We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beyond your expectations in dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Water Library Chamchuri

Water Library Chamchuri
Ranked #142 of 10,118 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $150
Cuisines: European, French, Seafood, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Siam
Description: A restaurant as an ideal, is an open place. Open for new impressions, great food and beautiful wines...good friends, smiles and laugher accompanying a meal. At Water Library Chamchuri we want our guests to experience all that by offering fine cuisine and attentive service, without any stiffness and formality, but in style and with class. In the heart of Bangkok's Business district, next to the famous Chulalongkorn University, Water Library is the perfect location for your business lunch or a dinner with friends. Led by German Chef Mirco Keller the kitchen offers a set lunch, and a la carte as well as tasting menu for dinner on highest level of contemporary fine dining. General Manager Oliver Kramny ensure a perfect and yet personal service, and a wine list with over 370 labels, mostly offered at retail prices, will make your dining experience remarkable.
San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beyond your expectations in dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Not to be missed when in Bangkok. The ultimate in flavors and texture. Beef at it's best. We ran out of words to describe how incredibly wonderful the different presentations were. Undoubtedly the best tasting burger ever. The beef cheek was ordered twice. The staff and the chef were very friendly and the ambiance in the bar was festive

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    48
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent fine dining without being intimidating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The water library restaurant exudes class from the moment you walk in and see the towering arrangement of water bottles from around the world. The food is as good as any fine dining restaurant in New York or Paris, but Bangkok prices. The owner is in the water business, hence the towering bottles from all over the world. He is also in the wine business, and the wine list will be sure to please. I had the set menu, which included wagyu beef as well as caviar, and many other delicious courses, at a cost of about 2800 Baht or 90 US dollars. A real bargain.

The setting is elegant, and the service incredible, yet unobtrusive. One of our party was dealing with food allergies, and the chef customized a totally different set menu to accommodate her.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kallen02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Special Birthday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We wanted to treat our friend o a special lunch for her birthday and someone had recommended the set lunch at the Water Library. Having been previously at night and completely blown away with the service and quality of food and wine it seemed a great opportunity.
We were not disappointed, with the same excellence of service and quality for a set price lunch.
Being great is wonderful but being great and reasonably priced is outstanding.
We would recommend the Water Library for a special evening when price is no object and lunch any time you want to feel special.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RegularOZTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“very relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I had a great time here with my friend. We went to the one at a department store and the service was wonderful. Ask the server for the recommended menu. I recommend it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank poi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“SUPERB EXPERIENCE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a lovely experience, so very special!

Everything was A+......the ambiance, the food, the service, the attention to detail...everything was great!

The service was very attentive and food was insane!

One expects to pay a little more for a dining experience likes this so I was prepared even though it was not over the top!

It's the type of restaurant that you can continue to enjoy even after time has passed.When thinking of the Water Library I can still imagine the beautiful tastes I savored.

Looking forward to going back soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Celebrate2Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Library Chamchuri also viewed

 

Been to Water Library Chamchuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing