We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
At Hua Lamphong Hostel
Ranked #136 of 1,415 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I was in the hotel next door, but i came to this hostel to use the internet and have dinner, because it's so great and so much better than my hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PortugalTez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 411 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

A very conveniant place if you want to get the train.
This hotel is located right in front of the train station. It's new, modern and very clean.
Might be a little bit noisy if you are looking for somewhere quiet and also a little bit expensive but hey... it's Bangkok !
Still, we had a nice stay there in November 2011, even with the fload was there !

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Bastien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

A decent all-round option based conveniently near Hua Lumpong station.
To get to south and islands this is where the train leaves from. Also has the MRT and is easy to get to from the airport with the instructions the hotel provides.

We stayed three nights and liked the location.
There are communal locations that are clean and comfortable. Rooms were basic but had every necessity. The shower was a disappointment though, more water got on the bathroom floor than anywhere else.

Staff are very helpful and will accommodate your needs. We would recommend booking a day trip through them although be prepared to go along with it – it isn’t the most organised affair but it gets there in the end. We went to Kanchanaburi to see the death railway museum, cemetery, and the bridge. You could go it alone and have a few hours (each way train ride) for about $3 each but would urge you to go through the hotel bookings. You’re in an air-conditioned minibus (maybe one or two different ones along the way) and you get to ride part of railway and visit the waterfall nearby (it was out of season and a letdown at that time of year though).

Best bit about the hotel is certainly the cafe that is hidden at the back. The meals are superb value and the prices are very cheap. The western food is ordinary but try any of the Thai dishes and they’ll not leave you dissatisfied.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKPAA25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Nice place to stay for a layover if you are planning a trip by train.

I arrived around 00:40 after a late night arrival by plane from Suvarnabhumi international airport. The main entrance was a set of glass doors. To the immediate right of the doors is the receptionist counter, to the left a couch. Further back is a small restaurant/concession area with a few table and chairs. Most of the amenities offered by this Hostel I did not use because I was there for only a short time. The receptionist know almost no English that I can think of, but the check in process was smooth and efficient, not much language exchange was needed.
I received a room on the 4th floor. The dorm is on the 2nd floor/Mezzanine. It was a bit of an ordeal for me as my bag was heavy, I am somewhat disabled, and there are no elevators (lifts for the euros reading this), so beware those who have a lot of bags, and/or have a disability.
The room itself was very basic. Upon entering, there was only one room with a bathroom at the end of the room. To the right of the restroom/shower there is a sink. Before you reach the sink there is a small table with a safe bolted to the top. You can program any combination you like for the safe, which comes in hand if you want to store your small valuables. On the wall above the foot of the bed is an LCD tv that works well and has satellite TV with so so reception. The bathroom was a basic affair with an overhanging hand held shower head and western style toilet, all to the left of the door. The AC above the LCD TV was very cold. The only issue I had with the bathroom/shower was of the poor drainage. The runoff from my shower remained on the floor and accumulated several inches. The water still did not drain by the time I left.
There are several stores that are within a short walking distance from the Hostel (i.e. 7/11). The smell was questionable and the surrounding area was dirty, but don't let that take away the basic convience and overall good condition of the hotel itself.
I found this hostel to be a nice place for a jumping off point if you are taking the train somewhere. I would even consider this location for a short, low cost stay. I like the basic amenities offered and the cleanliness of the room. The only thing that detracted from my stay there was the poor drainage in the shower room.

Room Tip: Request a room on the lower floor if you have a lot of bags and/or are disabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamorn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

@Hua Lamphong is perfect for train travellers - it's just a short walk through the underground station from Hua Lam Phong Station. The rooms are quite basic (they don't look much like the ones online!) but the shower is hot, the rooms are clean, there's aircon and a safe and even a minifridge. The window in my room (406) was tiny, but it didn't bother me too much as I only used the room for sleeping. Downstairs there's a great cafe with lovely staff, who were happy for me to sit for hours with endless orders for cups of tea. The food was great - I tried the Pad Thai which was very nice, and snacked on chips during the day. Wifi is free, but internet on quite old computers is 10 baht per 15 minutes. Awesome reception staff, really helpful and knowledgeable. Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyenyedzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

[This review is for their STANDARD SINGLE BED ROOM category] The hostel has pictures of very nice colorful looking rooms uploaded. So, why did I get, what another reviewer on a hotel booking site aptly named "a cell" (see my uploaded image)? While not super bad it was a bit of a let down. Small, narrow, all white - just no comparison to the photos of their other rooms.

Room Tip: Perhaps one should book their most expensive category: DELUXE DOUBLE BED ROOM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spinalcrackerbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Good hostel next to railwaystation & chinatown.
The double room that we've booked was very nice & clean.
The hostel is located quite centrally for visiting bangkok ( between the old historic center and siam)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben_Lien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
#315 of 893 in Bangkok
237 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Prime Hotel Central Station Bangkok
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#390 of 893 in Bangkok
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Bangkok Centre Hotel
Bangkok Centre Hotel
#517 of 893 in Bangkok
702 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
2W Bed & Breakfast
2W Bed & Breakfast
#92 of 1,415 in Bangkok
46 reviews
Silom
Loftel Station Hostel
Loftel Station Hostel
#130 of 1,415 in Bangkok
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Hua Lamphong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Hua Lamphong Hostel

Address: 326/1 Rama IV Road | Mahaphruttharam, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 1,415 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $12 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — At Hua Lamphong Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hua Lamphong Hostel is an ideal hostel to start journey in Thailand. A hostel is right opposite to a train station and next to subway station. With our facilities and comfort, customers will start their trip with happiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your At Hua Lamphong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
@Hua Lamphong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing