We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More local style”
Review of AK House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AK House
Ranked #245 of 741 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2013

location ok. Big room.
One of the let down is the super weak shower.
7-11 just opposite, very convenient.
One of the best thing is you only need 90THB to reach Asok area during peak hour using a cab.
All cab there using meter.
the local motor taxi is all around.
Apparently this is not a tourist hot spot, no tuk tuk here.
the night market is super cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 36 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed there for 4 days 3 nights. I would say overall I'm satisfied with the room. The room was clean and well furnished. We were out all day to explore the city so we just needed a nice room to sleep. The staff was very friendly and she helped us to book tickets for Siam Niramit and Ladyboy show. We enjoyed the Siam Niramit the most.

The problem with AK house is that it is 10 minutes walk away from the BTS thus it was a bit troublesome for us. You can pay 20 baht for riding a motorcycle, that was also another nice experience for us. You can also find nice and cheap massage parlour and food stall in the market near AK house. I would also recommend the restaurant at level 1 as food was delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charis1520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Basically you can't have high expectation on AK House as it is not really a hotel but more like renting a house apartment. With the price you pay, you can't ask for more.
Overall is clean, quiet & comfortable; 7-11 is right opposite and a few restaurant nearby.
And walking to the nearby BTS is around 10mins, ok to walk at day time but a bit dark to walk a night. One more thing, you need to have paypal to make the room payment & there do not accept credit card.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andythelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its online reputation, but the experience is disappointing. The staff is not as helpful and friendly; you have to rely on yourself to figure how to open the door how to get a taxi to the airport. besides, though it is 10 minuts away from BTS On-Nut, the street is to AK house is full of danger- under-construction building, messy electric wires, and the cars are everywhere without exact direction. All in all, this hostel is better for old customers, not suggested for 1st-time individual traveller in Bangkok.
1. 對於AK的服務和接待 並不滿意 也覺得有點名過於實
2. 地理位置雖離BTS站 10分鐘的步行距離 但整條路很危險 有施工 有散落的電線桿 還有方向不一的來車
3. wifi沒有辦法持續連結 要一直重登很麻煩
唯一可以稱許的應該只有房間裡面有小沙發和牆上的圖很可愛!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HsiaoTaipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed 3 days at AK House on Dec 2012.The location is very close to BTS On Nut Station,very close to Tesco Lotus shopping center.The staffs are very friendly.The rooms decoration are very pretty and make you feel comfortable.The security is good as you have to use your room card to access the main door at night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hweeying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

It's a very clean and pleasant b&b near on nut BTS station. Everything is spic and span clean. And I appreciated that they agreed right away to provide me a quiet room. Some hotels would play hardball like, "subject to availability" and "upon check in".

I don't mind that there is no breakfast as 7-11 is across where they have microwave Thai meals.

They are very responsive via email and their instructions are very detailed and I didn't et lost. Only slight complaint is lack of 24 hour reception so I wasn't able to tell them about the aircon as I leave early and go back late. But this is a minor issue.

Only complaint is the weak noisy aircon. If this is fixed I will be back. But it's not as bad as my aircon in Phnom Penh or Koh Samui so I'm giving this a 3.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bankergirl1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Room is clean and the staff is helpful. The house location is around 5-10 min walk to OnNut BTS station.

If you speak in Mandarin, it is okay for staying here because the host is Taiwanese.
The local Massage stores and 7-11 is around and the night market is easy to reach. Convenient!
Only one thing that, I think it is a little bit far away from the River, thus, it takes time to go there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyChiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Solo Express Bangkok
#170 of 891 in Bangkok
266 reviews
Klassique Sukhumvit Bangkok
#171 of 891 in Bangkok
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 891 in Bangkok
8,741 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#85 of 891 in Bangkok
2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AK House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AK House

Address: 120 Sukhumvit Soi 81 Bangkok, Bangkok 10260, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 741 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $980 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AK House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your AK House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ak House Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing