We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Water Bar!”

Water Library Chamchuri
Ranked #238 of 10,950 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $150
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Siam
Description: A restaurant as an ideal, is an open place. Open for new impressions, great food and beautiful wines...good friends, smiles and laugher accompanying a meal. At Water Library Chamchuri we want our guests to experience all that by offering fine cuisine and attentive service, without any stiffness and formality, but in style and with class. In the heart of Bangkok's Business district, next to the famous Chulalongkorn University, Water Library is the perfect location for your business lunch or a dinner with friends. Led by German Chef Mirco Keller the kitchen offers a set lunch, and a la carte as well as tasting menu for dinner on highest level of contemporary fine dining. General Manager Oliver Kramny ensure a perfect and yet personal service, and a wine list with over 370 labels, mostly offered at retail prices, will make your dining experience remarkable.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Five Star Water Bar!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Beautiful ambiance! Sexy waitresses, best selection of bottled or still water I have ever seen! Food tastes remarkable! The #1 cocktail in Bangkok perhaps the world is called "Love"! It just doesn't get better than that!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    55
    15
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Memorable Evening”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

The set menu they served was close to perfect. It might be a bit too long for the night but this time around it wasn't as salty as we had previously.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vallobh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Save this on your foodie list”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

but all that hype is probably about lunch...

My dinner date started with cocktails (decent), complimentary amuse-bouche (seared prawn with apple dressing & beetroot-lime sorbet ----- 'interesting'), mains (Chilean seabass & Challans duck ----- rated 3/5) and a cheese platter to finish it off.

We had the restaurant all to ourselves, surprising for a Sunday night. The service was attentive.
However, the lack of patrons at such a highly-recommended venue dimmed the experience.

Later that night, the bf and I had stomachaches, which may or may not have been caused by dinner.

If you should try Water Library, best follow the lunch reviews.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank llareina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely great!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Great good and service worth the price! I had lunch today at this restaurant and came back with great experience! I had lunch, 3 course, start 950+ (some menu you need to pay the additional price)

Be sure to make the reservation, when we were there all the tables were gone! And they closed the kitchen around 14.00 , so be sure to be there and order before this time.


Since at the time we went there, all the tables are full, some menu were sold out too.

The atmosphere was nice and we hope to to return again for dinner :)

Helpful?
1 Thank pyapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor attitude”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

So I have just returned home from Water Library and what a disappoint. Whilst the food was good we were so poorly let down with the service. At the beginning everything was really really good and then out main courses were cleared and we didn't see a member of staff in half an hour. Once one did come over we asked to see the dessert menu only to have the curt response of the 'kitchen has now closed.' Ridiculous! We weren't asked whether we would like a dessert and there were plenty of other people in the restaurant who had had the tasting menu that were still receiving their desserts so I really couldn't see why it was a problem especially when it was their mistake for not offering desserts. We then called the Manager over to complain, when you are charging Michelin star prices, you expect good service and there were plenty of staff available to provide such. He came up with pathetic excises such as the hostess should have told us upon entrance that the kitchen closed at 9.30pm. The fact of the matter was she did not and neither did the staff have the courtesy to check we were ok after our main course or whether we would like a dessert. Disastrous in teams of service -pulls down the quality of the food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Library Chamchuri also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Water Library Chamchuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing