We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel
Ranked #49 of 1,155 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reykjavík
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

My wife and stayed at the Niras Bankoc hostel for three nights on a rest stop in Bangkok. We were traveling throughout Southeast Asia and this had to be one of the best hostels/hotels that we stayed in, absolutely great.
The staff were superb, extremely helpful (found a great bus to Chiang Mai), just all-round wonderful.
There is about a 5-10 min walk to Khao San road, which I thought was fine. Compared to Khao San the surroundings of the hostel are a bit more "authentic".
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamBique, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.It's more meaningful than a big tip to all staffs.
We were very pleased to welcome you and highly appreciated to know that you had enjoyable stay with us.
Wish you good luck and thank you again for choosing our hostel as part of Your Bangkok memories.

Best regards,
Niras Bankoc family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    58
    10
    9
    0
See reviews for
8
52
55
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Philippines
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

My sister and I love to travel so we're always on the look out for good deals that give us value for our money. This July 2010, we decided to explore Phnom Penh but had to stay overnight in Bangkok. My sister surfed through TA and we discovered this beautiful hidden gem.

It is what it is and does not pretend to be anything but a boutique hotel and yet the room was surprisingly spacious with a beautiful ensuite bathroom. Do not bring heavy luggage though because the rooms are on the second floor and you'll have to manuever the staircase to get there! There's a small cafe that serves breakfast and pastries but the staff is so helpful with directions on where you can get really sumptuous Thai noodles --- turn left as you leave the hotel, go down the block and it's right across 7/11.

Will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Bangkok! Oh, and there's free high speed wireless internet !!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannebertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamBique, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review and choosing our hostel as your transit hotel.
The word " The best " means a lot to our staffs and encourages all of us to maintain the quality of service. Thank you for seeing our core values and depicting other travellers how our hostel is .
Hope to welcome you next time of Bangkok trip.
Best regards,
Niras Bankoc Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed in Bangkok for the second time, and didn't want to be in Silom again, but also not directly on Kao San, so we checked Niras.

Very tiny, we almost didn't find it, but the Thai around the hostel already recognized our questioning faces while we were walking down the road and tried to tell us where to go. Really nice, and we made it.

The building is old Bangkok style, super small, but well equipped with all needed facilities and super friendly stuff.

As we arrived early, we were offered to keep our luggage in the common room, and both of us nodded away asap... As our room was ready, the staff woke us up, and we entered our room. If you book online, and think that they are kidding: some rooms really do not have windows... Wasn't a big deal, haven't been sleeping for long anyways, but it is kinda strange.

Breakfast is great, and it is easy to walk to Golden Mountain or the Giant Swing. Also Kao San road is only 8 minutes to walk. Very convenient, you hang out there in the evenings, and just walk home to your quite and peaceful hostel...

As it is near the city center, and taxis or Tuk-Tuks are available everywhere, it is easy to discover the city.

Also to mention: there is a 7-eleven right next to the hostel, so you can easily buy what you need.

Would for sure stay at Niras again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars-Vegas2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamBique, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
As a small boutique hostel, we are really grateful that you took your valuable time to write the review in order that we will improve our service in the future.
Your review is the perfect description of our hostel and helps other travellers understand our hostel concept.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in Bangkok.
Best regards,
Niras Bankoc Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

It is quite an expensive place comparatively as it is possible to get a room for 2 people in a budget hotel for the same amount of money but Niras staff were great, they waited for us to check in after midnight, gave great tips for the water taxi, etc

The hostel is very clean, charming, has a good selection of books. Ideal place for a single female traveller to stay. Definitely recommended. They have a lovely cafe with good coffee and food there, nice showers and it is very central but quiet.

Much better than overcrowded noisy tourist streets.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamBique, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments.it's very kind of you to write us the review.
It's great to hear that you had wonderful time in Bangkok with us and enjoy our hospitality.
We really hope to serve you again in the future.
Best regards,
Niras Bankoc Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
screeny1
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

Strict, but best of the best (including everything and especially the staff). No need to say more.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screeny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Once Again Hostel
Once Again Hostel
#45 of 1,155 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Banglamphu
Chern Hostel
Chern Hostel
#23 of 1,155 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Banglamphu
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
#34 of 1,155 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Back Home Backpackers
Back Home Backpackers
#37 of 1,155 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Banglamphu
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
#21 of 1,155 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Banglamphu
The Oasis Hostel
The Oasis Hostel
#11 of 1,155 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel

Property: Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel
Address: 204 - 206 Mahachai Road | Sumranrat Phra-Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 1,155 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Genuine Local Experience (A perfect place for travelers who love culture) -The Country Winner of Hoscar Awards 2009 by Hostelworld-The World’s Best Boutique hostels 2009 by guardian magazine - To experience A Perfect Location The origin of the great city of Bangkok today is located 'Koh Rattanakosin' where Niras Bankoc is in the middle of which is close to many HISTORICAL and attraction places especially like Giant Swing and Golden Mountain. Other nearby places like Wat Po, The Grand Palace & Emerald Buddha, Democracy Monument and even Khaosand Road ... etc. you can travel JUST by WALKING! The hostel is located in peaceful neighborhood with several local food stalls and shophouses. The real escape from busy backpacker area and touristy places.- To experience A Unique Style Living in the old house which age is over 100 years. Until now, it has been declared as the cultural and conservation building. Feeling the charm of origin and experiencing the genuine local living way and homey atmosphere: Plus Lovely antique coffee shop offers premium gourmet coffee and beverages.- To experience A Warm Welcome We are not part of big chain hostelwith limited numbers of guests; we put more care in detail of all guests, consider everyone like a member in the house & help guests enjoy BKK even traveling alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niras Bankoc Cultural Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing