We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Check Inn Chinatown
Ranked #367 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed September 6, 2012

August 2012. Difficult to find, stuck at the end of an alleyway, off two very busy streets. Front desk staff have problems understanding English. I don't speak Thai. Bed in double room 'hard as floorboards with thin foam on top'. Room was quiet to sleep in at night. Front desk not aware of broken mirror in the room. No hot water and front desk took note but did nothing about it. Kitchen in the room - who wants to cook when on holidays ? Tour brochures at front desk I was told no longer valid. Same tour by the hotel double the price. I declined. Chinatown, I feel is ok for a few hours trip in the day / evening when you are staying somewhere else where there is more of a nightlife, from a single traveller point of view. Chinatown has mainly food stalls and small shops. They do know how to cramp things into small spaces. Felt safe walking alone at night and day. To see anything else is a drive away and tuk tuk drivers will try to rip you off. They say they are Buddhist ! I don't recommend staying in Chinatown or at Check Inn for more than one night if you have to. Communicating in English a problem at a lot of places in Thailand. This very much a problem at Check Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KamChand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 185 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

It is located to in Downtown area of Bangkok near the Grand China Princess Hotel.It is a bit far from the Southern Bus

Terminal (SaiTai), it took us good 45mins in the 7am morning Traffic to reach the CIC. It is a good hotel, with all the

things needed in a room. They provide a small kitchen also which is sufficient for 2 people. You have the Indian Market of

Bangkok, where you can find wholesale shops selling TV's & also many Indian restaurants. Also one of the boat pier's is at

a walking distance from where you can a boat to go to Grand Palace or Wat Po or Wat Arun.
The Hotel staff is ok-ok...not very courteous & helpful. Also for my friend, the door to bathroom in their room was broken.
And in my room I noticed there was a big cockroach, hopefully you will get better rooms. Also it is around 45mins drive

away from the Bangkok Airport.
So all & all I would say it is good Hotel if you want to stay near to the Grand Palace area & also price wise it was OK.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_Karnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

check in hotel is perfect!its cheep,very clean and the staff really nice!
the location is great, heart of chinatown,15/20 min walk to mrt kua lumpong station tho...
i really recomand this hotel , it is really good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were okay, the location is good, but a little hard to find on arrival. We stayed here 2 times, the first time was alright. But when we booked for the second time, they raised the prices, and had to pay 500 baht for an extra bed. (which wasnt comfortable at all) While the room was only 1,000 baht.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonnenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I chose Check Inn China Town Town because of it was close to the main train station in Bangkok and it was cheap. The hotel provided everything I could have wanted, a bed, a T.V and a warm shower (something I took for granted when I first arrived in Thailand). It even had a hob, what more could you want! Free internet was provided, and there were also brochures and guides of the local attractions. All this as well as free tea and coffee making facilities made Check Inn perfect for a one night stay in Bangkok. The staff were good, especially when I overslept past check inn time. I failed to take jet lag into account, and slept 15 hours! However the staff were really understanding and only charged me for one night. Chinatown itself is a really vibrant and cultural area of Bangkok, which is well worth a visit. Check Inn is perfect if your looking for somewhere with good value for money, close to the hualamphong station.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

we saw this hotel on agoda and booked after reading all the comments. The hotel from inside is good, neat and clean. also the staff were polite and friendly. We also liked the small kitchen attached inside the room like a studio with few utensil. The only thing which we were disappointing was the location of the hotel. you have to walk through extremely dirty and small lane to reach the hotel. I also had hard time finding it even though i had the whole address with me. On top of that its china town so you cannot speak to people as they themselves give you a blank look anytime you ask them anything. Im sure you can find better hotels for this price. lastly please keep chicken as an option but not just pork for everything!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faraz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Using the Trip Advisor reviews we booked 4 nights at the Check Inn, Chinatown. I printed the map from the Check Inn website and on arrival in Bangkok city, we showed it to several taxis at the MRT station. We finally found a driver who knew the way. The photos are deceptive – it is in a small lane off a lane, not a street. But the reception was friendly and the room was fine. Chinatown in any city is dirty with sidewalks crowded with sellers of everything imaginable. We stayed there because of the hotel’s proximity to the textile district. Generally the Check Inn is fine for a budget hotel. The cleaning standard was not high with mirrors dirty from the previous occupants. I feared noise would be a problem and on our last night those fears were realised. An early night for an early start at 0500 was destroyed by the next door room occupants who partied on from 1030 to 0230.
There are some eateries nearby and a Tesco supermarket one block away. The mini-kitchen is great for preparing a simple breakfast. The staff is friendly and cooperative.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of a corridor - hopefully it will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BL1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Chinatown Hotel
Chinatown Hotel
#451 of 889 in Bangkok
208 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
#586 of 889 in Bangkok
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Grand China Hotel
Grand China Hotel
#370 of 889 in Bangkok
554 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#378 of 889 in Bangkok
392 reviews
Banglamphu
Sri Krungthep Hotel
Sri Krungthep Hotel
#476 of 889 in Bangkok
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Check Inn Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Check Inn Chinatown

Address: 204-208, Soi 14 Charoenkrung Road, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#65 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $28 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Check Inn Chinatown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check Inn Chinatown is located in the heart of Bangkok's Chinatown district. It is the main business area for textile, gifts, souvenirs and gold markets. The streets are filled with restaurants and stalls that will allow you to eat till you drop. The food stalls are conveniently opened 24 hours a day.The location also situates you close to the Chaophraya River, making it easy to access the historical tourist section of the city and also visit the Grand Palace, Wat Arun and the world famous Golden Buddha.The Hua Lamphong MRT station is close by, making it extremely convenient to access all major areas of the city. Public transportation and Tuk-Tuks are easily available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Check Inn Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Check Inn Chinatown Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing