We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rain Tree Cafe

The Rain Tree Cafe
Ranked #148 of 10,379 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $84
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Rain Tree Café has been reconceived in a modern interpretation of Thai neo-colonial interior décor + style. Three separate but complementary spaces evidencing extreme elegance and making excellent use of natural light are interwoven with threads of touching homeliness. These three unique areas are cleverly interwoven and are aptly named: The Bronze Kitchen upgraded with interactive live cooking stations, The Valaya Room with its formal library-style "VIP" space and The Secret Garden for more private affairs. Enjoy an inspiring voyage of discovery on our stunning international buffet that also features five specialty dishes of the day from our specialist head chefs. Service for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Sunday Brunch and Dessert Buffet.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Good food.. Good service.. I love this place. Nice menu especially dinner buffet on Friday night if you love seafood ( i.e. lobster, king crab and more)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Theeranop T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at The Rain Tree Cafe, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Theeranop T ,

Thank you very much for your kind recommendation and for dining with us in The Rain Tree Café in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

I am truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. At The Rain Tree Café, we endeavor to provide a wide variety of authentic cuisine together with exceptional service. Your kind remarks are a testimony to the dedication and effort all our associates put forth.

Once again, many thanks for your valued comments and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Rain Tree Café at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel. .

Kind Regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    102
    29
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This restaurant is on the lobby floor of the Le Meridien Plaza Athenee. The initial feeling is that this is another coffee shop, but the food and service are very, very good. The selections are Asian and European and feature cuisines to suit everyone

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at The Rain Tree Cafe, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear jeremy r,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review on TripAdvisor and for dining with us in The Rain Tree Café in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

It is always inspiring to know when a valued guest, such as yourself, appreciates the wide variety of cuisine we offer on our buffet and that you felt that our service was very good. I will be sure to share your kind comments with the team.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon to The Rain Tree Café at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Lovely location, very good service, and the food is nice, too. The buffet is very good value for money - for a special occasion. I would be happier to see more vegetarian options (i.e. vegetables, not the standard tofu and mushroom fare), though.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NJSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at The Rain Tree Cafe, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear NJSL,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to dine in The Rain Tree Café in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.
I am pleased to learn that you appreciated the service and the cuisine in The Rain Tree Café. I would also like to thank you for sharing your feedback on the vegetarian options on the buffet, I will be sure to look into this with our Chef. We do indeed appreciate your feedback as it certainly helps us to monitor and improve our offering.
Thank you once again and I do hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back soon to The Rain Tree Café.
Kind Regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pricey, but one of the best brunch in Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Fantastic buffet! Great display of food, very fresh. Nice little menu in addition to the buffet. Could maybe improve the selection of cheese, desserts and wines. Overall great experience at 7,000+ baht for two....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at The Rain Tree Cafe, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Khun Philart,

Many thanks for your kind review and your compliments on our Sunday Brunch at The Rain Tree Café in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel. It is indeed one of the best Sunday brunches in Bangkok. For only THB 3599 Net per person, guests can enjoy a remarkable selection of fine cuisine such as specially selected Oysters, Hokkaido Scallops, Foie Gras, Norwegian Smoked Salmon and Alaskan King Crab to name a few, coupled with an extensive selection of beverages. This culinary feast starts at 12pm and allows diners to enjoy a four hour gastronomic journey.

Thank you for the input on the desserts and cheese, we will look on how to enhance it further.

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon to the Sunday Brunch at The Rain Tree Café.

Kind Regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Booked 2mths in advance.....ABSOLUTELY WORTH IT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Amazing spread, stead snowfish is TO-DIE-FOR! Great service and very friendly staff. Making next reservation now! Thank you, chef Daniel Bucher, for making this an unforgettable experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ichooseyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at The Rain Tree Cafe, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Fayong,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review on TripAdvisor and for dining with us in The Rain Tree Café in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

It is certainly very rewarding for us to receive such positive praise for our cuisine and the service our associates provide. I am also thrilled that you enjoyed Chef Daniel’s Snow Fish dish and I will be sure to let him know. Thank you once again for your kind feedback and I hope we will have the pleasure of your company in the near future in The Rain Tree Café.

Kind Regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rain Tree Cafe also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to The Rain Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing