We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Hotel, With Nice Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glitz Bangkok Hotel
Ranked #571 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Funky Hotel, With Nice Restaurant”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The Glitz Hotel is a little boutique hotel in Patpong right next to the wild nightlife. This hotel is awesome for those that like art deco style and a unique twist. The lighting in the room is perfect for nighttime romance. This location is not the best for a family, just single minded travelers whom want to date girls of the night. The restaurant here is half open air and the other half has a bar with good music playing.. The open air section looks out onto the street at the busy Patpong traffic. I enjoyed my stay here, and the staff was exceptional. I hope to return for this is my kind of madness in Patpong. If you like something different the the standard hotel, I suggest this place. I originally heard about this hotel on www.mytraveldates.com as they review only Thai hotels for the single minded male. I suggest staying at this location for around 3 nights.

Room Tip: Not many rooms here so book fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btrimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    34
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
3
34
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Good:
decent rooms
includes breakfast
free wifi
near skytrain

Bad:
very noisy at night
within the Pat Pong area (the toilet of Bangkok) - lots of aggressive touts, pickpockets, etc just outside the door

Liked their quirky, kinda funky design - not my taste but original! Rooms are decent, but could be better. Had a "king" bed - 2 twins pushed together w an uncomfortable gap in the middle. My main memory of this place tho is little sleep! The road outside is very busy, and you can hear every car, tuk tuk, motorbike as it goes by - all night. They really need to soundproof the windows better.
Breakfast was included. A bit odd, you order one of two sets and sit next to other guests in a row.. odd, but an ok breakfast.
Staff were mostly good. The saturday morning front desk lady was one of the best, most enthusiastic, staff I have ever met! The friday evening front desk guy was lazy and rude.. Everyone else was friendly and excellent.

would i return?
no

Room Tip: away from the road?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlternateRoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed at The Glitz for 3 nights half way through our trip to Thailand & Cambodia. The Glitz was a great find, modern rooms in a great location to Patpong (night markets were great). Service was fantastic as well as the food at the restaurant downstairs. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Stayed here twice in April at either end of trip to Cambodia. Hotel is in excellent location on Surawond Road. Rooms are reasonable size but let down by lack of a desk so nowhere to place laptop etc. Also no table lamp near bed and all ceiling lights are operated from by the door so you have to get out of bed to turn off / on lights. No lift - not a problem for me but would be for less fit or for elderly. Modern furniture made from painted MDF and the paint has worn away from the corners giving tired appearance. Limited choice for brakfast but excellent fruit, pad thai and coffee. Service was OK for my first visit but lousy on second - worst I have experienced in 25 years of visiting SE Asia. On Sunday, they forgot to clean and make up my room. I had been out since about 1100 and returned at 1730 to find it just as I had left it - bed not made, no new water bottles, towel on floor etc. I was told would be done next day as staff gone home. Only when I threatened to check out did the receptionist leave the desk to clean room himself. It took an age and was unprofessional and I doubt if he had ever made a hotel bed before - as least he tried. Also I had sent by laundry off before 1000 for same day return. When it failed to arrive, I was told by "tomorrow afternoon" by which time I would be at 36,000 ft on route for London. Eventually they managed to get it back from laundry (unwashed) by time I checked out next morning. Poor service and the lack of a light by the bed means I will revert to Dusit Thani or Lebua next time or try Le Meridien if good deals available.

Room Tip: Great location for Sky train, metro and nightlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Arrived late evening and the guy on reception was really helpful and friendly and preceded to show me around my room. I also got put in the next category room which was great.

My room was REALLY hot when i arrived but soon cooled down when the aircon kicked in. Would be good if the aircon could stay on when the room isn't in use (i know its not good for the environment but BKK does get really warm)

The room was comfortable, clean and adequate. There were a few amenities in the room and complimentary water. Free WIFI in room is also a bonus!

The hotel is in a GREAT location for shopping and clubbing. Its also really good value for money.

Would use again without a doubt!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aeroplaneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, PR
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

First, the staff at Glitz was extremely friendly and helpful - although seem frustrated at the same items that I will mention below. I repeatedly asked that they leave a message so I could discuss my room with the manager, and although several assured me that they had, I could never find a manager to speak with.
Biggest Drawback is that our room was on the 3rd floor and there is NO ELEVATOR. When I mentioned that their website didn't say anything about this - the maid quickly added 'yes, there is an elevator... but only for luggage' - so maybe technically they feel that they are not being untruthful. The stairs only have handrails on half the steps. They are very slick tile stairs with uneven heights and if you were to fall, the only thing that would help you would be grabbing a bejeweled wall sconce or landing on the linen or dishes that the maids leave on each landing. Not just annoying - dangerous. If you have any issues with climbing lots of stairs - DO NOT STAY HERE!
Once in the room, I was dismayed that 'high design' seemed more important than guest experience. They seemed to think that if you overcompensate with pretentious design from the 90's and call it boutique, people will pay more and expect less. This is the type of hotel that gives 'boutique' a bad name.
The 'floating bed' had metal posts with balls suspended. On checkin, you have to sign a statement saying you won't damage them. Well, first thing I found was the post dangling, broken at the side of the bed - its just cosmetic, the bed is actually attached to the floor. Since there were NO Night stands next to the bed, the telephone just dangled onto the pillow, since it fell off the wall and the maid didn't replace it. There is no place to put glasses, tv control, etc. except on the floor.
TV control worked for the control box - but to turn the TV off at night, you also had to get out of bed and turn off the flat panel wall tv - the control doesn't do this. No channel guide and only English stations were news from Japan, Russia, Myanmar and a religious station.
Bathroom had a jacuzzi tub which just looked nasty and there was long hair on the tub - presumably from the maid. There was also blond hair on the sofa and work chair - presumably from past guests.
There was a large work desk and good wifi - but only one plug in the wall, so you could not use the floor lamp at the same time you used your computer. An adaptor was finally provided to use both, but it did not fit the lamp - so it kept having to be balanced correctly to stay lit. Sofa was fine, but no reading light.
Windows are fairly noise blocking, but view is ruined by the back of their 'signature facade' that showed every nut, bolt, weld and ugly part of the unfinished backside to their pink curvy facade.
No lights for reading at the bed - not night stands at the bed, although pillows were nice.
'Clear Glass Bathroom Wall' was just annoying - do you want to see that much of your traveling companion? Also, the bed is right next door, so you can't turn on the light at night without waking up your partner. No towels in the bathroom when we arrived. I finally found then in the minibar. Also, the tub had some sort of broken soap dish face down on the floor. Drain stoppers did not work and were just sort of draped to the side - not very 'boutique'. Only one small roll of toilet paper allocated per day - you had to go to the front desk to request an extra roll (hopefully before you ran out).
Closet area had 4 plastic hangers. When asked for more, they gave me 8 nasty wire hangers - not very boutique. Minibar had very limited selection - only gave 2 comp bottles of water per stay. All other hotels I stay at gave at least two per day.
Breakfast was the worst I have seen in Thailand. Instant coffee. Toast. One Egg and two tiny chicken sausages from a can plus a plastic wrapped plate of fruit. We had to go looking for the maid each day to get breakfast, although be the end of our stay - we just didn't go. It was exactly the same every day.
All furniture was black 'pseudo-chic' with scratched, dents, marks on virtually every piece.
If you want to see an example of poor hotel design and the worst use of the 'boutique' label in recent experience - then this might be for you. Location is great. However - it is no better than many other hotels in the area that are half the price.
I never did get to see the manager. The staff were happy to hear my complaints and come check the room - but seemed sincere in their inability to get management to address the issues. This also happened at the restaurant in the hotel where waiters constantly apologized for items not being available or entire sections of the menu no longer being valid - since the 'new menu' had to be followed with much higher prices and limited selection (then why present the old menu?). After our experience at the hotel, we decided to skip the restaurant... you might consider skipping both.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

If you are looking at going out in Silom - this is a great place to stay. Close to markets, nightlife and great restaurants. It is at the corner of a main street - but the rooms do not get noisy. Large rooms which are colorful and well designed.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParagNShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Bavana Hotel
Bavana Hotel
#583 of 867 in Bangkok
13 reviews
Silom
La Residence Bangkok
La Residence Bangkok
#392 of 867 in Bangkok
97 reviews
Silom
The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
D Varee Diva Bally Silom, Bangkok
Silom
Bed by City Surawong-Patpong
Bed by City Surawong-Patpong
#329 of 867 in Bangkok
54 reviews
Silom
De Arni Bangkok
De Arni Bangkok
#460 of 867 in Bangkok
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glitz Bangkok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glitz Bangkok Hotel

Property: Glitz Bangkok Hotel
Address: 135/18-19 Surawong Road | Bangrak, Bangkok, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #571 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glitz Bangkok Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glitz Bangkok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing