We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent business hotel, but hard for taxi drivers to find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Ranked #87 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent business hotel, but hard for taxi drivers to find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed four nights in a Deluxe Room, for aprox. USD 85 per night without breakfast.

The room was very spacious with a living room area, two balconies with great views, a nicely decorated bedroom, and a large bathroom with a great shower and a bathtub.

King size, comfortable bed; excellent pillows; good air conditioning system.

The hotel has a good restaurant... a bit pricey but it's worth trying one night. The pizza is not great, but satisfies your need for pizza after weeks of only Asian food. We tried the breakfast the first morning but we didn't like it: good presentation but not so good quality.

We didn't use the facilities except for the swimming pool, which we thought was nice.

The service was overall good, the personnel spoke adequate English - some conversations took longer than with a native speaker, but nothing to complain about really.

We believe the only bad thing about this hotel - and it's not a minor thing - is that it's so new that the taxi drivers don't know it. And for some reason, most don't even know the landmarks close by, like the train station 3 blocks away.

This was a big problem for us on our arrival, as the driver took at least 40 minutes trying to find the place - with no plan at all and no idea about what to do, stopping in dark areas with no hotels - which made us feel extremely unsafe. We asked him to take us to any international hotel, but communication was impossible. Finally I asked him to go to the Shangri-La hotel as I knew it was not that far away (it's not close either), and I could find someone there who spoke decent English. And on the way there, we LUCKILY found Anantara. Once there we realized that the address sent to us by AGODA was incomplete, and that was the main cause of the problem. It was an unpleasant experience after arriving in BKK at 10 pm. And it was also a problem every time we wanted to take a taxi.

Overall, excellent experience and would recommend it but keep the location factor.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KKonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,617
    1,055
    276
    81
    46
See reviews for
869
1,055
185
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

Overall: The hotel is nicely decorated and the staff is friendly - as is typical thai hospitality. It's also a good, central location. However, I think the hotel is new and they need to get their act together a bit before I would stay again.

Food: We ate the breakfast buffet at the hotel all 3 days. Nothing special, but the food was good and well prepared. The problem was the service. The restaurant would be half empty, but we had to wait 10-15 mins for a table each day because the staff was taking so long to clear tables after people got up. One day the manager was even down there clearing plates. Then when we were given a table it would take another 5 minutes to get a fork & knife...never mind a napkin. I'm not sure if they were just understaffed for the weekend or what, but it wasn't a great way to start each morning.

Rooms: The rooms were nice and spacious. We were in a 1 br club room. bedroom, living room with dining and kitchen, 2 balconies and a very large bathroom. very nice.

Service: Everything was great except housekeeping would take a long time to make up the room. We left one morning by 10, put up the "make up room" sign, and when we returned to the room at 4pm it still hadn't been cleaned.

Spa/Pool/Fitness area: all very good!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarlyLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

We booked online and as such were unsure 100% what we would get once we arrived.

The room we had was a deluxe room, and it was excellent. It was spotless, and not cheap. the bed was fantastic, and the sheets are very good quality. We did have a minor issue the first morning with the bathroom, and they immediately upgraded us to a two bedroom suite (this was very nice as it was a very minor issue).

We ate breakfast every day, it's definitely worth it to included it in your price.

The pool is saltwater and very easy to swim in, service is very good by Thai standards and the prices aren't crazy for alcohol.

The concierge was very helpful, especially Tee, who helped us with dinner reservations and booking domestic flights.

The location is fine. the Skytrain station is 5 minutes away, and a taxi from sukhumvit is between B60 and B100.

A little mall thing just opened up down the road towards the skytrain called City Viva. They have a nice little wine bar, and the supermarket stocks a lot of western food and beer.

On our final leg in Thailand we decided to go back to the Anantara and stayed there for an additional 6 nights. I would recommend this hotel to any variety of traveller, as while it can easily be in budget for those on tighter funds, it also provides the feel of a much more expensive hotel.

We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonkatsukare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Great hotel and rooms and fantastic value too. Rooms are spacious with a living room area and a small kitchenette. Which makes it easier to make drinks. The dining table is a nice touch which makes in-dining so easy. Breakfast is not the most extensive but what they do have is of top quality. Great egg stating and the asian breakfast items are very nice. Cooked food like sausages and bacon are well done and the selection of juices and yogurt and yakult drinks make for a very pleasant and substantial breakfast. In fact we skipped lunch most days as we were still so full.

Staff are helpful and full of smiles. As some have commented, the location of the hotel is not the most convenient, with at 15 min walk to the nearest BTS Chong Nonsi but catching a cab via the very helpful concierge and front staff was not a problem.

We stayed on the 30th floor and the balcony gave fantastic views of the city, we even decided to skip State Labua Tower one night and stay in with a bottle of champagne and enjoy the view from the room.

There's a very nice sized gym for a hotel with good cardio machines. The 32 m salt water pool is great for laps but can get a little busy at certain times, but go early and you will be fine.

All in all a great hotel and superb value as I think its still the launch price. Not sure if this can be sustained, but I chose this over Hansar and have no regrets!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and non-smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DouglasHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hongkong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

free & easy to connect internet
excellent car service
friendly and helpful staff who went out o their way to assist

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmoasiahongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

Stayed in this hotel from 26th till 29th may.. Every Staff is very professional, carry with them very good attitude and extremely helpful. Needless to say the quality of the room is superb (Deluxe room). Very clean, spacious and excellent view from the balcony. Despite all the pros, there are 2 cons.. that is the location is not considered near nor far from the BTS station.. about 10 to 15mins walk from the Hotel. Although its only 10 to 15 mins walk, under the scorching sun it could seem like a long walk.. The other down side is that the traffic outside the hotel is pretty heavy during the day n evening time.. if you are taking a cab it could be very frustrating. Other than that its pretty peaceful n quite during the night..

Verdict - Will definitely want to stay in Anantara again provided the price still stays as affordable as it is now..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R_Chng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

We can say that it is a good hotel. We had a suite with sitting room and bedroom. The bathroom is large with shower and bathtube. The staff at the reception was friendly.
So the good thing : the room with free wifi and there is a large swimming pool too. The price was affordable for the comfort.
We can give some advices to be perfect :
- no information in the room (no menu, no room services, nothing!!...)
- not enough soap in the nice bathroom. Impossible to go in the bathtube if you have no salt or more soap...
- information from the reception : they don't tell than there is a BTS in front the hotel and it is very convenient to go to the next skytrain station instead to go by foot.
- if you want to go back by taxi, there is a traffic jam morning and evening. Better to take public transport
- the cost of the breakfast is overpriced

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asiatrip61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#95 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#85 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#62 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,871 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Sukhumvit Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel

Property: Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Address: 36 Narathiwart-Ratchanakarin Road | Yannawa, Bangkok 10120, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Sathorn)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#76 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#127 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Bangkok's business district, moments from the city's dining and shopping hubs, Anantara Bangkok Sathorn hotel provides the perfect urban sanctuary for both leisure and business travellers. Unwind in the seclusion of the hotel's beautiful surroundings. Explore the city's most vibrant, traditional and contemporary areas. Replenish mind and body with a host of premier services and facilities. Anantara Bangkok Sathorn's rooms and suites make the most of this fantastic location with incredible panoramic views across the downtown city. From the beautiful studios to the spacious two bedroom suites, every room is finished to the highest standard, with crisp contemporary furniture that blends stylish city living with unique Anantara details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Bangkok Sathorn Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing