We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place I have been in Thailand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Phiman Riverview Guesthouse
Ranked #777 of 1,344 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Ok, first. This is not a place for people how wanna stay on their own, party all night or belong to the lonely Planet crowd but for travelers with an open mind and the wish to socialize and chill out in the middle of bangkok (though it is an oasis of calm) at a wonderful guesthouse directly located to the river, it is the place to be! I stayed to times at Phiman riverview guesthouse (it is hard to find, but if you ask a taxi driver for Samsen Soi5, he will bring you to the road) and enjoyed every moment. The owner is a yound thai lady who took over the place a couple of months ago and refurnished and cleaned it together with her charming stuff. So it is clean now and the common room is directly located to the river. So you've got a wonderful view. For me it felt like home, which is mainly devoted to the owners kindness and that all the people who stayed their used to cook together with the owner every night thai food. I had a great time their and when visiting the crazy city of Bangkok again, I will definitly stay again in this oasis of friendship and calm directly located to the river.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markus86B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 73 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you belong to the Khosan road tribe or lonely planet is the only book you know, if you are not a solo traveler and only want to interact with your buddies... this is NOT the place for you. Phiman is a homely place for relaxed people who love sharing. Jane, the owner is fantastic and the most helpful local you could dream on meeting: an endless source of help and information. Besides that the place is beautifully set next by the river and we often cook and dine together (sharing the expenses and work, is understood).
By reading the other advices I can only wonder what they were looking for... Bangkok has tons of options for high standards travelers; obviously you need the cash to afford that kind of accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alfredictus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

amazing river view, helpfull staff, recommended!
stayed there for a week, very good for single travallers.
very homy athmosphere. very fast internet.
good lundery service, and helpfull tips about bangkok.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ran11972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We arrived there because it looked like a nice bohemic place in the center of Bangkok, but things changed once we arrived there.

The boy running the place, a thai-swiss, was the dirtiest of all the people around. We payed 5 days in advance, and after the first day things changed: the boy didn't pay the internet company so we had to go to an internet cafe, there were bed bugs (and even the obvious bites we had, the boy didn't want to accept it) and all the stuff in the kitchen was just trash.

The third day there, after the bed bugs bites we decided to leave and the boy didn't want to refund our money for the rest of days we payed, not even a small part.

And the last thing: be aware for the security of your things, an american who was living there for a month told us people went inside and stole things from the rooms (so you can imagine where the apple computer and the ultra-professional photo camera that boy has come from).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank architectBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

For the price of a room here, you can get a MUCH nicer place at a real hotel just a few blocks away. It's not worth ANY amount of savings to stay here.

We knew we were in trouble when our taxi from the airport had no idea where this was, and instead decided to consult some local kids in the area and have them lead us the rest of the way.

We also knew there were issues when we went to pay our balance and leave the next morning, and we couldn't find anyone to pay (the owner was out?).

You're basically walking through some VERY disgusting homes to get to the place. If you are interested in seeing "third world" up close and personal, this is it.

We apparently had the "best" room in the place, but it was the grossest place we stayed in during the entire trip. Also, we caught scabies from this room. With the cost of medicine to treat the scabies and the extreme discomfort, we could have been put up at a four-star hotel for the night, instead.

The other travelers here were the opposite of friendly. We got a lot of nasty looks from "transient" types (you know - the kinds who ask for your change at Haight and Ashbury in SF) and felt totally uncomfortable being out in any of the shared space.

Do yourself a favor and DO NOT stay here. The website is the most misleading thing I've ever seen. It's in an inconvenient area and trashy. Not worth a buck or two.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kallbrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Well what can say about this place pretty shocking , we booked it on hostel bookers.com , we wanted a cheap place just for the night to get over the 12 hour flight from UK , the pictures looked good untill we got to the place

Location : pretty bad location down some back allys walking across some dodgy planks pretty scary and dangerous at night , right next to the river which at night you get bitten to death by moscito's (lets put this way my feet were bitten and swollen for 3 days ) The only thing about the view was the bridge as it was very pretty but this is the only good thing about it!!

Room: We had a room just opposite the river, it was was stated on the website that it had air con (i didn't realise air con in Thailand meant a small fan) it seemed nice at first glance then as we looked more in the room the bathroom was non existant it was a tiny room which looked more like a built in cupboard!! in this cupboard consisted of a blocked overflowing toilet and a piece of pipe with a shower head attatched whiich was freezing cold water. Bedroom door was falling if the hinges whcih meant as we closed it the door handle would not lock!! there were holes in the walls and the ceiling was all dirty and falling to peices. The bed was covered in small ants and it was not till we got back from having dinner that we found ants all over our clothes that had been on the bed with further inspection we found that the whole bed was covered with tiny ants!! but we were so tired from our flight we decided to sleep on the hard wooden floor and the room would sway as people walked on the outside wooden flooring!! we were right by the communal area this meant we could hear everything and people were outside shouting and drinking all night until 6am this meant we did not have much sleep as we were kept awake and concerned for our safety!!! we also had to use the shared toilet which smelt really horrible and we also had to suppl our own toilet roll as there neevr seemed to be any supplied!!

Staff: the people we meet were however very friendly and willing to talk to us!!

Overall i would not recommened this place to any one even if you are on a budget as we found better accomadation else where for the same price and u did not have to walk down dodgy streets to get to them!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gareth_rambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We booked this place online because we were arriving into Bangkok at night and wanted somewhere to lay our heads for a night before deciding what to do next. The location, although a 15 minute walk from the Khao San road is down some pretty dodgy looking back alleys. We got there at about 10pm and got pretty lost & pretty scared. In the daytime it's less worrying and we never actually had any problems, however it is a bit offputting. The hostel is next to the river, which does mean you get a bit of a breeze, however the river itself is pretty grim, our room was literally 2 metres from it. I think the website makes this place look nicer than it actually is, although it is by no means a complete dive, they do have WiFi internet and free tea & coffee.

I think in hindsight we were overcharged for the room, maybe because we booked online, I also wonder whether they actually knew we were coming or just gave us the only available room. It was supposedly ensuite...however it's not worth paying for this, it's literally just a loo in the corner with a shower over the top. The communal washrooms are perfectly adequate. There were holes in the roof & wall...thank goodness it didn't rain or we and our backpacks would have been completely drenched...not good at the beginning of 2 months travelling!!

The staff are friendly and recommended a little kitchen 10metres up the alleyway that does a mean Pad Thai, they also had a booklet of possible activities in Bangkok. They seem very into their art and the other guests were very well-seasoned travellers, not flash-packers like us!! I think this place would be fine if you'd been travelling SE Asia for a couple of months but on a first night in Bangkok, it's a bit of shock to the system.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neitherheren0rthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#378 of 889 in Bangkok
392 reviews
Hide Bangkok Hostel
#126 of 1,344 in Bangkok
31 reviews
Mascot Hostel Bangkok
#100 of 1,344 in Bangkok
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Glur Bangkok Hostel
Glur Bangkok Hostel
#25 of 1,344 in Bangkok
974 reviews
Banglamphu
SiBamboo
SiBamboo
#589 of 1,344 in Bangkok
8 reviews
Hostel 24
#907 of 1,344 in Bangkok
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Phiman Riverview Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Phiman Riverview Guesthouse

Address: 123 Samsen Soi 5 Samsen Road | Banglumphu, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Phiman Water View)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #777 of 1,344 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $10 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your New Phiman Riverview Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing