We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”

Water Library Chamchuri
Ranked #232 of 10,823 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $150
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Siam
Description: A restaurant as an ideal, is an open place. Open for new impressions, great food and beautiful wines...good friends, smiles and laugher accompanying a meal. At Water Library Chamchuri we want our guests to experience all that by offering fine cuisine and attentive service, without any stiffness and formality, but in style and with class. In the heart of Bangkok's Business district, next to the famous Chulalongkorn University, Water Library is the perfect location for your business lunch or a dinner with friends. Led by German Chef Mirco Keller the kitchen offers a set lunch, and a la carte as well as tasting menu for dinner on highest level of contemporary fine dining. General Manager Oliver Kramny ensure a perfect and yet personal service, and a wine list with over 370 labels, mostly offered at retail prices, will make your dining experience remarkable.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Only had Lunch at Water Library.
Mirko is a brilliant chef!
Very good food, maybe the portions a little bit too small (i'm a big eater) but everything perfectly cooked and seasoned.
Setting was nice but might look even better by night.
Very reasonable priced wines!
Good service.
Needless to say that it was worth the visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dedosphuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    54
    15
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of a kind in Bangkok”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nice setting, nice food, nice drinks, superb service
That's what makes this place so successful!
A must visit when in Thonglor

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dedosphuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
202 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“A very special restaurant!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Deceptive name for the establishment as there is a very exclusive and fine dining restaurant right above the bar. I had originally reviewed this restaurant under the Water LIbrary Chamburi Square location - http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g293916-d1674184-r121372771-Water_Library-Bangkok.html

Well this time we returned to the Water Library Thonglor for a special dinner orchestrated by a visiting chef Gabriel Hedlund, formally of the Noma restaurant from Copenhagen. Excellent 11 or 12 dishes with very good wine pairing.

Please note that for the Water Library Thonglor you MUST have a reservation and cannot walk in unless you only want to drink at the bar. Diners sit on a long counter type table with the chefs doing the cooking, mostly preparation, in front of you. Similar to a sushi bar but the food is modern European.

Normally the everyday menu is about 10 - 12 dishes created by the chefs so no a la carte menu. Wine pairing is offered along with a selection of the finest still and sparkling water from all over the world.

Highly recommended for a special occasion.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Pooky_TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Cocktail Bar in Bangkok!”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

First I thought Water Library Thonglor is this high end fine dining restaurant, super exclusive etc... After hearing some friends rave about the place and the drinks they make there at the bar on the ground floor I gave it a shot and went last Friday with friends.
One word: AWESOME! The best (and most creative) Cocktails I had in a long time...nice service, relaxed live music from a small jazz band and good food (for which we had to wait a little, but it was quite busy though...). Maybe it is not a loud place to party, but as we wanted to hang out and talk, it was just perfect, and not too expensive neither. we had (quite a few) cocktails, and they were all between 250 and 350 thb and all tasted delicious!!! a bottle of wine for 1,200.- which the sommelier recommended and it was really nice, and the food and snacks we had was all around 150 to 300 thb per dish...so all in all great value.
A small cocktail on the house after we paid the bill and they even gave us a miniature glass bottle as give away, in which they put their own home made bitters for us to make cocktails at home. nice touch to a great evening! We will be back. soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlesBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is an amazing restaurant in every way -- the food, the decor, the ambience, the friendly staff, the friendly chef. A huge range of wines. The fish was very good, as well as the croisants. Definitely a must go.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ascklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Library Chamchuri also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Water Library Chamchuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing