; service was exceptional; dining is great for breakfast but there enough other great places to eat for other meals within walking distance. Very comfortable for a long or short stay.

Room Tip: Upper level floors; away from the street noise and rail line. I was on 18.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Overall, I like this hotel and have stayed there twice in the past two years. The beds are super comfortable and room furniture and fittings are good quality and condition. Reception and concierge staff were very helpful, professional and warm to deal with. However, things like staff with very poor English language skills on room service and housekeeping lines makes me crazy. In a Duplex Suite (picked up a cheap rate via Agoda), you have a kitchenette, a microwave and a large fridge which suited my 6 night stay. But where is the crockery, wine glasses, cutlery, dish-washing liquid, dish cloth, etc? No hand towels in the downstairs bathroom bugged me. When I asked for these items it just created utter confusion. Particularly if I asked for more than two of anything.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyThaiDogGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a funky, futureistic hotel with great design and service.
I was upgraded and my room was on 3 floors, the bottom an office, bedroom and bathroom, up the stairs to another bedroom and then up a small flight to the bathroom.
The design in this hotel is fantastic, very modern and it has 2 large screen TVs, free internet, a good breakfast with a large selection of fruit combined with superb service.
the pool area on the 8th floor is wonderful, once again the design of the pool is futuristic and the layout is like being in a park.
It is a 10 minute walk from the Terminal 21 Shopping Centre and a short tuk tuk ride to the nana area.
The rates on this hotel is excellent and I would rate it 100% for value for money

Room Tip: Get an upgrade to the multi level room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frankfurness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We began our Thailand holiday by staying two nights at this hotel. What a brilliant start and a great way to get over our jet-lag. We arrived late in the evening, after being on planes feeling shattered and a bit grumpy. The best remedy- being greated with a cocktail and told we've been upgraded! Our hotel room was beautiful, 2 stories, with floor to ceiling windows on a corner room. The room was clean and beautifully furnished.
Breakfast was very good, as well.
The hotel is in a good area, close to malls, restaurants, and the excellent Bangkok metro and sky train. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a modern, reasonably-priced hotel in a convenient position in Bangkok. It has a spectacular swimming pool and a bar and dining room with a great view. The rooms are large, with a very large bed, and some are a bit idiosyncratic (ours was on two levels). Our main complaint was that the room controls were a bit clever-by-half. For example it took ages to find where the switches were for the various lights in both the bedroom and bathroom and even after considerable effort I was still not able to get the TV to work. There were no instructions. It should not be up to the guests to ring to find out how to work such basic equipment. Otherwise we enjoyed the outlook and modern comfort and appreciated the provision of a free car park.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BelairTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights at the start of our two week trip in Thailand. We found a good deal on AsiaRooms for a Duplex Suite and booked through them.

We arrived at about 2:30am after coming in on a late flight. We were a bit worried about how this would go down at check-in as we didn't specify we would be checking in that late/early. Surprisingly there were no problems and we were checked in and shown to our room very quickly.

The bed was HUGE! The mattress was a bit hard, but I think this is almost standard in Thailand. There was a number of pillows which was good as they were nice and soft. The room itself is extremely spacious. There was another TV and sitting area downstairs which was good for relaxing after a big day of site seeing. We didn't really use the kitchen but I can imagine it would be good for those who wanted to prepare their own meals, though keep in mind there is no stove. The breakfast was okay - not great, not bad.

All the staff at this hotel were extremely helpful. Special shout out goes to the night Concierge, Lek. He was extremely warm and friendly to us during our entire stay and assisted us with booking tours and deciding where to go for dinner/night entertainment. If you book tours with the hotel I recommend a driver called Mr. Ding Dong. We had him for one day and he was lovely. He had a beer waiting for my partner whenever we returned back to the car and was even kind enough to buy me souvenir from the Floating Markets. We organised for him to take us to the airport when we left as he offered the service for a much cheaper price than other taxis.

We took advantage of the hotel's tuktuk shuttle service, though we didn't use it to get to a station. The drivers were kind enough to take us to the Westin for dinner one night and then to the NaNa district another night.

Overall we were extremely happy with this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8,280,160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Legacy Suites Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Holiday Inn Bangkok Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Grande Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
S Box Sukhumvit Hotel
S Box Sukhumvit Hotel
#237 of 891 in Bangkok
184 reviews
Sukhumvit
Maitria Hotel Sukhumvit 18 - A Chatrium Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to S31 Sukhumvit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S31 Sukhumvit Hotel

Address: 545 Sukhumvit 31 | Klongtoey Nua, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit , Wattana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $93 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — S31 Sukhumvit Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your S31 Sukhumvit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing