We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Royal and no Garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
King Royal Garden Inn
Ranked #430 of 1,213 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Not Royal and no Garden”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The old "Hotel" is next to the Skytrain Station on Sathorn but nothing else in this area. and nothing else nice could be said about it, maybe the price of around $ 30,- but it sure is not a place for a longer stay unless you feel comfortable in cheap hotels despite that we had a "Deluxe" Room.
Has very large rooms with very old furniture a very hard mattress, has a small fridge and large TV. good Aircon with noisy fan.and clean rooms kept clean by the maids who are the only friendly people here. The Breakfast was the most primitive I have run across in Thailand.
Watermelon and Pineapple slices, one kind of Cereal, "Orange Water", "Soup Water", hot water and packages of Instant Coffee, slices of bread and one kind of jam, also get one Egg "any style" and 1 1/2 Sausages cut into pieces. An extra Egg cost 10 Bath, 15 minutes Internet 15 Bath. The Oversize unfriendly looking woman with oversize glasses sits all day behind the desk and charged me 20 Bath for a 10 second Phone call.
On the street in front of the hotel are many " fast food " places.
On the right side is a beautiful old building with a beautiful and elegant Thai restaurant inside, the "Blue Elefant" going back to 1957. An elaborate meal could cost you around 1200,- Bath.

Room Tip: Who knows, I do not know
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erniep747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    117
    96
    26
    19
See reviews for
37
59
61
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

It is third time I am staying here and will continue to stay here every time I am in Bangkok, I was very happy when the staff remembered me and welcomed me with their beautiful smile just can't forget how special I felt!

As always everything was very well organized, clean and well stocked supplies in the washroom and neatly arranged bed what else can I ask for?

Only concern during this visit is WIFI, as it was kind of acting weird and kept disconnecting quite a lot and sometimes there was no network.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raag01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This place is right next to Surasak BTS, and at close walking distance to the Myanmar Embassy in Bangkok which is handy for those applying for a Myanmar visa (which was the reason I chose this hotel; not sure why they call it Specialty Lodging on TA by the way; it is a hotel even though they offer long stay options too).

As others have commented the rooms are huge, at least double the size of normal mid-range hotel rooms. And it is an older hotel which is showing its age for example in the bathroom and the paint in the room and the furniture etc. which I would estimate is perhaps 1980's style and may not have been changed much since then.

However that also means the hotel is affordable which is a good thing. It has the appeal of a budget hotel, and its many pros, apart from the reasonable rates, include: very friendly staff (reception, breakfast restaurants as well as the maids were unfailingly smiling, friendly and helpful); completeness of the room: large firm bed with crisp sheets, a table with coffee/tea making facilities; a small desk; free wifi (9 different access points); large cupboard to hang clothes (with electronic safe inside); suitcase stand; two comfy chairs; large old-style TV (did not use so don't know what channels); DVD player with USB port; 8 different lights in the room itself (excluding bathroom); 3 mirrors in the room; a small beer fridge; a laundry basket (which you can then take to the coin operated washing/drying machines on the 5th floor, available 24 hrs); a bathroom with hot water shower over bathtub; and last but not least swimming pool, jacuzzi and gym on the 9th floor (6am-10pm). The aircon in my room was set to 23 degrees and appeared to stay close to that, whilst outside temp was around 33 degrees; but I don't think it would go much cooler than that (however 23 degrees should be OK anyway).

There is a Family Mart (convenience store similar to seven-eleven) right outside the hotel, and the breakfast restaurant in the hotel serves breakfast between 7-10am. Its a very basic breakfast (toast with butter and jam, tea or coffee, and either fried egg, omelet or scrambled is about it. But it came with the room so I it was convenient. For good meals take the BTS to National Stadium (end station) and head to the 5th floor of the Tokyu store in the MBK Building that is attached to the BTS station. There's a great food court there, called 5th Avenue (not cheap but quality foods from Thai to Greek and Middle-Eastern to Italian etc).

The area around the hotel has various street food vendors who start setting up their tables and frying pans etc. between 8-9am or before.

There's plenty of taxi's, tuktuks and motorbike-taxis passing by and waiting outside the hotel at all times which in addition to the availability of the BTS means there's always plenty of transport available.

Overall I would recommend this hotel highly within its class: a very good budget hotel. If I need to stay in the area again I will be back here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sergio2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Located right in front of the Surasak BTS station the King Royal Garden Inn is a great hotel for people looking for common ammenities and comforts. The hotel shows signs of aging and isn't the prettiest inside, but the rooms are absolutely HUGE! Seriously, you could almost land a plane inside. There is WiFi on every floor and self serve washing mashines and a dryer for laundry purposes on the 5th floor. The roof top has a pool and jacuzzi that offers relief from the Bangkok heat. Our room came with breakfast....simple, but filling. There is a food court type set up just outside of the hotel with great phad thai for dirt cheap, as well as a convenience store next door for beer, snacks, soda, etc. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. There is a spa on sight, but we didn't book anything there.

Room Tip: Huge rooms, wifi on every floor, laundry facilities are self serve, pool, on BTS line (Surasak stati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vitadelizioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days in time of Songkran Festival 2012 dated April 12 to 15, 2012. I can recommend this to those on budget travelers. The room is big, there is pool, gym, air conditioning and elevator. The staff are very helpful. The breakfast is good to fill up your tummy's

Breakfast start at 7:00 AM and I have a tour pick-up at around 7:00AM as well. I ask the management if they provide earlier than 7:00 AM for me to have my breakfast and they are very accommodating. You just need to advice them in advance

Family mart is also available within the building premises, laundry services and even some spa.
Very accessible to central area coz BTS surasak station is in front of this hotel :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatCastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I had a couple of friends that recommended this hotel as an above average hotel and worth the money. Well I got a below average room. The sheets were clean but the bed looked so run down. The room was big, but bland, really nothing to write home about as there was really no pictures hanging on the wall or anything to brighten up the room! Honestly, felt a bit like staying in a prison. The Air conditioner just worked! The amenities that were supplied were just OK. Again pretty average. The Bathroom was clean and tidy. Although it looked more appealing then the bedroom. I saw the other travellers photos of their rooms on TA whilst writing this review and believe me! They got the best ones and I must of got the bad ones. If I had what they had, I'm sure this review would of been a different one. The positive thing about this Hotel was it was right next to the BTS Sky Train which made it convenient to get around. Also outside is a sort of 7/11 style convenience store if you wanted anything. On the main road there were also street food stalls available.
There was free internet, but it was poorly slow.

Room Tip: Don't get the first room to the left when you exit the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wooey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed 2 nights because we needed to be close to the Myanmar Embassy (5 min walk away) for our visas.

Good: Large rooms. Decent size bathroom. Relatively clean. Nice and friendly staff.

Bad: Saw 2 cockroaches in the breakfast area (on 2 different days). The whole place smells dank, like years of accumulated cigarette smoke. The pool and the rest of the hotel could use a facelift. The A/C in our room died on the first night but staff fixed it. Location is isolated, but close to skytrain station so you can go to a more exciting place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vancity8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
#314 of 863 in Bangkok
177 reviews
Sathorn
Astera Sathorn
Astera Sathorn
#306 of 863 in Bangkok
739 reviews
Silom
Mode Sathorn Hotel
Mode Sathorn Hotel
#138 of 863 in Bangkok
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
The Grand Sathorn
The Grand Sathorn
#197 of 863 in Bangkok
298 reviews
Sathorn
The Step Sathon
The Step Sathon
#200 of 1,213 in Bangkok
47 reviews
Sathorn
Bangkok Hub
Bangkok Hub
#122 of 1,213 in Bangkok
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Royal Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Royal Garden Inn

Property: King Royal Garden Inn
Address: 245 South Sathorn Road | Yannawa, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #430 of 1,213 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King Royal Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Royal Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Royal Garden Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing