We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel
Ranked #46 of 1,245 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Hostel!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great location (it's actually across the street from what our Street Food tour guide said was the best pad-thai restaurant in the city!); Excellent staff (very friendly and helpful and made some excellent suggestions about things to do and see that we would not have thought about ourselves!); Nice, clean rooms and comfortable beds (for anyone who has traveled around Asia--you know just how extremely rare a comfortable bed is!!). The location was pretty good-- it's a nice place to walk around and explore and a short tuk-tuk ride from most of the things you'll want to see in Bangkok.

Room Tip: I would request a room on one of the upper floors of the hostel because it's much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sberinhout3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    62
    10
    9
    0
See reviews for
9
55
60
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Silom first and didn't care too much for the location, but found Niras on hostelworld and loved the location. Right next to the great swing and walking distance to the grand palace, khao San road, and ferry docks. The staff was also very helpful and made excellent coffee! My friend and I also really enjoyed the common room where we could watch movies (which they had an amazing selection of titles). The only thing that could have been better was that the beds were pretty creaky so that every movement that was made you could hear. The lockers, although very big, also made lots of noise too. But overall I loved my stay here!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank sicachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

having been to many hostels between 1000 and 1500 baht a night, niras is very basic, too basic for us.

beds are extremely hard, interior is ultrabasic (supposed to be old thai style) and shared toliet (combined with shower) was not cleaned in the 24 hours we were there.

the cafe downstairs is cute, though as tiny and fragile as the rest of the hostel (especially the wooden "walls").

definitely not good for comfort, otherwise quite unique for a day or two.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vir2l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamBankoc, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your comments. We are very disappointed that we haven't received your comments and sorry that all comments are from discontent of cancellation policy that we could refund you in case that you cancelled nights during your stay in the peak season.
However,We would like to clairfy each issue based on the fact as below :
1. For pricing of budget room around 1,000 baht , we would like to ensure that the price 's in line with other quality hostels in Bangkok.
2.For the bed, it's quality with average level of hardness,However, we respect your personal opinion.
3. For cleanliness , as the fact, we have qualified standard that we check at least 3 times a day for shared bathrooms including housekeeping at noon, afternoon shift at 2pm and security at night and early morning.
4.For wooden interior , it's our style of retro thai style combined with modern comfort, we do hope guests will appreciate and understand values of our culture and preserved 100 year olds property.
Thank you for your kind understanding.
Best regards, Niras Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Staff are the best! Beds, Bathrooms, Coffee and the environment are all awesome. Would definitely come again.

I checked out at noon and Had to wait until 10pm for my bus. The staff have been so helpful and friendly. I was able to chill out at the hostel even after checking out with no problem at all. A great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aiden M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamBankoc, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you very much for your kind contribution. It's very encouraging to our team for your review .We 're glad you did enjoy our friendly service and hospitality. Hope to welcome you next time in Bangkok.Thank you again for sharing your experience with our hostel here.
Best regards,
Niras Bankoc team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

After the hostel that I has originally booked to to stay at had made a booking error, on arrival they gave me the option to either stay at the substandard alternative that they were offering or find somewhere new to stay myself. So I looked myself and booked this hostel.
I am so happy I stayed here, the hostel is comfortable, charming and a pleasure to stay in. The staff are so welcoming and helpful with any information, I could have stayed here for a week, unfortunately I only had two nights in Bangkok.
Luckily Niras is also a pleasant little coffee shop offering great breakfast and coffee. The hostel is located in a historic part of town so it's great for sightseeing and also not far from the centre of the tourist activity of Koh San road.
Thanks for the great hospitality!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank JMirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamBankoc, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,
First of all , thank you for your last stay and choosing our hostel in the last minute .We were very glad you found our small hostel safe and pleasant .It's great opportunity to help you as solo traveler after having booking trouble from the other accomodation. It's very kind of you to leave us the impressive review. We do hope to welcome you next time !
Best regards,
Niras Bankoc team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I came to visit Bangkok with 4 of my friends and we booked our first night at Niras so we could get our bearings and decide where we wanted to stay the rest of the trip. We ended up staying at Niras for 4 nights because we enjoyed it so much! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They made the effort to call each of us by name and the place really feels like home as opposed to some crummy hostel. The location is good, with one of the best noodle places right across the street, and a 15 minute walk from Khao San Road, etc. The rooms are nice with AC, blankets, towels, big lockers, reading light, etc. If you have any questions at all about recommendations for touring anywhere in Thailand, just ask the staff. One of the girls that worked there sat down with us for at least 30 minutes and gave us a huge list of things we should do/see, how to get there, approximate cost, everything! She even called some companies for us to ask them questions in Thai. We ended up doing a lot of the things she recommended for the rest of our trip and had an awesome time. Definitely stay at Niras!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

About a 15-20 minute walk from Khao San but is nicely located on a street with a renowned pad thai restaurant. Really nice friendly and helpful staff. Good wifi and could also borrow a laptop which was handy. The rooms are great, own light and power socker and own spacious locker. All clean and practical but had a lovely 'homely' decor and atmosphere. Very comfortable here and away from noisy roads. Good cafe too!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank liverpool2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Once Again Hostel
Once Again Hostel
#38 of 1,245 in Bangkok
124 reviews
Banglamphu
Here Hostel
Here Hostel
#21 of 1,245 in Bangkok
213 reviews
Banglamphu
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
#30 of 1,245 in Bangkok
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Chern Hostel
Chern Hostel
#22 of 1,245 in Bangkok
533 reviews
ONEDAY | Pause and Forward
#32 of 1,245 in Bangkok
222 reviews
Siamaze Hostel
#4 of 1,245 in Bangkok
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel

Property: Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel
Address: 204 - 206 Mahachai Road | Sumranrat Phra-Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,245 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Genuine Local Experience (A perfect place for travelers who love culture) -The Country Winner of Hoscar Awards 2009 by Hostelworld-The World’s Best Boutique hostels 2009 by guardian magazine - To experience A Perfect Location The origin of the great city of Bangkok today is located 'Koh Rattanakosin' where Niras Bankoc is in the middle of which is close to many HISTORICAL and attraction places especially like Giant Swing and Golden Mountain. Other nearby places like Wat Po, The Grand Palace & Emerald Buddha, Democracy Monument and even Khaosand Road ... etc. you can travel JUST by WALKING! The hostel is located in peaceful neighborhood with several local food stalls and shophouses. The real escape from busy backpacker area and touristy places.- To experience A Unique Style Living in the old house which age is over 100 years. Until now, it has been declared as the cultural and conservation building. Feeling the charm of origin and experiencing the genuine local living way and homey atmosphere: Plus Lovely antique coffee shop offers premium gourmet coffee and beverages.- To experience A Warm Welcome We are not part of big chain hostelwith limited numbers of guests; we put more care in detail of all guests, consider everyone like a member in the house & help guests enjoy BKK even traveling alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niras Bankoc Cultural Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing