We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Even better the second time! Best in BKK” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #30 of 826 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Even better the second time! Best in BKK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was our second visit, and it was even better than the first (which had some new hotel kinks to work out at the time). Great (and very large) salt water pool with excellent service (fresh fruits, ice water and towels as soon as you sit at a lounger), free mini bar, free birthday cake for the wife (which was really good) and excellent champagne breakfast everyday. Terrific location right next to the Paragon and Skytrain, yet super quiet and peaceful once you step into the hotel. My favorite hotel in BKK used to be the Peninsula, but I think I'm switching over to this place going forward. I tried St Regis earlier this year - it cannot compare to the Kempinski - location was a little off, super tiny pool with no shades so almost unswimmable for most of the day (unless you don't mind getting sun burnt). My only gripe about the Kempinski is that the free Internet is 256k, which would've been acceptable if it were 1999 ....One more thing -, Sra Bua Thai restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TenchiNini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,265
    340
    77
    30
    29
See reviews for
456
600
66
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

High Quality Hotel with services residences for families attached to Paragon shopping mall

The two bedroom residence we have with lounge and dining room has full hotel services in same complex, great pool for relaxing, basically attached to paragon and very close to MBK and Central World shopping malls. Ocean world and movie theatres for kids right across the road so great location all round

Rooms have high quality finishes, great room service and house keeping

Sra Bua restaurant is awesome for adults

Overall great stay, only downside is sewage smell in corridor that you get in Bangkok but usually not inside the hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantWaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 647 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We arrived at the Siam Kempinski Hotel in the late morning after a 50 minute ride in a taxi from Bangkok’s Suvranabhumi airport. When he opened the taxi door, the porter who greeted us addressed me by my name, and this obviously made an impression as it was meant to! The check-in process was fairly swift, as we sat in the lounge and was served each with a cold towel and an iced drink. Unfortunately, our room was not ready as the hotel was full, so we were ‘invited’ to occupy our time at the Siam Paragon shopping mall across the road until we would receive a phone call on my mobile when the room was ready. After an hour and a half, I was informed that our room was ready. The lady receptionist who walked us to our room, pointed out the hotel facilities at the same time, and finally when we were in the room, pointed out the amenities available in the room.

We had opted for a Premier room. These are between 45 to 48 m2, and larger than the Deluxe rooms which are between 40 to 45 m2. Our room situated at the garden wing has a glass fronted bath room. In the room are the usual amenities found in any five star establishment, but of particular note is the laptop size safe; a digital internet entertainment system; a steam iron and a ironing board; full length mirrors behind the wardrobe doors and the toilet doors; a LavAzza Esspresso Point machine for coffee and complimentary tea. Four bottles of drinking water are available daily. There are no less than 17 electrical sockets- ( 6 located beside the work desk, 4 next to the TV, 2 at each side of the King sized bed, 2 more along the wall to the balcony and one at the entrance door with 2 more in the toilet in addition to the outlet for the shaver! The working desk is fairly large and there is provided a leather folder with writing paper and envelopes. For the Premier rooms, the soft beverage cans inside the room fridge are complimentary, including the local beer. These are replenished daily. Shoe polishing is also complimentary! There is an umbrella for rainy days, and in the drawer at the bedside side-table, a torchlight for emergencies.
Newspapers, local and international, are available at your request during check-in. The Spa is on the 7th floor and the gym on the 8th floor of the garden wing.There are complimentary, separate male and female saunas; steam rooms, and jacuzzi.
Sleep quality is very good. The mattress is firm not hard, and pillows soft and smooth. The bedsheets are clean. The room is cleaned twice a day, and someone comes to check to ensure this is done and to inquire if you needed anything more!

The Kempinski group of hotels or the Kempinski Collection began in 1897 and they pride themselves in creating what they term as “The Kempinski Experience”. Each hotel or resort is supposed to exude elegant individuality and at the same time reflect the color and customs of it’s location. The staff at the Siam Kempinski Bangkok, do indeed exhibit that charm and warmness that appears inherent in the culture of Thailand. Ever smiling and greeting Sawadeeka! with a slight bow of the head, and palms pressed together as in prayer. The Concierge was very helpful to the extent of printing out detailed maps for us on locations we wanted to go. The doorman not only opens the door as you approach to go out, but hastily also goes down to stop traffic for you to cross the road to the Siam Paragon! In spite of being a large hotel, every attempt is made to make you feel warmly welcomed and at home. Would I return to this hotel? I think the answer is pretty obvious!

Tips:
Obtain your taxi ride to your hotel at the airport where there is the AOT Limousine counter. It cost 1,200 Baht for our transfer by London cab from the airport to the hotel, and the cost is the same from hotel to airport. So we paid in total 2,400 Baht for two trips ( airport-hotel-airport) which is far less than what the hotel is charging using their BMW 7 series for just one trip!

Best time to come to Bangkok is in December and January, when the precipitation (rainfall ) is lowest, and temperatures lower at night to around 24C - 25C. Daytime temperatures are up to 33C to 34C.

We took our meals solely at the food outlets in the shopping Malls, savoring Thai crusine at establishments that are patronized by the locals ensuring that the Thai food would be authentic and good.

40 Baht (or 1 € ) per night stay is automatically added to your hotel bill as a donation to fighting infectious disease as Kempinski has been committed as an official partner to Stop TB Partnership hosted by WHO. You could waive or amend this contribution at the reception.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the ground floor in the garden wing have direct access to the pool from the verandah o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John-KT-Lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
362 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Siam Kempinski exudes class with its elegant interiors, and impressive lobby. Rooms are well appointed, although the lighting system is too elaborate. We stayed one night,and found it ideal as a base for shopping at the Paragon Mall next door, with it's many restaurants. Breakfast spread was good. One negative is as the Hotel wraps around a large courtyard/pool, the impression is that for certain rooms,there's a lot of corridors to walk through.
Staff are friendly and helpful. Highly recommended. We've stayed at many of the luxury hotels in Bangkok on our previous visits, but the Kempinski must rank as one of the best

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sodesa2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great location, smooth check-in by a friendly receptionist. However, a nightmare happened to me the second night right after we got back to the room at 11pm. The room door was opened widely with all the lights on!! I got back to my room, but no one was there. Then I called to the front desk, and they sent a security officer to my room to read the door lock. After the investigation, I was told that the housekeeper forgot to close the door after the turn down service done at around 8pm. And they checked the CCTV, no one came to my room in 3 hours. Luckily my room (953) was down to the hallway and I didn't lose anything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dordor502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was my second stay in Kempinski. no surprises and as good an experience as was expected, based on my first visit in Jan. It's ideal for the family where the wife gets to do her shopping next door, the kids get taken care of by the Kids' Club and the man gets to relax by the poolside in well landscaped grounds. Much has already been said by other reviewers, and this input hopefully serves as feedback to management.
Firstly, the very strong foul odour coming out from the washrooms next to the cafe restaurant should be attended to. This was a daily experience. Secondly, by now the hotel staff attending to arranging taxi cabs for guests heading to airport should have a standard routine by now, to take away the hassle of drivers asking for "special" fare, after we have left the hotel, with all our baggages loaded in. It's a common enough experience for tourists in Bangkok, but the hotel, I reckon can do better.
With a bit more effort, Kempinski can make it a perfect experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

All Hotels in Thailand have excellent service due to the service oriented and kindness of the local staff. So the difference between Good and Great is the physical aspect of a Hotel.

This is a nice place if you like a cold and lifeless atmosphere. They've totally missed the
"one good first chance" they ever had to make a great impression! but by over doing their austere ambiance (perhaps in line with the "illusion" of their illustrious owner's wishes) to be an ultra conservative dormitory at the expense of their guests having a good time.....

Public areas are too cold and cavernous and not as nice as the other 5 star hotels, let alone the Grand Hyatt Erawan nor the Oriental etc. It's a hotel fit for holding holy audiences, perhaps the German Pope would like to hold mass there one day.

Pity that all that great land that once had a lovely garden and the old Siam Intercontinental which was a Thai institution has been wasted with that horrible Paragon Shopping Mall taking the lions share and the worst part of the land given to Kempinski all the way at the end with terrible traffic (next to the slums and the canal) the main access due to the shopping mall's gigantic multiplex Parking entrance/exit.

The only guests visible are the rich Chinese who shop next door and only "sleep" in the hotel.They are only noticeable in the mornings at the breakfast buffets. During my stay I only noticed a handful of non-Chinese looking out of place (Farangs).

Pool garden practically unusable due to city pollution and shallow luke warm water pools (no privacy) But the Residences wing rooftop pool is the best for privacy and quietness especially early in the morning. The F&B is good throughout the hotel but so are other upper end hotels in Thailand.

Kempinski have to be better than the average hotels which are all excellent. They should blow "Life" in to this hotel to make it work. (Hire some Hyatt People instead of Peninsula which by the way was decorated by the same firm) It won't be long that news gets around that if one want to have some fun and experiencing all the action at a Top hotel, this is not the place to stay...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GRN-GVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The St. Regis Bangkok
#16 of 826 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#26 of 826 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 2,733 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 826 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 3,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok

Property: Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Address: 991/9 Rama I Road | Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 826 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siam Kempinski Hotel, the city-resort adjacent to Sa Pathum Palace, is part of Europe's oldest luxury hotel group, Kempinski Hotels. Located next to Siam Paragon, this luxurious "resort within a city," boasts 401 plush rooms and lavish suites. With its aim to create a sanctuary in the heart of the city, all rooms overlook lush beautifully landscaped tropical gardens awash with a cornucopia of flora and fauna, with 22 of them enjoying private access to the pools in the garden. In fact, it is the first and only hotel in Bangkok to offer the most unique and exclusive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing