We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
At Hua Lamphong Hostel
Ranked #129 of 1,245 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really happy”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed in a dorm room and was really happy. Comfortable beds, wash area fine and lovely and cool! Lobby/cafe is lovely with amazing tea/coffee and breakfast and great free WiFi connection. Staff very friendly.
Right opposite the central station and subway. You can't go wrong

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nudchanart J, Manager at At Hua Lamphong Hostel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
thank you so much for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    189
    79
    14
    11
See reviews for
31
156
99
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I had a single room with two twin beds. The room was clean. There is a fridge in the room with water. Bed was hard. Lots of stairs. There is a restaurant on the premises and the food was decent. Train station is across the street and the subway outside the door. I felt in comparison it was overpriced. This place was chosen because I had an 8 a.m. Train to catch. I did arrange for airport pickup which was efficient. If convenience and location is important then I recommend it. I only stayed for two night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The train to Arunyaprathet for transfer to Cambodia leaves Hua Lamphong Station at 5:55 in the morning. The hostel's location right across the street from the station makes this an ideal place to stay if you have an early train and hate to get up any earlier than you have to. Other than that, I would probably not stay here longterm. If you do stay longterm however, one of the benefits is that the entrance to the subway system is just outside the door. It makes getting around Bangkok much easier since it is only 2 subway stops away from the Skytrain connection.

The facility itself is clean and well cared for. Do take note though, as pointed out on the website, there is no elevator and it is a 5 story building. Of course, you are traveling super light, aren't you? :)

I stayed in one of the 4-bed mixed dorm rooms. It was rather small (not an issue) but was very clean and well maintained. The bed (I had an upper) was comfortable. The ensuite bathroom and shower were also very clean. There was sufficient locker space for everything except very large backpack. Each bed has a separate reading light.

While I would probably only stay there if I had an early train, I would recommend it to others that are looking for a clean, reasonably priced, and well located place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face out onto the street. It will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genericnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

They put me in the dorm with one family, it was really bad as they might have booked for a family room but the hostel still squeeze me in. I couldn't sleep as they were chatting all night and woke me up so early. I don't mind sharing with other travellers but this made me feel so awkward. The room is clean but I found a cockroach in the bathroom and on sink.
The location is good for anyone to want to catch morning train.
they should have better common area and better management.
I should have stayed at similar hostel in the same area eg. Silom, Sathorn or Siam.
they wouldn't put me in the family room for sure!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nudchanart J, Manager at At Hua Lamphong Hostel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Actually, we do not have a family room. This guest made a booking in 6-bed mixed dorm and also other 5 guests made a booking in this room type.
So, it was unavoidable to be in the same room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Me and my wife stayed in @Hua Lamphong for 5 Nights. First leg of travel for 4 Nights and second leg for a night. Conveniently located near Subway and Hua Lmphong Railway Station. Never once did we have to take a taxi to get to other places from this Hotel. Bus Stop right across the road, Subway right in front and for long journey the main railway station right across the road. Clean and well maintained room, however we had few issues with water logging in the shower area and the the room was not cleaned when we checked in for the second time. Highly recommended for the location and convenience. If you arriving or departing from/to Don Muang airport. There is a train from and to Hua Lampong every hour to the Don Muang station. The train travel takes about 45 mts to an hour. The cost of train to the airport is 5 BAHT for a ticket.

Room Tip: Though some travelers in this forum recommended rooms in the back of the hotel, we found the rooms 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AjitSankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greetland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Clean modern hostel right by hua lamphong train station. We had a double room with aircon and private bathroom. The bed was big and had clean sheets, the decor was tasteful and fresh. You can book tours there and there is a cafe that does nice breakfast. There wasn't a party atmosphere like other hostels but there were other people to chat to in the cafe and common room, where you can watch a DVD for free. The area for new arrivals is a bit daunting but it's Bangkok after all. Traffic is heavy but you can get across the road via the mrt station underground - which is a great cheap way to get around. Tuk tuk drivers are outside and 'friendly' men asking you questions about where you stay etc - just avoid them and don't give them answers if you bump into one.

we would stay here again especially if in need of the train station. There was a luggage storage room that cost 20 baht per bag (40pence) which we used after checking out as our train to Surat Thani was at 5.30pm and again for just a day between Bangkok and Chiang mai even though we hadn't slept there the previous night.

it cost us £22 per night which is cheaper than a lot of hostels charge for a dorm room as we split it between two to £11 each. Still not the cheapest but a clean bed and aircon is so worth it after 18 hours or so flying and travelling.

Room Tip: Get air con Bangkok is far too hot for a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2013

After an extensive trip through Thailand we landed in Bangkok by train: this hostel is just next door to the train station, fortunately our friend Campion who apparently is their agent booked for us. It was the right choice, a beautiful and cozy place. We slept very well and the place was very nice. We'll come here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
#318 of 867 in Bangkok
222 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Prime Hotel Central Station Bangkok
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#342 of 867 in Bangkok
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
SK Boutique Maha Nakhon
SK Boutique Maha Nakhon
#387 of 670 in Bangkok
80 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Chic Hostel
Chic Hostel
#108 of 1,245 in Bangkok
100 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
2W Bed & Breakfast
2W Bed & Breakfast
#115 of 1,245 in Bangkok
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Hua Lamphong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Hua Lamphong Hostel

Property: At Hua Lamphong Hostel
Address: 326/1 Rama IV Road | Mahaphruttharam, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 1,245 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — At Hua Lamphong Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hua Lamphong Hostel is an ideal hostel to start journey in Thailand. A hostel is right opposite to a train station and next to subway station. With our facilities and comfort, customers will start their trip with happiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your At Hua Lamphong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
@Hua Lamphong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing