We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hostel on Khao San”
Review of Chada Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chada Hostel
Ranked #673 of 1,189 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Porec, Croatia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average hostel on Khao San”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Lovely hostel if you really wanna stay right on Khao San, our room was clean, with bathroom in the room, although you can really get cheaper and nicer rooms in Thailand. But for a night or two is ok, and you are right in the middle of everything. And of course that this includes noise but if you can don't take the room which is just next to the reception and a common area because you will not sleep all night. We didn't have problesms with the noise from the outside, but some girls in the common room were chatting very loudly all night long, and anybody passing through the coomon room it feels like there are no walls.

Room Tip: take a room far from the reception and the common room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kadoka55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    23
    4
    5
See reviews for
1
14
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

At first glance we really liked this hostel; it was clean and fun and cozy as well as being situated literally on the busy tourist hotspot Khaoson Road. However, when we got the key, we left it on the bed with all our stuff and went outside for just 2 minutes to go to the public bathroom and to go pay for the room. When we went back in the room, the key was gone so we went to talk to the front desk and he started cursing angrily saying that we have to pay 500 baht for it. We went upstairs with him and he flung off the blankets off both beds and emptied our bags out onto the bed, making us both very uncomfortable. He kept yelling and cursing, demanding the 500 baht. Instead we decided to pack up and leave. When he saw we were serious and when we were about to exit the hostel, he screamed out that a lady found the key on the bed and it was there the whole time. We were very upset and told him that we were not staying because they tried to scam us within 5 minutes and we didn't feel safe. Other guests who heard the whole exchange got nervous as well because they were scared they would try to do that to them too. Don't recommend this place as it is not so nice to begin with that it would be worth the risk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shaina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Hanoi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The room is very clean , the price is worth ,the location is really good, in the end of Khao san road and near enough to hang out around the Khao san road and Soi Rambuttri . Definitely i will stay here again if i back to Bangkok. I feel very safety in this hostel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinhDang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights, its at the end of Khao San road so right in the midst of all the madness! Breakfast is included but wasn't the best - if you need a big breakfast to keep you going then you will have to buy one. Chada Hostel only provide 2 pieces of toast and a cup of tea/coffee which was on the small side.
Rooms were really clean, though be warned no Lady boys or Thai girls are allowed upstairs!
Our room and bathroom was clean, bed was comfy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here on a cyclical SE Asia tour, so a total of four nights six weeks apart. The receptionist remembered us, which was unexpected, as she was so indifferent to our existence the first time round. The room wasnt very clean, they had hairs all over the floor and empty contact lenses pots. The walls are all on a wonk, which is a bit confusing if you have one too many tiger beers! Nice place to crash, wouldnt go out of your way to stay there at all.

Room Tip: lower floors better. Check the windows to see which part of the road they face.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MajorandKapota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed here 3 times. In 2010 and 2012. The rooms are great. Airco room with double bed private bathroom windows for 650 bath. There js à nice area for relaxing. Where you can watch tv and dvd's. Wifi is Free. The staff can be very unfriendly. We stayed here on 3 different occasions. And every time they say there full. And after à short discussion. And saying that you called earlier there are plenty of rooms. So if they say there full keep trying. They wil store youre bags if you have to catch à late night bus. We even had our bags store for 2 weeks. The charge you but it is Nice if you want to go to the Islands and allready bought alot.

Overal rooms are Nice. Cleaning was better in 2010 then 2012.
The older man at the reception is very Nice. He will be helpfull. THE others are not nice and very rude.
At the end of koh san its à great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yizzll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I went to Bangkok last September and staying at this hostel. Very neat hostel. Clean room, and with as a woman traveller I feel safe with this hotel regulation. Their room is in the 3rd floor, the recception is in the 2nd floor, and in reception there are many regulation that said "No Thai girl and Lady Boy allowed upstairs". Have a very nice shared bathroom.

The receptionist were also very helpful and this hostel really know our need. they allowed us to leave our backpacks even we already checked out (for wait the bus), and there are shuttle bus service to the airport.

If I'm going back to Bangkok, I will definitely staying in this hostel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wardhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Dang Derm in The Parc
Dang Derm in The Parc
#590 of 859 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Banglamphu
At Home Guest House
At Home Guest House
#437 of 1,189 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Banglamphu
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
#88 of 1,189 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
No photo provided
Siri Poshtel Bangkok
#588 of 1,189 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Banglamphu
Khaosan Park Resort
Khaosan Park Resort
#129 of 632 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Banglamphu
Violet Tower at Khaosan Palace
Violet Tower at Khaosan Palace
#639 of 1,189 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chada Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chada Hostel

Property: Chada Hostel
Address: 216/6 Khao san road, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #673 of 1,189 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Chada Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing