We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, you'll need to taxi..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Ranked #76 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We had 2 separate stays at the Anantara hotel in December. We booked a deluxe skyline rooms on both occassions, and got a great deal through expedia.

The room was very good. The rooms is almost a suite with a sitting room and almost mini kitchen area. The bathroom was very large with separate shower and bath. We thought the room was a very high quality. The views as well were excellent we stayed on both the 27th and 28th floor.

There is a hourly free hotel shuttle to the skytrain which is useful. The staff were very helpful and I used the spa (50% off on massages currently) very good gym.

Key element to note here is location. Its a taxi ride from anywhere and you cant really pop out the door and walk easily to a good restaurant. The road its off is also horrible for traffic. Queues at the obvious times of the day and some outside of that. If you are landing and taking a taxi also good to have the full address written as we found alot of drivers had no idea at all where it was.

Overall its a super hotel, staff and fittings great just be aware of the location. (But Bangkok taxi's are cheap!)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonDebsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANT_Sathorn, General Manager at Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

Dear LondonDebsUK

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your tip regarding the instructions for the taxi drivers. We also have a PDF on our website that you can print out to assist the taxi drivers in getting to Anantara Bangkok Sathorn.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Melanie Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,472)
There are newer reviews for Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,194 - 2,200 of 3,472 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2011

stayed at the anantara was almost a week...as had organised a conference for our clients...

was very warmly welcomed right from the front office,sales team,events head,room revenue mgr and general mgr too exceptionally helpful and accomodating

excellent hotel as all rooms practically an all suite hotels had a spacious living area with separate kitchenette and a bedroom ...away from the hustle bustle of the shopping areaS ideal for conferencing for about 80-100 people

The hotel even catered to Indian menu for breakfast and lunch and dinner


suggest the bathrooms need to be refurbished

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANT_Sathorn, General Manager at Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

Dear sonal66

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Anantara Bangkok Sathorn. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and so pleased that you took time to share this with Tripadvisor’s readers.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. I will be sure to pass this feedback on to them and I am sure they will truly appreciate your feedback.

We would love to have you come and stay with us again. Please feel free to contact me directly should I be able to assist you in any way in the future.

Kind regards

Melanie Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed at the Anantara for two nights booked through a travelzoo offer. The hotel was good value for a short stay and the location was fine, being a short walk to the BTS station, to which the hotel offered a shuttle bus service. We arrived at the hotel at 8pm to find our room was not ready and we had to wait in the bar for about 40 minutes whilst it was prepared. Not a great start after a long haul flight from Europe. The room itself was okay, plenty of storage space but it felt a bit dark and dated, but was adequate. There is a nice pool area but it only gets the sun in the mornings. One big positive were the staff who were all delightful and helpful. It's not the best hotel I have stayed in in Bangkok, but it was fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANT_Sathorn, General Manager at Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

Dear Davidob

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Anantara Bangkok Sathorn. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and so pleased that you took time to share this with Tripadvisor’s readers.

It was disappointing to read your comments regarding your room not being available on arrival. I trust our staff assisted you by offering some complimentary refreshments. In regards to your comments about the rooms being dated, our hotel is only 18 months old so this is surprising. We receive many positive comments regarding the room décor, and size. I am sorry you did not find this to your liking.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. I will be sure to pass this feedback on to them and I am sure they will truly appreciate your feedback.

Please feel free to contact me directly should I be able to assist you in any way in the future.

Kind regards

Melanie Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Stayed here for approximately a week and it was very, very good with some odd exceptions. We were upgraded to a Skyline 1-bedroom unit on the 32nd floor and the view was fantastic although we were facing away from the Financial District. The quality of the fittings and finishes are very high, the bathroom was spacious with a separate tub and LOVED the rain shower (finally one that actually works well in a Bangkok hotel!) Quality of the linens was great and the bath towels were huge! Large, comfortable bed. As far as the negatives go, the air con can be very loud, the kitchen did not have a full sized fridge (it was a mini-bar) and the kitchen was really nothing more than a faucet and sink with some glasses, etc. For it truly be an apartment, it should have a full-size frigde, oven/microwave, cooking utensils, washer/dryer. Cost for doing laundry at the hotel was extremely high.

As far as the facilities go, most were excellent. The breakfast is fantastic with a huge selection and the quality of the food is very high. Very nice pool, but too small considering all the rooms and not enough sun. The fitness room is excellent with high quality, modern equipment (Life Fitness), weights, etc. Did not eat at the restaurants other than breakfast, so cannot comment. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I was a bit concerned about the distance from the BTS, but you can take the BRT (which is located next to the building) to the Chong Nonsi station for 10 baht. Keep in mind that the building is located in the Financial District, so there are not a lot of restaurants, shopping, grocery stores, etc. nearby and traffic is generally horrible M-F from about 3:00-7:00. Sarajane's has very good Thai food and is a short walk up Narathiwat towards the BTS.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yeesipsahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANT_Sathorn, General Manager at Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2011

Dear yeesipsahm

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Anantara Bangkok Sathorn. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and so pleased that you took time to share this with Tripadvisor’s readers. It was especially pleasing to read that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Thank you for your kind comments . I will be sure to pass this feedback on to our Restaurant Manager.

In regards to your comments about the lack of kitchen equipment in our hotel rooms, to clarify, we offer two styles of accommodation. Our hotel rooms are designed for short stays and offer all facilities and services generally found in 5 star hotels. Our serviced apartment tower is designed to cater for those staying a minimum of 14 nights and are fully equipped with cooking facilities and washing machines. These apartments offer exceptional value for money for long stay guests.

We would love to have you come and stay with us again. Please feel free to contact me directly should I be able to assist you in any way in the future.

Kind regards

Melanie Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We travel frequently to Bangkok and this time we wanted to try Anantara Sathorn mainly because they were offering a very attractive rate. The hotel is nice but we did not nejoy it much.
We arrived early in the morning and we appreciated the early check in offered.
The room is quite small, small bathroom with only shower and very basic toilet amenities that you would expect in a 3 star hotel. Towels were with the Radisson brand, very weird.
Toilet was flooded at the first use and it took some time time to get it fixed.
Every time we try to call guest service, no body replied at the first tentative.
Food on offer very basic and tasteless even for Thai food.
Breakfast has a buffet with different items but again poor quality, same for the buffet dinner we choose one night.
Location: it is basically a condo hotel, apartment so lack of real caracther. About 10 minutes walk to train station and nothing interesting in the area.
SPA was expensive even with a discount offered and not top quality like you can find in BKK.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxgerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed at the Anantara for two weeks and only had one negative with our stay. We booked through Agoda and the reservation was considered a “serviced apartment” which was not stated on our reservation nor did the hotel tell us upon check-in. Because of this we did not have any amenities in the room – no bottled water, no soap etc. After flying 28 hours the last thing we wanted to do was wander around looking for soap and bottled water. The staff ended up provided us some soap but only received bottled water on second to last day of our stay.
The housekeeping staff was one of the best we have seen. The room was spotless and it was thoroughly cleaned every day. The concierge staff was friendly and always willing to help in any way possible. Special kudos to PK and Teri. The dining in the hotel was either a hit or miss. The breakfast buffet was excellent but skip having lunch or dinner there.
If you do not mind not being in the center of action, this hotel is a great choice for peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor, because you will hear the noise from the pool area on lower floo...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgirl2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANT_Sathorn, General Manager at Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2011

Dear travelgirl2001

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Anantara Bangkok Sathorn. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and so pleased that you took time to share this with Tripadvisor’s readers.

I apologise that there was confusion with your booking in regards to the serviced apartments. The significantly reduced rate of these apartments reflects the style of servicing. I am sorry this was not clearly communicated during the time of reservation. If you would like me to further investigate your booking may I ask you to contact me on smith@anantara.com with your reservation details so I may look into this matter.

Kind regards

Melanie Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

My friend and I stayed here in July 2011 for 4 days 3 nights and I have to say it's a lovely experience. We booked a Two Bedroom Suites and was upgraded to a higher floor which gave us magnificent view of the city, it was a great start to our trip. They have a wide selection for breakfast and it was really good, it keeps us full for the day .

The location is a bit far from BTS but if you don't feel like walking, you can always take the bus in front of the hotel to get to the BTS station or you may wait for the free shuttle service provided by the hotel. What they can improve on is to provide the service for every 30 mins instead of every hour and please be on time. To me this is just a minor thing that they can work on; if I ever return to Bangkok I will definitely choose to stay here again :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siti Fariha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#100 of 879 in Bangkok
4,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel

Address: 36 Narathiwart-Ratchanakarin Road | Yannawa, Bangkok 10120, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Sathorn)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#69 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#127 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $74 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Bangkok's business district, moments from the city's dining and shopping hubs, Anantara Bangkok Sathorn hotel provides the perfect urban sanctuary for both leisure and business travellers. Unwind in the seclusion of the hotel's beautiful surroundings. Explore the city's most vibrant, traditional and contemporary areas. Replenish mind and body with a host of premier services and facilities. Anantara Bangkok Sathorn's rooms and suites make the most of this fantastic location with incredible panoramic views across the downtown city. From the beautiful studios to the spacious two bedroom suites, every room is finished to the highest standard, with crisp contemporary furniture that blends stylish city living with unique Anantara details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Bangkok Sathorn Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing