We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best kept secret in Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bangkok Patio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bangkok Patio
Ranked #169 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Probably the best kept secret in Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

I have finally got around to writing a review about this place. For the most part I can only echo what others have said, its a truly wonderful place. I know Bangkok well, have lived there and been coming back for more than 25 years so I have seen a lot of changes because over this period the city has changed so fast. This place is totally off the tourist trail and for me that is part of its appeal, the Skytrain is 5 minutes walk away so you can hit anywhere in town so easily. You know its nice to walk out of your place into a quiet street and not have to face the Bangkok bustle of tourist vendors in your face every minute. And the benefits from that are also you can get to eat real Thai food at local prices, turn left on the main road ,walk for 3 minutes and you'll hit a restaurant called Sa Wat Dee, you'll probably be the only Westerners there, you won't regret it, this is Thai food cooked for Thai's, and no that doesn't mean it has to be spicy but if you really don't like anything hot just tell them "mai pet" (not spicy). My wife is Thai and she rates the Tom Yum soup as about as good as it gets, Good music there too from live bands. There are so many good restaurants buried in the side streets around here, this thread can start you off:
http://www.tripadvisor.in/ShowTopic-g293916-i3687-k3017565-Ari_BTS_and_Ari_area_good_bad_and_the_ugly-Bangkok.html

By the way, if you want lunch, once again turn left on the main road and walk up towards Saphan Kwai Skytrain stationj, the side-streets to your left will be thronged with office workers eating some excellent street food, give it a try. The vendors won't have any English...this is non tourist country ! Just point and you'll make out. Believe me, if you want to be in Bangkok and not part of the crowd then head to Bangkok Patio..
By the way, if I haven't spend so much time talking about Bangkok Patio itself its simply that there was nothing I could add to what others have said, the place and the people are just simply lovely !!
http://www.tripadvisor.in/ShowTopic-g293916-i3687-k3017565-Ari_BTS_and_Ari_area_good_bad_and_the_ugly-Bangkok.html

Really can't reccomend Bangko Patio high enough...up to you what you are seeking ...a tourist ghetto like Sukhumvit or a slice of Thai life.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roamer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    62
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
81
26
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

Service seems very personal to you. Every1 is so good n friendly and keep looking out for you. Stay here for 6nights n service ia very constant. Food delivery is cheap n good.. Reali speechless w its service. Been to bkk so many times n tis is e only apartment Tt touches mine n my family members heart ! Every1 in Bangkok patio well done ! Keep it up !!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fannkoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulton Broad, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

I've stayed in quite a few places around the world including Thailand and I have to say Bangkok Patio was one of those pleasant surprises.
The staff are friendly and very helpful, the room was great, a spacious (2 bed apartment) well equipped with modern fixtures and fittings.
Unlike most establishments in Bangkok they never wanted any money until I checked out 10 days later, in fact they never once mentioned the m word.
Location is out of central Bangkok but only a 5 minute stroll to Sanam Pao BTS or take the free Tuk Tuk if your feeling lazy, then it's only 3 or 4 stops to Siam.
A great place to stay if a little bit of the beaten track for most travellers.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dazzking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

Stayed at Bangkok Patio over a span of 6 days recently and was overwhelmed by the great service I had received by the staff there. Always keen to help and always smiling, it really made my stay at Bangkok Patio very enjoyable.

Rooms were well kept and very clean. Basic utilities were provided and I was pleasantly surprised when I found that they provided a toothbrush and tooth paste. Although small, but I thought it was a nice act to provide such items for free whereas other (supposedly) better hotels don't bother to. Other things such as wifi which would have been an extra charge at other locations are provided free of charge.

Staff helped me get taxis whenever I wanted to go shopping or sightseeing and made sure that the driver did not fleece me by insisting they go by the meter. Another commendable act was during my first day at Bangkok Patio, where I had no small change to tip the staff who had helped us bring the luggage up to our room. He did not turn nasty and throughout my whole stay, remained very friendly and helpful.

Thank you, Mr Anand and the staff at Bangkok Patio, for making my stay so enjoyable.
I will be sure to return whenever I return to Bangkok.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silverboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

A great apartment, quite location but only a short taxi ride to most attractions.

Excellent value and I highly recomended this apartment.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArnhemDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

I stayed at this apartment hotel for a week.

The hotel is located on Phaholyothin road.
It is conveniently quietly located, but also offers the essence of the city just around the corner. Altough it is located in a busy street, it feels like you are a world apart from the chaos of the city. It is 8-10 mins. by taxi from here to the hectic busy centre, Siam. 4 stops if you're taking the skytrain.

I stayed at the two-bedrom studio that contains the following,

* Fully furnished
* Air condition in all rooms.
* A large master bedroom with its own bathroom, LCD-TV, balcony
* A smaller bedroom with balcony.
* Another bathroom.
* Living room - with DVD-player
* Private balcony
* Kitchen - fully equiped. All the neccessary appliances are provided.
* Dinner table
* Free internet

Overall I was quite satisfied with the room. It was pretty clean and all stuff worked prompt.

As this is an Apartment hotel, don't expect that they do housekeeping everyday.
The have housekeeping twice a week if I remember correctly.

There is also a laundry service included. They have 5 washing machines and 5 dryers.

Other facilities are, fitness room, swimming pool with kids pool, sauna and steam room.

They also offer free tuk tuk (rickshaw) that can drive you to nearby interests.

There is no restaurant in the hotel. But they have take outs menus at the reception.
The food with delivery is ridiculously cheap. The have several menus. Decide what you want to have and go to the reception and they will make a call for you. Around 20 mins. later the the staff will knock on your door with delicious food brought to you. Another option is simply eating outside, there are several restaurants nearby for you to explore.

The staff is very polite and helpful. All of them (I think it was only 5 or 6 of them) will gladly help you out without hesitation. They do not speak english fluently but this was not an issue during my stay. Everything went fine and they totally understood whatever inquiry I had.

All in all I pretty much enjoyed my stay at the Bangkok Patio and will recommend this apartment hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank silverfox85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Ari
Abloom Exclusive Serviced Apartments
Ari
Vic3 Bangkok
Vic3 Bangkok
#234 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Silom
kokotel Surawong
kokotel Surawong
#198 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal View Resort
#90 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok Patio

Property: Bangkok Patio
Address: 14 Phaholyothin Soi 3 , Phaholyothin Road | Samsen Nai, Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Ari
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#82 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#163 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#164 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bangkok Patio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bangkok Patio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Patio Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing