We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Try it”

The Rain Tree Cafe at Plaza Athenee Bangkok
Ranked #105 of 10,793 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $88
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Rain Tree Café has been reconceived in a modern interpretation of Thai neo-colonial interior décor + style. Three separate but complementary spaces evidencing extreme elegance and making excellent use of natural light are interwoven with threads of touching homeliness. These three unique areas are cleverly interwoven and are aptly named: The Bronze Kitchen upgraded with interactive live cooking stations, The Valaya Room with its formal library-style "VIP" space and The Secret Garden for more private affairs. Enjoy an inspiring voyage of discovery on our stunning international buffet that also features five specialty dishes of the day from our specialist head chefs. Service for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Sunday Brunch and Dessert Buffet.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
436 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Outstanding Try it”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had another very good Sunday Brunch at The RTC.

The Peking Duck Rolls are really outstanding. The rest is as good as last time. We will surely come back it is the Sunday Brunch in Bangkok and today beating Conrad in Hong Kong.
Do not eat bread and rice just enjoy the food from Sashimi to the cheese table.

Some pictures are enclosed of some of our favorites.

Nice with live music but the volume should be taken down a bit or redirect the loudspeakers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at The Rain Tree Cafe at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Tomberra,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor following your visit to The Rain Tree Café at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

I was pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience whilst dining with us at The Rain Tree Café. I was happy to learn that you especially enjoyed our Peking Duck Rolls, Fois Gras and selection of cold cuts that we have on offer. Thank you as well for posting photos of your favourite dishes. Regarding your comment on the volume of the music, I will definitely discuss the matter with my team to see how this can be rectified.

Thank you for your review and I hope we will see you again in the near future at Rain Tree Café at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    121
    32
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reservoir, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant - Specifically recommend”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

In search of a good lunch buffet we came across a Japanese tourist guide to the Rain Tree Cafe in Meridian Hotel Bangkok. Taxi taken and passed away in anticipation. And lo and behold, a buffet at its best. The huge selection of sashimi, dim sum, Thai, Italian, Dessert up to an experience at a fair price in a good atmosphere. The service was very friendly and attentive. I can really recommend this place with my best knowledge.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at The Rain Tree Cafe at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear G B,

Thank you for choosing to dine at The Rain Tree Café at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for writing your comments on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your compliments on the selection of food we have to offer as well as the value for money of our buffet. It is indeed a pleasure to hear that the atmosphere is appreciated along with the service that our associates deliver.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope to see you again soon at The Rain Tree Café at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE buffet!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just enjoyed what is probably the best buffet I have ever had at the Raintree Cafe. Had the Sunday brunch which included a bottle of Laurent Perrier champagne, unlimited sparkling wine and cocktails/long drinks (made to order). At THB 3,000 ($100) this was actually incredible value for money.

The selection was extensive without being 'piled up' and included copious amounts of fresh seafood, oysters, caviar, salads, cold cuts, fruits and sushi/sashimi. Lobster and steaks were cooked to order as well as roast beef with Yorkshire puddings.

The dessert selection was also amazing as was the selection of about 15 French cheeses. We were even served port with our cheese inclusive with the buffet which is a step above any other buffet I have ever been to (and I go to a fair few living in Asia!).

It was though the service that made this a memorable experience. The F&B Manager Thomas was on hand throughout and personally poured the champagne for us as well as checking back on a number of occasions to make sure everything went well. The chef traveled around the restaurant serving sorbets made with liquid nitrogen at the table which was a also a nice touch and our glasses were never empty for more than a few seconds. This service was classy without being intrusive.

Overall a fantastic experience and a highlight of any trip to Bangkok. We will be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattyBBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at The Rain Tree Cafe at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear MattyBBath,

Thank you for choosing The Rain Tree Café at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for writing a review on TripAdvisor.

I am very grateful for all the kind comments you have written about your experience with us at our Champagne Sunday Brunch, it really reflects the standards of not only the food we provide to our guests but also the standards of service we aim to achieve. I will most definitely pass your comments onto our team to recognize their efforts.

Thank you again for your review and I hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you again at The Rain Tree Café at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One to try”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had the Sunday brunch buffet which was excellent ,the range and quality of food on offer was amazing I can not fault the food. However the achilles of this and indeed most buffets is the bottle neck . It would have been nice to have a bit more manovering room between the different stations. I struggled to find a coherent route to take me through the offerings and I missed something's ie the caviar and sushi bar and the drinks bar that turned out to be near enough in the lobby. Perhaps some covers could be sacrificed to enable a better layout ?
To sum up , the food is fantastic , too good to miss ,just take a dander around to get the lay of the land before commencing battle , just incase you miss a wee gastronomic delight.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matagourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at The Rain Tree Cafe at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Matagourie,

Thank you for your feedback you posted on TripAdvisor of your experience at The Rain Tree Café at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel, we truly value our guests comments.

I am delighted to hear you found our Sunday Brunch excellent. It is indeed a very popular brunch, which means that it can be very busy, especially around the numerous buffet stations. We value your comments and we are constantly looking at ways to further improve our guests dining experience.

Once again thank you for your comments and I hope we will get the chance to welcome you back in the near future at The Rain Tree Café at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“My little heaven on earth”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We are a member of the Ambassador club since last year. We regularly go for the Sunday brunch at the rain tree cafe. It is absolutely fantastic, the variety, the quality the ambiance, the sea food. I m a huge fan of the rain tree cafe and looking forward to go back there again soon, possibly next Sunday. The grilled lobster as well as the Japanese grille steak are pure heaven.. An absolute must while in Bangkok.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank thetravelbee_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at The Rain Tree Cafe at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear thetravelbee_8,

Thank you for visiting The Rain Tree Café at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for choosing to write a review on TripAdvisor.

I am overjoyed to hear that you thoroughly enjoy coming to The Rain Tree Café for our Champagne Sunday Brunch, we truly value your ongoing support. I am pleased to hear you enjoy the quality of the food especially the seafood we have on offer.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Rain Tree Café at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rain Tree Cafe at Plaza Athenee Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to The Rain Tree Cafe at Plaza Athenee Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing