We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete rip-off!”

Somboondee Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #7,537 of 11,054 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Somboondee Seafood is a RIP OFF. We were directed there by a "helpful" lady on the street who helped to "negotiate" a very cheap Tuk Tuk ride to the restaurant. The food in the restaurant is Sub Par for Thai standard. I can get better quality and taste in any street corner of Bangkok. The service is non-existent. We ordered 5 dishes (1 sliced fish tomyam soup, 1 vegetable, 1 stir-fried chicken with no taste, 1 small crab, 1 squid) and the bill came to 4400 Baht!
Kazan, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Complete rip-off!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Dear visitors of Bangkok, never ever visit this place! Mediocre cuisine and unexpectadly high prices. 80$ you will pay for a tiny grilled fish and dash of grilled veges. Without any drink. Beware.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liliia Z Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    8
    16
    362
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible dinning for my life!!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

i was finish my shopping at platinum, we plan to hav dinner at Somboon seafood which recommend by my friend. we told the tuk tuk that we want to go Somboon seafood, and they said there is new restaurant Somboondee seafood very nice, and they offer to carried our bag and charge us 30bath. when we reached the Somboondee restaurant, there is few table. We just order a fish, vege and tomyam soup. The fish is 1400 Bath!!!! total bill 3069 bath. we ask the server how to get the total bill, she answer the total bill charge 17% governance tax! and the server ask us pay more 300 bath for service charge! than i ask her y not write in the bill, she answer : Everyone is paying, y u dont pay'' i was very angry.. why fish cost us 1400 bath, but not write in the menu.. and cost us 17% for governance tax and extra 300 services charge.

this is a very bad restaurant i even been!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank peggyfeiyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Dining Experience Ever In My Life!!!!!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

As we left Platinum Mall, we got in a taxi, destination Asiatique. But the taxi driver told us it was closed as it was Buddha Day!!! He then recommended a restaurant that was frequented by the locals and not a "tourist trap". He recommended the crab curry, lemon fish and prawns. We took the bait as he was friendly local with good English. Also, he mentioned that he wants us to experience good Thai food. When we reached the restaurant, we were welcomed by the manager who offered to carry our bags. Then, he offered us the menu as we were seated and the restaurant was noticeably empty. The menu has no price (PLEASE DO NOT ORDER THE DISHES WITHOUT THE PRICES LISTED ESPECIALLY THE SEAFOOD). The fish I asked was priced at 1400 baht!!! PUH-LEEZ EVEN IN MSIA WE DON'T HAVE FISH PRICED AT RM140, EVEN COD FISH IN AN ITALIAN FINE DINING!!! Not only that, we were charged with 50 baht for just a mineral water bottle!! RIDICULOUS!!!

Plus, the longer we sat there, we realised there is not a single local who visited the restaurant, only tourists!! The food was extremely bad. Even food in Chatuchak who cost only QUARTER of the price, tasted WAAAY better!! We ended up not finishing any of the food ordered. We came out of the restaurant unsatisfied.

So, an advice to anyone who come across taxi drivers who tells you about this restaurant, PLEASE STAY AWAY!!! ITS A SCAM AND A TOURIST TRAP!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mantisa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathum Thani
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Rip-Off with a kickback to taxis!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place needs to be monitored by the authorities! It is a great and organized scam with transport providers bringing in victims receiving huge kickbacks. We were invited and in a group of 7 people, consuming regular Asian street fare and nothing out of the ordinary. The bill was 12.000+ THB!!! A very sour experience for the inviting party on their first trip to Thailand. Beware of this Rip-Off. Their food was meager and would have been overpriced at 10% of the bill!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abstinent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst dinner I had in my life”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Please Please avoid this place. Tuk tuk or taxi driver will misguide you to go to that place. Still I don't understand how come below average street food can cost 400 USD. It is a robbery. They don't even give you the proper bill. Bangkok government should ban this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bidyut_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Somboondee Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Somboondee Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing