We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Modern with all facilities except a decent pool!”
Review of Hi Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hi Residence
Ranked #664 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Modern with all facilities except a decent pool!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have stayed at the Hi Residence several times over the last couple of years; I really like the place as it has very clean modern rooms which are very well equiped especially if you have a 1 bedroom suite which I have been upgraded to twice.
The rooms have king size beds and flat panel TV's (2 in the suite) and excellent bathrooms.
There is a restaurant which serves a reasonable breakfast and another Roof Top Restaurant on the 10th. floor which serves dinner in the evening; the food is good and the view is nice.
There is a 7/11 type store next door which is useful.
DinDaeng road is quite busy and it is about a 15 minute walk along this busy road to the subway and Fortune Plaza; however it is only a 10 minute taxi ride from Makasan Station where you can catch the Airport Express Train.

The Swimming pool is more like a jacuzzi than a pool and I find this the downside of staying here as I like to swim every day when in Thailand.
Still a good hotel if you can get it at a good price

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    48
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
42
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Hi Residence is modern, chic with a large room to offer... The room is clean, stylish, modern, unlike many of the big names in the industry which can get a tad too upscale for my taste. Love the interior though the usual elephant origami-folded towels are apparently missing in these days.

Checking in and out is speedy enough, though staff can be more well versed using English for better communication with travellers who don't speak Thai. However, staff are friendly and definitely try their very best to assist if they could...

Breakfast can be really packed if there are tourists in group in the morning which result in no table/seats. Selection is limited but understandable and reasonable given the price tagged to it.

Only downside could be that the hotel is really far off from the exciting part of Bangkok like Sukhumvit or Silom. Worse still, the nearest MRT is about 15-20 mins walk away (you could catch a cab but make sure that you have the staff write the location in Thai). In addition, due to the lacking in the strategicness of the location, it seems that foreign tourists are not abundant and as a result, it's difficult to buy food if you dont read Thai (menus from restaurants around hotel are in Thai only).

Other than that, it's definitely a wonderful stay...

Room Tip: Well, choose the room at the furthest end since they offer the most spacious room. In addition, if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wil23low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

i stayed there during one night due the flooding situation in Bangkok

super cool place, including breakfast and internet for approximately 30,- eur per room
not entirely in the city center but pretty easy to travel there via bus, metro or taxi
also in close proximity to the airport

rooms are really modern and clean
feature rooftop restaurant and bar which serve delicious food

definitely coming back :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hcslovanka1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night while visiting my friend whose residential area was flooded as a result of the historic 2011 Thailand floods. The hotel staff was friendly thoroughout; we got a very warm welcome from the bellmen and reception staff. The hotel room was large and spacious, and although I agree that the bed was quite firm, it personally suited me prefectly. The only thing I didn't like about the room was the small step in the bathroom to the toilet. I tripped over it several times as it is perfectly camouflaged and impractical.

I ate at the restaurant on the roof which offers a nice view of Bangkok. The staff at the restaurant were equally nice and very attentive. I checked out early in the morning, around 3 am due to an early flight, and the security at the entrance to the hotel helped me with hailing a cab and assisting with my luggage.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirRyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I have stayed there for couple times for a week in each time. The location is convenient but you need to take a taxi. Public transport such as MRT is around 15 minutes walk along the road. I'd rather take a taxi as weather is quite hot to walk. There are minimart right in front and seven eleven is up few block away. Room is ok with all facilities I need. Breakfast selection is ok for couple of day but if you stay for a week, it can be very tried.

Pool is outside the building and very very small. I would call a large bathtub instead of pool.

Overall, I felt ok to stay in this hotel and can return if get the good price around 1,300 THB.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TT_andaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Clean and modern hotel. Rooms kept well and staff are helpful and police although English is limited for many. The resturant serves some good food however portions are small and the room service is slow. My only complaint is that the bed is too hard but that a personal preference. The location was fine for us because we take Taxi everywhere and to get to Siam Parogon for example it was only 70B. All in all i give the hotel a 3.5/5

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickynWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Hotel Room: Studio Executive
Spacious, much like an apartment.
New and clean.

Location:
Not so good, 10-15 min walk to Pharam 9 MRT station, Fortune Shopping Centre
7 seven across the main rd which was handy

Would stay here again for stopover only as it is not close to much.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VVVIIICCKKYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Din
Centric Place Hotel
Centric Place Hotel
#457 of 858 in Bangkok
148 reviews
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Beat Hotel Bangkok
Beat Hotel Bangkok
#347 of 858 in Bangkok
69 reviews
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Din
Tanatawey Places
Tanatawey Places
#428 of 858 in Bangkok
23 reviews
Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
#298 of 858 in Bangkok
707 reviews
At Mind Executive Suites
#217 of 858 in Bangkok
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hi Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi Residence

Property: Hi Residence
Address: 649/1-176 Asoke-Dindaeng Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#144 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#156 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#265 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hi Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi Residence is ideal for both business and leisure travelers, both for long and stay stays. Each of the 143 luxurious deluxe rooms and corner junior suites offer a contemporary open design concept with modern conveniences and latest technologies. Each guest room has new HD flat screen TV, wireless internet access, dual telephone direct lines, individual climate control, satellite television and hairdryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hi Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Residence Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing