We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent location for those going to a concert at Rajamangala Stadium”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Patra Suvarnabhumi
Ranked #693 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decent location for those going to a concert at Rajamangala Stadium”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I made a last-minute booking at this hotel two nights before I left for Bangkok for a K-pop concert held at Rajamangala Stadium last April (2012).

A friend and I were supposed to bunk in at a Thai friend's place. But after considering how difficult it may be to get a taxi back to her place, I made the last-minute booking via Agoda.

The room and bathroom reminded me a lot of the one I stayed in Taiping (Perak, Malaysia). Please search for my review on that for further details.

What I liked about it:
1. It was compact yet comfortable. The queen bed can fit two females around 5 feet 5 and UK size 12/14 comfortably :P
2. Flat screen tv
3. Hot shower -- very important for pre- and post-concert
4. Cool sensor-based elevator. You just tap your room key card to the sensor and press the floor you're going to.
5. Friendly, helpful staff
6. Very fast taxi service to get to anywhere you want. The hotel will call one for you and the cab driver is there within 5 minutes.

What I didn't love:
1. No free wifi
2. Limited breakfast options, especially for Muslims and vegetarians.
3. Not close enough to the stadium :P
4. My room was not ready when I reached the hotel at about 3pm. The housekeeping staff were still working on it. But they allowed me and my friend to settle in while they worked. It took them about 5 minutes to finish, though.

You should know by now that this hotel is nowhere near Bangkok city centre. But it's a decent choice for those attending concerts/football matches at the Rajamangala Stadium.

Be PREPARED to walk on your way back after the concert or match. It will take you about 20 to 30 minutes because it is about 2.5km away from the concert. It's quite safe to walk because many people do walk back from the concert. You will see some trying their luck at hailing a cab along the way.

The hotel does provide a calling card with a map and instructions written in Thai. If you are not sure where you are going, best to stop at a 7-11 -- you will see a few on the way back. We found English speaking staff there who assured us that we're still 10 mins away. But if we had walked straight until the end of the road, we would've found the hotel on our own. We were just impatient as our feet were hurting more from standing for some 5 hours then walking the 2.5km :p

Verdict:

I gave it an average because there were no "good" options. But the hotel is not bad. It's pretty decent and value for money.
Stay here if the hotels nearer (within 5 to 10 minutes walk) to the stadium are all fully-booked.
But if you're desperate like we were, pack good walking shoes and extra doses of patience in your luggage.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suziemclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
6
9
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

I lived here for seven months. It was very cheap, the staff were excellent, it was very clean and the local community are very friendly. I agree it's a bit far from many of the tourist attractions but that was one of the other reasons I liked it so much. It's quite close to Suvarnabhumi, which can be useful and the street food in the area is very good and very cheap.

As long as you don't mind being a couple of hundred Bhat taxi ride from the city, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tim555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

We stayed here at the end of our month long thailand trip, while the hotel itself is great as the rest of the reviews state the location is its killer. we are 20 yr olds going to party and it was a struggle getting home or getting to anything closer to the "city" or attractions. though you get what you paid for.

The staff were amazing to us they recommended different clubs and places to visit rather than just the normal tourist attractions and as a result we discovered one of the most incredible club scenes we had ever seen. the staff struggle to understand english and yes we once ordered water to the room and recieved maps, though laughing this off the concierge ran off to get 2 bottles incredibly quickly.

this hotel was great its being renovated right now but looks great, the trouble finding the place was a problem too but the hotel obviously has worked this out and made (business card size) instructions to give to taxi drivers and after about 5 minutes of looking at it they usually know where to go.

all in all i strongly recommend this place if you don't mind staying out of the city and paying about 100baht to get to the city and back, we didn't and thoroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjhanghai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

If you simply want a cheap place to stay within 20 minutes of the airport, Patra Place will be a good choice. The people there are incredibly nice and will be eager to show their interest in you as long as you are visible. Once in your room, you no longer exist. Your room might be cleaned or it might not. Telephone requests for anything other than wake-up calls do not produce action. If you really need something, you must go to the reception desk, write it down for them and wave your arms around to show you really want it. Then it will happen. The issue here is not that they are unwilling, its only that they really don't understand spoken English over the phone. The food in the restaurant is superb however and the breakfast buffet is world-class. The rooms are clean, and, if you want your room cleaned it may required a trip to the reception desk. Finally if you love the sound of bad Karaoke singing wafting into your room from the ground floor restaurant until 1am, this is the place for you. All in all, I found Patra Place charming and terrific value for money. The room was spacious and clean, there was a little kitchen with microwave and the wireless signal was strong and consistent.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phenry999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

This hotel is in the Ramkhamhaeng area, close to the airport but a bit far from the main tourist attractions in Bangkok (i.e. Grand Palace, Wat Po, Wat Phra Kaew, etc..) . It is also not far from the airport. I believe the hotel is owned by the same company that owns the much nicer Grand Diamond Suites hotel in Pratunam, so the hotel is clean and well-managed, and the staff well-trained and polite. I was fortunate to be upgraded to the larger suite, which was very roomy and featured a kitchen and dining area (although I didn't use these). The breakfast buffet was good for a hotel in this price range. The hotel is a very long walk or short taxi to the main road where you will find the large shopping center Mall Ramkhamhaeng. This area caters primarily to Thai people, but there are some Western-style restaurants (though mostly fast food like McDonald's and KFC).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.4 mi away
The Seasons Bangkok Huamark
The Seasons Bangkok Huamark
#708 of 852 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dynasty Hotel
The Dynasty Hotel
#543 of 852 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Xtreme Hotel
The Xtreme Hotel
#798 of 852 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
MetroPoint Bangkok Hotel
MetroPoint Bangkok Hotel
#518 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Al Meroz Hotel
Al Meroz Hotel
#282 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Platinum Suite
The Platinum Suite
#454 of 852 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patra Suvarnabhumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patra Suvarnabhumi

Property: The Patra Suvarnabhumi
Address: 27, Soi 31, Rama 9 Road, Bangkok 10240, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #693 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Patra Suvarnabhumi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patra (Hotel near Suvarnabhumi Airport) is conveniently situated near a sky train station with links to both Suvarnabhumi International Airport and center of Bangkok with easy access to shopping venues and tourist attractions. The Patra offers impressive in-room facilities with finest interior décor carefully-selected for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Patra Suvarnabhumi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patra Place Rama 9 Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing