We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go for the pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Ranked #81 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland Park, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Don't go for the pool”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great hotel with a great staff. I took off a star because wifi is outragously expensive to have in your room, when it costs the hotel nothing to have free in your room. Motel 6 gives you free wifi, heck most any hotel now gives you free wifi. The spa is a definate 5 star. I wanted a pool vacation and was deeply disapointed. Although one of the most beautiful pools I've seen, because of the design and placement of the pool, it is ice water and essentialy unusable. I have never experienced a pool so cold when the air temp was consistantly in the high 80's and mid 90's. To sit on the lounge chairs and tan was all you could do, and also laugh as you watched people attempt to stick a foot in the pool water, and see there reaction to the ice water. Was always good for a chuckle. Also, food was also 5 star, but way, way overpriced, especially the rooftop resturant., about 3 times what it should be in my opinion.

Room Tip: all rooms are awesome and well above average
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,759
    1,118
    288
    84
    47
See reviews for
934
1,121
204
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Anantara. The best thing about this hotel, as other reviewers have said, is the staff! Very friendly and hospitable throughout, especially at the ground-floor coffee bar :-)

However on the first night of our 8 day stay, our shower broke and wouldn't turn off. Although a maintenance man attended to the problem quickly, it took him quite a bit of time to fix the tap which had clearly been patched from a previous incident. We couldn't use our shower for a few hours - obviously not ideal after our long flights!

The following night our toilet got blocked (from nothing abnormal!) which was again a maintenance call.

The breakfast buffet isn't on the scale you'll find at other hotels, but the egg station was great and relatively fast.

The gym is well equipped and not busy. The pool area was our biggest disappointment however…no where near enough loungers, and the pool only catches a few hours of morning sun :-(

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank review_h0tel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naowarat A, General Manager at Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear review_h0tel,

Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay with us and TripAdvisor's communityand for choosing Anantara Bangkok Sathorn for your recent holiday.

We are happy to read that overall you enjoy your stay here and you found staff is one of the great assets for us. Your positive comment has been shared amongst the team and we commit that we will continue providing great service for all guests.

Please accept my apology in some area of the maintenance work that should have carefully checked before, we will ensure to improve in this area.

Thank you once again and we hope to have a chance to welcome you back to Anantara Bangkok Sathorn again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Naowarat Arunkong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The rooms were great, the Wifi was free, and the staff were polite, courteous and helpful.

It is a bit out of the way, but the closest train station is Chong Nonsi BTS which is about a 7 minute walk and lets you get to the main shopping centers (MBK Center/Siam easily).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Imagine the best place to stay in Bangkok, I know that you have Anantara Sathorn in your mind!
Spacious and clean room with beautiful and well positioned furniture, perfect shower, tv and room service.

Breakfast complete with too many options as I can imagine.

Excellent staff!!!

The sky bar is stunning with an amazing view of Bangkok city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandro_Neves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a one bedroom suite. The room was modern, spacious, clean and comfortable. The included breakfast was good which served everything from east to west. Walking distance to the sky train. The bar at the top is also a nice place to relax after a long day.


However, there's not too much around the area to walk to, unless you catch a taxi, tuk tuk or the sky train - all really inexpensive.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 92Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

For our first trip to Southeast Asia, I wanted a more luxurious hotel to land in after a long trip: Anantara Bangkok Sathorn was perfect. We spent three nights there in a two-bedroom suite. We got in around 1 am the first night to a warm welcome; the desk clerk was able to assist us in making sure our one lost bag made it back to us promptly the next day. Headed up to our lovely suite and ordered room-service congee as a snack and had a Singha from the minibar, and had a lovely sleep. The hotel is walking distance from the BTS (Skytrain) as well as the BRT (bus) stations, and we had no problem getting around at all. The pool area was lovely, and the breakfast in the morning was fantastic: everything anyone from any culture could want (Western eggs and cereals, breads, congee, noodle soups, fruit, fried and plain rice, waffles, pancakes, you name it). Not the most inexpensive place, but good deals are to be found on Agoda.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank cbrtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I arrived at 3:30am after a long flight and was welcomed by smile of the porter and the reception lady. They were very efficient and promptly organised my check in and I was escorted to my room. As a GHA platinum, I was upgraded to 1 bedroom suite which came with free internet. The unit was amazing and impressive. I found the staff polite, courteous and helpful. The shuttle was regular and it was definitely a pleasant stay and greatly value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paymaan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#101 of 858 in Bangkok
4,265 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#89 of 858 in Bangkok
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel

Property: Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Address: 36 Narathiwart-Ratchanakarin Road | Yannawa, Bangkok 10120, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Sathorn)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#73 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#127 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Bangkok's business district, moments from the city's dining and shopping hubs, Anantara Bangkok Sathorn hotel provides the perfect urban sanctuary for both leisure and business travellers. Unwind in the seclusion of the hotel's beautiful surroundings. Explore the city's most vibrant, traditional and contemporary areas. Replenish mind and body with a host of premier services and facilities. Anantara Bangkok Sathorn's rooms and suites make the most of this fantastic location with incredible panoramic views across the downtown city. From the beautiful studios to the spacious two bedroom suites, every room is finished to the highest standard, with crisp contemporary furniture that blends stylish city living with unique Anantara details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Bangkok Sathorn Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing