We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Lunch & reasonable prices”

Water Library Chamchuri
Ranked #226 of 10,793 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $150
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Siam
Description: A restaurant as an ideal, is an open place. Open for new impressions, great food and beautiful wines...good friends, smiles and laugher accompanying a meal. At Water Library Chamchuri we want our guests to experience all that by offering fine cuisine and attentive service, without any stiffness and formality, but in style and with class. In the heart of Bangkok's Business district, next to the famous Chulalongkorn University, Water Library is the perfect location for your business lunch or a dinner with friends. Led by German Chef Mirco Keller the kitchen offers a set lunch, and a la carte as well as tasting menu for dinner on highest level of contemporary fine dining. General Manager Oliver Kramny ensure a perfect and yet personal service, and a wine list with over 370 labels, mostly offered at retail prices, will make your dining experience remarkable.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch & reasonable prices”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Some may find the formal service a little stuffy for lunch time but we love it. I have been here a few times now and have not been disappointed with my choices. The venue is lovely and really easy to get to either by taxi or the train. The restaurant itself is well presented and conservative. We like the water menu, it is a little fun. The lunch menu at B950 for 3 courses is unbeatable, additional costs are clearly advertised. For me, it is a nice quiet contemplative space in a very busy city. Water Library Thonglor is a little over my budget, whereas Chamchuri suits me fine.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CleoBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    52
    15
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype.....not all of it anyway”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

First off let me preface this review by saying this is certainly a good restaurant which serves good food. If in Bangkok it's worth a visit, probably. That said we wouldn't add to our list when we next go back to this wonderful city as there are plenty of other options which are worth exploring.

In sum this is why for us the place doesn't draw the same level of gushing you read in other reviews.
1. It's really expensive. We live in London and are used to eating out and paying a fair price for good food and service. But the maths on our meal didn't add up and it felt really rather over priced for the whole offering.
2. It's in a shopping centre. That rather detracts from the whole 5 star experience. The bathrooms are in the shopping centre. You can't escape you are in a shopping centre paying £150 plus for a meal for two.
3. The service was fine, a little intrusive at times but ok. The deal breaker was being lectured by the chef on why he couldn't cook my steak how I wanted it, well done. He came out of the kitchen to do this in detail at our table. Perhaps you pay so much because the chef will come to your table and gently berate you for asking for steak to be well done.
4. It's was raining very heavily. That's not the fault of the restaurant but we were escorted to the shopping centre exit, which because it way past it's closing time there was no taxis in sight. Being a tad dressed up this was a pain as we ran over to the main road to catch a cab. Surely this is an issue which others have faced. The restaurant need to think through the value proposition of this experience from entrance to exit. Again for me I'm afraid this doesn't add up and means we won't be heading back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wookie-taff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good place”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Very nice place and good taste
I 'll be back again when i'go to thailand. Clean, delicious good music
I loving it very much

Helpful?
Thank Asabaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“MUST VISIT”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

You get great quality food served here. You begin with sample from the complimentary croissant , warm soft tempts you to the evening ahead. Food quality is very good, the ambience intimate. Service is good, attentive without being obtrusive with those waiting on you being knowledgeable and happy to guide. Very good steak quality!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 20Jbond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Location a little bit difficult to find but superb restaurant with superb food, a must if you are in Bangkok and looking for a sophisticated upscale place (romantic too!). Love it and would go back any time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edgarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Library Chamchuri also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Water Library Chamchuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing