We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb fine dining with wonderful staff”

Smooth Curry at Plaza Athenee Bangkok
Ranked #299 of 10,950 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $45
Cuisines: Asian, Diner, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The authentic taste of Thailand can be discovered at Smooth Curry. Traditional Thai dishes from the country's four regions provide diners with an exceptional culinary experience. Chef Montri jiratitikankit has developed the cooking and fruit carving skills with many royal chefs. We have created new dishes that draw on the culinary heritage of Royal Thai cuisine. Complimentary Thai petites fours are served together with tea or coffee. A private dining room can accommodate 12 guests.
Salisbury, Dorset, England
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Superb fine dining with wonderful staff”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was a real treat, and a memorable evening. The service is impeccable, the food superb, the restaurant beautifully appointed. Yes, you are paying quite a bit for it but it was really worth it. We really enjoyed the food, totally delicious. Nice little tasty free appetizers as well. Excellent and highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Coolkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    104
    32
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smooth Curry”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I run a business called Shop and Drop Holidays (www.shopanddropholidays.com)..... taking 5 star, 5 day trips out of Brisbane for ladies to take a break and experience all Bangkok has to offer for the shopper, budding chef, relaxation and spa treatment lover, cocktail expert.... anything and everything. I have taken my girls to Smooth Curry 3 times now, and every time have experienced nothing but the wonderful authentic Thai Cuisine that I expected from a restaurant such as this. The service was spectacular, as was the food. We had a wonderful meal. The only thing I would say was that the wine list was a little limited, and a bit pricey, but everything else was absolutely perfect. Polly Perkins

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shopanddropholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expensive but best Thai food I had!!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I were really disgusted by seeing so many restaurants where there was no water in the toilets- imagine how the kitchen looks like when the restaurants are not even able to provide water for guests for washing hands!! So we decided to spoil ourselves and visit a restaurant that would at least meet the hygenic standards. What we experienced here was the best Thai food we had in Thailand!! We ordered a starter, I cannot exactly remeber what it was...something that was served as a tapas platter. So delicious. They had 4 different sorts of starters on one plate. Our main dishes were green curry with duck and red curry with crabmeat. The flavours are so subtil and yet well balanced and delicious!! The restaurant manager served dessert as an apology for having delayed the serving of the main food. We did not even feel it!! So we got dessert for free- but frankly, if we had known about their dessert being so perfect, we would have ordered it at first place. They served a plate with different sweet treats, pralines and little cakes. It was such an excellent experience!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another amazing place in Thailand”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Went to try this restaurant after a friend suggestion and I must say it was a very good experience ! I try loads of Thai restaurant in Phuket and Bangkok but after all this was the best ! I suggest the Thai tapas and of course the curry. Very friendly staff with experience . A bit expensive but after all we enjoy the food and the atmosphere .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTraveller7900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fine dining Thai-style (expensive but worth the experience)”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is fine dining Thai style. The food and the service are both excellent - could not be faulted. The main course curries were beautifully textured and came with the exact level of heat asked for. It was Thai food at a level I'd not previously experienced.

It's expensive by Bangkok standards but, as we were keen to try Thai food in this kind of setting, we were well prepared for it. Wine prices are over the top so I would stick to beer and/or water.

For most of the evening we were the only diners which made for quite a strange atmosphere. The room is very elegant but had none of the buzz that normally accompanies a good night out in a busy restaurant. It was mid-week and not sure whether this changes at the weekend. We came primarily for the food so this aspect wasn't a great concern.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CBK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smooth Curry at Plaza Athenee Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to Smooth Curry at Plaza Athenee Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing