We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very spacious 2-bedroom apartment...but far from BTS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Ranked #77 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very spacious 2-bedroom apartment...but far from BTS”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My family of 5 stayed 3 nights in the 2 bedroom apartment on the 7th floor during the Chinese new year holiday period. The 121 sqm apartment consists of 2 separate bedrooms, 1 with attached bathroom, a huge king bed and flat-screen TV. The other room is smaller with 2 separate beds, and bathroom just outside the door. There is also a balcony (which is perfect for us to dry our clothes) overlooking the pool area , a living room with sofa which can sleep another person comfortably and another flat-screen TV. Overall the apartment is clean and comfortable. Though there is a wash basin and dining table as well which allows you to sit around to enjoy a meal, there are no cutlery (bowls, plates, forks etc) in the kitchen drawers. They were delivered promptly to our room when we called to ask for them.
The daily buffet breakfast offers a good selection of breakfast choices in both Western and Thai-Asian styles. My parents enjoyed the hot food such as fried rice, miso soup, porridge, stir fry vegetables etc the most. We also did try some of the food (pasta, phad thai, tom yam goong) ordered through room service on our first night but they are just so-so.
The only not so good comment I have about this hotel is the location. It's about 20 minutes walk to the nearest BTS, and not all taxis are willing to ferry you from the city back to the hotel, especially during peak hours when the roads are jammed with traffic. To be honest, the walk back from the BTS to the hotel at night when there is no sun is alright, but it can be quite tiring if it's during the day when the sun is scorching.
Overall it's a pretty decent value-for-money hotel (we had a good discount from agoda) with huge, clean room great for families or group of friends. It will be perfect if it's closer to the BTS station.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xiao22huang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie-RM, Manager at Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer:

Thank you for taking time to share with Trip Advisors’ readers your experience about our rooms and our International Buffet Breakfast selection.

We hope to welcome you back again soon,

Kind regards

Sylvie Zotoff
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,827
    1,148
    297
    90
    49
See reviews for
999
1,140
208
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Staying in a suite on the 23rd floor - great views, great large rooms. This hotel is a maximum 10 minutes walk to the sky train ( unfortunately with terrible traffic alongside - but Bangkok is one great big traffic jam). The hotel offers a free shuttle tuk tuk to the sky train statin but it an take 40 minutes in the traffic! The sky train is so efficient and cheap - takes you 2 stops to Sathan Taksin pier to catch river boats - great way to get about Bangkok. Breakfast is very good, the hotel has a lovely pool to cool off in (too tired to try the gym but it looks great). Staff are very happy and helpful. We are so pleased to have such a calm and welcoming base to come back to each day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeatonSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Anantara Bangkok Sathorn was an amazing hotel! Great buffet breakfast with tons of options! Great roof top bar and nice restaurant with amazing views! The hotel staff was extremely nice and helpful. Beautiful pool and the hotel rooms were great too! The only down fall was not being walking distance to shopping or sight seeing but it's a short taxi ride away from anything and the metro station is pretty close and easy to use.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie-RM, Manager at Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer:

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with Trip advisors' readers.

So glad to read that you enjoyed our facilities and especially our dining and cocktail venues on the 37th floor.

We look forward to welcoming you back once your travels bring you back to our vibrant city!

Kind regards,

Sylvie Zotoff
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and we didn't really have any major complaints. I'm not sure it is five star as its looking a bit worn in places but other than that, it was good value for money. The room was very large but I believe that we were given an upgrade to a club room. The breakfast was okay, they did a nice omelette and coffee. The gym and spa facilities were very good though, the gym much bigger than your standard hotel gym.
We did find that we had to wait a while for drinks during happy hour and once they finally took our order, the happy hour had finished.
Overall though, I would have no problem staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

2 bedroom apto for the 3 of us was perfect, a little walk to sky train (20min +-), downstairs breakfast average, upstairs lounge is the way to go. Little more expensive, but nice view, good happy hour and breakfast is definitely quieter. One day of our stay, htl only one elevator working and it was not fun. Hotel is situated of the main street, behind a building, some guests my not like that. Hotel is clean, but you can see the is been there for a while.

Room Tip: 3307, 2 bedroom with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troosters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Sachsen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I really can't understand the comments concerning this hotel here on tripadvisor. My boyfriend and I went there during our trip through thailand. The service was really very good, we got everything we wanted. The hotel is good located for people, who want to relaxe and have a quiet surrounding. If you want to have fun, to party and to be in the thick of the fray it's not the perfect choice! The rooms are very clean and good equipped. We tried the food in one of the restaurants inside of the hotel. It was really very good! We were sitting outside by the pool. It was idyllic and I can really recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnjaLuisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

My good friend was coming from the US to visit me and we wanted to do a big trip to Bangkok and Phuket for nine days. We started our trip in Bangkok and decided on the Anantara because it's one of the few hotels that offers a room with two double beds.

We were greeted by our car service that was set up with ease by the hotel and taken directly there. Check-in was easy and our room was spotless. The concierge service helped us a great deal in planning a fun girls trip. We did some amazing temple tours and also fantastic shopping.

In the late afternoons we stayed by the beautiful infinity pool which had an amazing breeze which we appreciated after a morning and afternoon of hot tours and trekking through markets. The food was great and prices perfectly reasonable for Bangkok.

It is not directly in the heart of the city but we had no issues hopping on the sky train or grabbing a taxi at night from the hotel. It's a ten minute walk but I really had no issue with this.

I can't say anything negative about my stay. I am not a fan of Bangkok so I won't return most likely but it was a nice oasis outside of the craziness of the city.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie-RM, Manager at Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Reviewer:

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with Trip advisors' readers.

I am glad that you and your friend enjoyed our facilities and the service of our concierge team.

Although Bangkok may not be your next destination , please visit our other Ananatara properties for your future vacation and experience the local culture through heartfelt hospitality..

Kind regards,

Sylvie Zotoff
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#101 of 866 in Bangkok
4,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel

Property: Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Address: 36 Narathiwart-Ratchanakarin Road | Yannawa, Bangkok 10120, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Sathorn)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#70 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#127 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Bangkok's business district, moments from the city's dining and shopping hubs, Anantara Bangkok Sathorn hotel provides the perfect urban sanctuary for both leisure and business travellers. Unwind in the seclusion of the hotel's beautiful surroundings. Explore the city's most vibrant, traditional and contemporary areas. Replenish mind and body with a host of premier services and facilities. Anantara Bangkok Sathorn's rooms and suites make the most of this fantastic location with incredible panoramic views across the downtown city. From the beautiful studios to the spacious two bedroom suites, every room is finished to the highest standard, with crisp contemporary furniture that blends stylish city living with unique Anantara details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Bangkok Sathorn Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing