We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel
Ranked #43 of 1,189 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was my last stop on a three-month adventure, and I adored it. The rooms are spacious and clean, the staff are really lovely and very helpful, and there's a great, relaxed vibe - a world away from the islands and the parties of Khao San.

The cafe downstairs has a really nice vibe, and you tend to get an interesting mix of people - highly recommended if you want to chill out, but not the best place from which to hit the social side of Bangkok.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmaltby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamBankoc, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hostel as the last stop and considering us as the good place for relaxation and chill out.
Your words means a lot to us as the little hostel and nothing more important than your review from true experience.
We were glad to welcome you and accomodate you in Bangkok and hope to welcome you next time.
Happy travels !
Niras Bankoc team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    61
    10
    9
    0
See reviews for
8
54
58
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had to stay a last day in Bangkok before my girlfriend had to catch her flight and we wanted a memorable but quiet place to spend a few hours, check out a few last minute attractions and head out to the airport in good time. This was our second or third choice since the first two were booked out and I am really not happy we chose this one.
Getting here from Khao San was a chore - you need a taxi since this is not near any skytrain or public transportation routes. You need to give your driver a map and even then it was hard to find. Really not worth the hassle unless you have a good few days and don't mind getting to know the neighborhood.
This is an old style vintage property - the doors are wooden and creaky, and walking in with your luggage is a difficult first encounter. The 'lobby' is crammed with a big reception that doubles as a restaurant and coffee joint. We had found a double room available on hostel world and decided to go directly to the hotel instead of going through the signup and registration process. Upon arriving, we were told no rooms were available. We were like, um, said something else on the internet 10 mins ago - upon which, the lady went, 'Ohh sorry, one room is available.' This slightly unsettled one went back to making coffee while the other one had to try very very hard to guide us through the sign up process - asking for our passports no less than 3 times for photocopies, taking payments, writing receipts, giving us forms to sign. Being done with all of it, we were very happy to finally be able to check into our rooms, when we were told no checkins allowed till 2PM. I requested an early check in because we had to get to the airport soon and she was nice enough to let us in early - she was nice enough, we thanked her and unloaded ourselves into the room.
The room was quaint and had well thought out touches but the a/c was a nightmare, turning off every couple of minutes as soon as the temperature had reached a set point. While I like being reminded to be mindful of energy consumption, having it imposed in such a brazen manner was definitely not a welcome touch.
Not long enough after we had checked in, the two girls came knocking on our door saying, they had made a mistake, someone else had booked the room online 2 mins before we did, and we had to move out!! We were like, WOW, what a wonderful place we have found ourselves in! Upon asking to speak to the manager, he said we shouldn't complain because they did us a favor by letting us in early! Upon being told that is highly unsettling for us and we would like to write about this experience, we were refunded our money and given the option to move into the dorms for 1 night free of charge. After all the goodwill, we were literally being pushed into a crammed dorm room against our will!
Long story short, we cleared the room in a few hours and I moved my stuff to the dorms. The dorm rooms are dark, hot (same issue with a/cs where pressing all the switches on the available remote doesn't do a thing) and the beds creaky to the point where it's hard to sleep! The showers are a pittance and I found myself asking, what cruel twist in fate had made me end up there.
It's a very very quiet hostel as well, with only the staff moving back and forth through its tiny halls - not a word, not a soul! The staff attitudes get hostile if you insist long enough and many are no less than grumpy at best.
Beware and beware unless this is the only kind of experience you are looking for!

Room Tip: Dorm rooms don't even come with breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborshi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamBankoc, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear reviewer,

This is the first time we strangely received the review from a person who didn't pay us anything while staying ..the review is based on all complimentary a reviewer received from us.

Unfortunately , it's pity that our good will and great effort as the highly responsible property failed to satisfy a person who just walked in without reservation while the rooms were fully booked ,

However,we willingly decided to help,compensate and exclusively accommodate the reviewer everything as request including

1.free two rooms :private ensuite room from 10 am -2pm( before arrival and check -in of the other guest)
& dorm room in night time

2. Using all hostel facilities for free

3.Early check in on arrival before midday

4. Late check out around 6 pm

However , we regret that we could not offer the reviewer free breakfast n coffee as request

With all free offers ,first we positively hoped that the reviewer would leave us with happiness and impression while spending two days in our hostel for free ( as reference we also asked the reviewer verified and signed that the fact that he stayed with us without payment for any cases)

In contrast ,as opinion of the reviewer ,regarding all negative comments for service and facilities which the reviewer used for free , all seemed underrated,we are really not sure the purpose of the review .If the condition of the hostel and room were not impressive as mentioned , as staying for free and with no condition to pay ,it's simply easy to decide and find alternatives instead of continuing spend the night for free with our property.

We do hope that this honest response will be the other true reflection to show the clear picture of the situation and thank you for your kind understanding .

Best regards,

Niras Bankoc team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My overall rating for this property could have been "Very good" if it wouldn't have been for the key speech: "You have to pay now" every single time we were at the reception. You have to pay upfront for every little thing and this really pissed me off. When you're in a boutique hotel business with 99% of guest being foreigners, I really don't think that having your guests not paying for services is a concern. It's especially this reason that I would not go back to this place.

The decorations are fine, and I like the idea of a vintage place but there's much to improve before it is reasonable decorated.

The location is good, close to many places and still in a quiet area. I think this is the best part of the hotel.

The rooms are not cheap at all - around 1600 BH/double room/ night - I even think it is a bit expensive. Not to mention the price you pay for a bed in the dorms - 400 BH and breakfast is not included. To me, this is not a good deal at all.

My overall feeling is that this place could have been much much better and I was expecting much better ambiance, and much better room's condition based on the reviews I have red before booking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raluca_abuletz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamBankoc, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Valued guest,
First of all, we thank you for your comments regarding our decor and location.
However, we would like to clarify each points ( as owner and one of receptionist team who met and serve both of you in person and we kindly explained the fact as below )

1. Regarding " You have to pay now" , as i remembered, it's true that one of our staffs replied you " yes, you have to pay now " in gentle tone after your question" Do i have to pay now ?" .
As we are not native speaker , with no negative intention& attitude , we are sorry to say that these words irritated you.
Because as our hostel policy, we kindly ask guests considerately cooperate to pay room on arrival and most of them understand the rules, however, some cases, we need to repeat to some guests who didn't pay after using service or others like beverage & food .It's common that it's staff's role to finalize all payments by the end of their shift .

2. As you positively considered that our hostel is "boutique hotel " , we thank you for that , but we are sorry that if your high perception misleaded you to 4-5 star hotel standard in term of facilities and ambience .
We prefer to be a humble & friendly small hostel with unique style and quality to welcome travellers who looking good budget place not luxury .Regarding the condition of the room ,we ensure that it's freshly new after it's just renovated for only 15 days before you checked in.
For the price of dorm 400 baht and 1,400 baht for double ensuite as the rate you paid , we also ensure that the pricing is line with other top rated hostels in Bangkok .

Thank you for your kind understanding ,
Niras Bankoc team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The staff helps you with everything you need! I stayed in shared room, its great, good and large bed with light and plug to recharge yours devices. Stays in a area close to some temples, theres is a 7-eleven just around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jair b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamBankoc, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you very much for your kind contribution .It's really important and meaningful to our small property .Thank you for the kind review of our service , dormitory room and old city location .Hope to welcome you next in Bangkok.

Best regards,
Niras Bankoc Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very welcoming and friendly hostel with some great staff! Rooms are very simple, but clean and had our bed made daily. It was cheap, central and I would recommend! Breakfast was nice and the coffee was superb. The staff even had little printed out pieces of paper with the thai translation of certain areas.. just simply hand to the taxi and you are sorted! No language barrier!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachellovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamBankoc, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,
For us, your review is meaningful because it's from the true traveller who has been so many places .Thank you for little details of our hostel you described. It's our pleasure to know you had great time with us and hope to see both of you again next time.
Best regards,
Niras Bankoc team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in this hostel on Christmas Day and it was really great. Known as place for international travelers, its services was so attentive, however.
We were welcomed by staff with great attitude, welcome drink and luggage service to the room.
Rooms were really nice decorated, clean and comfortable. We did love the bed that helped us to sleep well.
We visited lots of attraction in city, hang around in bar at night. If you have time, stay in this hostel. It is a must to do

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamBankoc, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your last stay in Christmas time and choosing our hostel to celebrate the festive season.The word " a must" is really encouraging and we are pleased to welcome all guests around the world and help them to enjoy our city as much as possible.

Thank you again for the review and sharing the true experience .
Best regards,
Niras Bankoc team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Friendly and accomodating staff. Clean, large rooms. Very comfortable. Only a short walk to Khao San Road, terrific area to stay in Bangkok. Quiet hostel which removes you from the hustle and bustle nearby

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Caitlin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Once Again Hostel
Once Again Hostel
#35 of 1,189 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Banglamphu
Chern Hostel
Chern Hostel
#22 of 1,189 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Banglamphu
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
#32 of 1,189 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Back Home Backpackers
Back Home Backpackers
#52 of 1,189 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Banglamphu
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
#18 of 1,189 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Banglamphu
The Oasis Hostel
The Oasis Hostel
#21 of 1,189 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel

Property: Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel
Address: 204 - 206 Mahachai Road | Sumranrat Phra-Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 1,189 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Genuine Local Experience (A perfect place for travelers who love culture) -The Country Winner of Hoscar Awards 2009 by Hostelworld-The World’s Best Boutique hostels 2009 by guardian magazine - To experience A Perfect Location The origin of the great city of Bangkok today is located 'Koh Rattanakosin' where Niras Bankoc is in the middle of which is close to many HISTORICAL and attraction places especially like Giant Swing and Golden Mountain. Other nearby places like Wat Po, The Grand Palace & Emerald Buddha, Democracy Monument and even Khaosand Road ... etc. you can travel JUST by WALKING! The hostel is located in peaceful neighborhood with several local food stalls and shophouses. The real escape from busy backpacker area and touristy places.- To experience A Unique Style Living in the old house which age is over 100 years. Until now, it has been declared as the cultural and conservation building. Feeling the charm of origin and experiencing the genuine local living way and homey atmosphere: Plus Lovely antique coffee shop offers premium gourmet coffee and beverages.- To experience A Warm Welcome We are not part of big chain hostelwith limited numbers of guests; we put more care in detail of all guests, consider everyone like a member in the house & help guests enjoy BKK even traveling alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niras Bankoc Cultural Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing