We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Booked 2mths in advance.....ABSOLUTELY WORTH IT!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rain Tree Cafe

The Rain Tree Cafe
Ranked #141 of 10,381 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $84
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Rain Tree Café has been reconceived in a modern interpretation of Thai neo-colonial interior décor + style. Three separate but complementary spaces evidencing extreme elegance and making excellent use of natural light are interwoven with threads of touching homeliness. These three unique areas are cleverly interwoven and are aptly named: The Bronze Kitchen upgraded with interactive live cooking stations, The Valaya Room with its formal library-style "VIP" space and The Secret Garden for more private affairs. Enjoy an inspiring voyage of discovery on our stunning international buffet that also features five specialty dishes of the day from our specialist head chefs. Service for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Sunday Brunch and Dessert Buffet.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Booked 2mths in advance.....ABSOLUTELY WORTH IT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Amazing spread, stead snowfish is TO-DIE-FOR! Great service and very friendly staff. Making next reservation now! Thank you, chef Daniel Bucher, for making this an unforgettable experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ichooseyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at The Rain Tree Cafe, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Fayong,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review on TripAdvisor and for dining with us in The Rain Tree Café in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

It is certainly very rewarding for us to receive such positive praise for our cuisine and the service our associates provide. I am also thrilled that you enjoyed Chef Daniel’s Snow Fish dish and I will be sure to let him know. Thank you once again for your kind feedback and I hope we will have the pleasure of your company in the near future in The Rain Tree Café.

Kind Regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    102
    29
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
“Super Sunday Brunch at Rain Tree Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I had a group of 20 during the recent Sunday Brunch on 12 May. I am regular for the sunday brunch but many were first timers....and they were very impressed! The food quality and variety were simply amazing matched by the great service of the staff. Oh, did I forget to mention the constant topping up of the nice sparkling wine! The F&B Director, Mr Marten was always going round to ensure guests were well taken of. My favourite would be the boston lobsters and marinated salmon. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank willieyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

On Mother's day (May 12, 2013) we had the most fabulous Sunday Brunch Buffet at The Rain Tree Café.
We hadn't booked in advance ,( which I advise you to do, because it's mostly fully booked) but the staff were very friendly and they asked us to wait for a couple of minutes to get us a table.. It was worth it!
The choice of food is incredible. I didn't know where to start. Very well presented. They had an great selection of seafood, Asian food, European food, cocktails, soup, bread, Fench cheese and desserts. Wine to go with the food, and very good coffee to end with. It would get a Michellin star in in Holland. It was shame I couldn't taste all the food. so a good reason for me to visit this restaurant again.
Martin, thank you for your good advice.
Helma Heynen

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WHPGHeynen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
“Fantastic food variety with best service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Food quality and choice are way beyond the price...amazing how the hotel and maintain such an amazing quality of both food , beverage and service from all the staffs and especially a very well attentive service director. We come here almost every week and plan to keep it that way.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PokPong B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
389 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our Sunday Brunch very much again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

After travelling outside Thailand for more than 5 weeks we were looking forward to the Sunday Brunch at The Rain Tree Cafe.
Again we were not disappointed.
Beside all the sea food as sashimi a wonderful caviar tray, a fantastic Cheese selection and other dishes we must point out the following:
The dill marinated salmon was almost as our own and today it tasted dill. Delicious.
The pan fried Foie Gras well done was today the best we have had at the RTC.
The Mango Sticky - fantastic
The Peking duck is still one of our favorites.
We love the bar where we can order our much liked Mojitos and Coffee Amore.

A great lunch at one of the still best Brunches in Asia.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at The Rain Tree Cafe, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Tomberra,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on TripAdvisor and your continued support for The Rain Tree Café.

It is indeed a pleasure to receive such praise for our Sunday Brunch at The Rain Tree Café. Our team endeavors to offer one of the top venues for Sunday Brunch in Bangkok. I would like to let you know that our team has made further enhancements to our Sunday Brunch, such as specialized a la carte dishes and the featuring of the champagne “Veuve Cliquot”.

We do pride ourselves on maintaining the exceptional standard of cuisine and service, so your comments will definitely encourage our culinary team to keep up on exceeding all our valued guests’ expectations.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind comments and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again to The Rain tree cafe in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rain Tree Cafe also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to The Rain Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing