We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A grate and quiet place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites
Ranked #101 of 834 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“A grate and quiet place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I was stayed few times at this hotel. This is very nice & quiet hotel, located at the hard of the center, 5 minutes walking distance from Sukhumvit. Very nice ,clean rooms and excellent facilities.
Always friendly staff!
I certainly recommended this hotel! You can feel home there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    401
    68
    17
    9
See reviews for
176
424
120
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at the Oriental Residence, The Intercontinental and the Aloft, I'd have to say I prefer the Ramada for all sorts of reasons. Firstly its location. It lies near the end of a narrow road, some have called it an "Alleyway".I call it "Bliss" since the road is inaccessible to the raving lunatics in cars that plague Bangkok. The road is simply too narrow for them to wreak havoc and so you can stroll down after a night out. Cars and taxis can get down the road, but generally avoid it. As for the Ramada itself, the hotel seems to have been given some "Thought". For example in the pleasant rooms, they have independent air conditioning, so you can tune the climate to your own preferences. You also don't have to endure the racket of a common vent shaft in action as you do in most other hotels, whether you are using the air conditioning or not. Also you can actually open 2 little windows and allow real air to enter if you so wish! We had a studio which was perfect, the walls are paper thin( Like all the other hotels we've stayed in here) and God help you if you get a party of drunks next door, luckily "Party goers" tend to avoid hotels like this.All the same, it is a good idea to pack a pair of proper wax ear plugs before you set off for Bangkok, they are a God send!

Another good example of "Thought" at the Ramada is the free Tuk tuk that takes you one way to the end of the road. This is an idea the Aloft Hotel should consider, it might be a little "low tech" for them, but it would enable at least easy passage one way down the crazy road they are situated in. Also the Oriental Residence should consider this idea, especially with "Deathrace 2000" going on immediately outside their establishment!

Breakfast at the Ramada was great, other meals were fine and reasonable and the Internet is OK, but slow. It has an annoying habit of logging you off all the time. Also I think it doesn't allow more than 2 connections at the same time in the rooms. maybe I am wrong, but if this is correct, ie only 1 connection, it is straight out of the Flintstones in this day and age!

The gardens and pool are wonderful and I loved the unashamed luxury of 2 pairs of bubble baths that are built into the swimming pool, that actually are in good working order! The garden surrounding the pool area are a delight. All in all, the Ramada wins hands down for its seamless and understated attention to detail. I would certainly stay again when I come back to Bangkok.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pcgrowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed the several times and was never disappointed. Great staff, well maintained, lovely small garden with luxury furniture and pool,msuper breakfast. This is a well hidden secret in downtown Bangkok. I will return for sure.mkeep up the great job guys. Thai hospitality at its best.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SwissFoodieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at Ramada suites for 5nights in December 2012. We had the most fantastic time. Hotel staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and so helpful. Even the cleaning staff were super friendly! Location was awesome-quick walk to sky train, and right in the middle of the hustle and bustle but tucked away enough to be quiet at night. Rooms were great! Only problem we had was the big window from the room to the bathroom-the screen also was see through which proved a little awkward! But other than that the room was beautiful. Breakfast was great, will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayme H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The rooms were just average. The lady on the receptionist wanted to charge us some how on some things we never did or used. I used the kettle and the milk got burnt in it. Housekeeping immediately asked us to pay 1000 bhat for this. I refused and cleaned the kettle and gave back. They did not trust and re checked everything. When it seemed fine they asked us to pay for the beer which was missing from the mini bar. We never used their beer or anything from the bar. Breakfast was good but the kettle and beer issue was very embarrassing. I would not stay here again. The hotel is far from the main road. They do give u a free tuk tuk service to go out on the main road. But when u come back there is no one to pick you. Good indian restaurants when you walk for 10 mins. But the overall experience was not nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Musu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon P R, General Manager at Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Musu

Sometimes, I wished, I would know every single detail, which is happening at our hotel... Thank you for bringing this to my attention. This should not have happened and for sure been handled a little more courteously. Please accept my apologies for all the inconvenience caused.

As our hotel is 250 meters inside the Soi of the Sukhumvit main road, our free Tuk Tuk is for sure very much appreciated by our guests. Many of them are also calling the hotel before they arrive at the corner of Sukhumvit Soi 12 and our drivers are happy to offer a safe drive back to the hotel.

I thank you for your visit and hope, having the chance in seeing you personally, if your travel plans will bring you back to Bangkok. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Simon
simon.rindlisbacher@ramadasuitesbangkok.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in late October, and I was pleasantly surprised at how quiet, clean and friendly the hotel is for this area and this price range. The staff were impeccable, always friendly and helpful. Room was very quiet and clean with excellent facilities, and the pool is a lovely garden haven with day beds to retire to after a morning's shopping or sightseeing. It never felt too busy or got too noisy despite there being quite a few guests, and it's not really a 'family' hotel, so there were rarely rowdy kids. Very relaxing! Very well situated to the trains, and close to the Sukhamvit shops and bars, which suited us fine. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank henritan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I was staying at the hotel on three occasions during a trip in southeast Asia. It is an excellent hotel in the midst of Sukhumvit. Location at the end of the street keeps most of the noise of this lively city away. Rooms are generous and well equipped. The employees were very friendly, attentive and helpful. They really made me feel welcome at this temporary home.
I can certainly recommend this hotel and sure will choose it again if I am back in Bangkok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Sukhumvit
CityPoint Hotel
CityPoint Hotel
#75 of 834 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
Sukhumvit
Legacy Suites Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Sukhumvit Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Hotel Icon Bangkok
Hotel Icon Bangkok
#95 of 834 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites

Property: Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites
Address: 22 Sukhumvit Soi 12 Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Ramada Hotel & Suites Bangkok)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#68 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#92 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel And Suites Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing