We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly True to Thai Root”
Review of Bo.Lan

Bo.Lan
Ranked #1,038 of 14,889 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $90 - $101
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Thong Lo
Description: Bo.lan is founded on the belief that the best Thai restaurants should be found In Thailand. With that in mind the two chefs Duangporn Songvisava and Dylan Jones started Bo.lan. The name Bo.lan comes from Chef Duangporn’s nickname Bo and the second half of Dylan’s name Lan. It is also a play on the Thai word for vintage or ancient, which sounds the same but is spelt differently. Bo.lan prides itself for working closely with local farmers and feels that it has a social responsibility to the local community. Bo.lan advocates the use of biodiversified produce and this is reflected in the ever-changing menu.
Reviewed September 2, 2016

With an upcoming global trend of "farm to table", it's such a pleasure to see such success in Thai culinary scene with this restaurant, Bo.Lan, which means "ancient". Their success come from creating a food with honest to Thai root. Menu lists are seasonal which is good for environment & sustainment. Plus all ingredients are received from its local makers which requires a lot of effort since some of them are located very far away.

During week days you'll be served with well selected set menu. A la Carte is only available on weekend.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DahnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 218 of 754 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2016

We ate there last evening and had a fabulous meal. Our server, a young lady from the Philippines, was extremely helpful in suggesting what to eat and was an excellent server.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scielbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 28, 2016

We used to live in BKK and Bo.lan was our fav date night dinner venue. They have moved to soi 53, so close to our old house! The new location is lovely and very similar to their previous building. We were very lucky to have Bo serving us and her personalised service is 5 star. We loved the new set menus and went for the full Bo.lan Balance menu - so many standout items and what a treat to be invited into the kitchen! We love an interactive meal. It was all delicious and cannot recommend highly enough.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 28, 2016

Nice atmosphere and staff. Love the decoration, and food container. Very interesting menu with authentic Thai which rarely to eat these days. The "first bite" have very unique way to present. Main course can really represent how Thai eat their meal by sharing with friends and family but from my experience taste in each dish was modified for foreigner guest, not really an authentic Thai. After all I was surprise and happy with price and experience I got.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kobjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Definitely for special occasions and not for your regular dinner visit. A bit on the expensive side but I have to admit it was one of the best thai food I ever had. Worth a visit for sure.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank salimpathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Bo.Lan also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Bo.Lan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.