We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Nakorn Ping Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nakorn Ping Hotel
Ranked #211 of 615 Bangkok B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Good sized room with air con and fan for very cheap price. However our shower didn't work, which we paid for, and then when we went down to reception they told us that we hadn't paid for it. We refused to pay for the shower and they did not do anything to reimburse us. Cheap internet and accommodation. Hallways at night sometimes look like they could be from a horror movie.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phoebe1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    41
    28
    8
    7
See reviews for
11
43
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have stayed here on my trips to bangkok for years, it is always a good value for the money. If you are not looking for anything fancy, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmscott187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

The hotel is like it was frozen in time scine 70s, a little bit seasoned scince then ofcourse. But this wasn't a disvantage, it was magestic vintage! If you feeling nostalgic or just like asian 70s you'll find it (not 70s luctury, just 70s) there - the building itself, the windows, the fans, deco - like traveling in time! We arrived at night looked for some guesthouse in the area and found this! At first I was shoked with age and weariness of the hotel, but then we got to the room got nice hot shower, switched on the TV and A/C , layed down on perfectly clean sheets I was charmed and since then saw its age and weariness only as a great nostalgic addition to the athmosphere. Besides the staff was very nice and helpfull (which is not most common in Khao San budget places), the place is very quiet, AC/shower/frige/TV/fan in the room, a lot of food places to go around :). Also much less crowded than Khao San.
The only possible disadvantage (not for me) in our room was windows colsed shut with some sun protection from outside so there were no view outside (and to be honest there were nothing to see outside - a regular small street - 'soi').
At the bottom line for me it was a gem for its athmosphere and I couldn't find anything like that in other budget places near Khao San. Could give it 5 but this kind of vintage is not for everybody. But if you like it then it is a must place to visit. Also notice the electricity switches board on the rigth side of the lobby coridor :)

Oh yes and the price was OK too (600)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank santonsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights in Feb 2012. About 500 metres from Khao San but that was good, quiet. Room was good aircon good clean for 600 baht with aircon I was happy. Lots of alleys close by with good restaurants not serving the same garbage as you get on Khao San so that was good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

It had everything i asked for A/C and fridge, my room was cleaned everday without fail (not like half of the other places i visited in Thailand) it was a standard looking room nothing fancy but done the job and i expected nothing more 4/5.

Room Tip: Make sure your very clear on what your after due to language barrier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARCHELEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

I have stayed at the "Ping" several times over the last 8 years or so. It used to be called the Nakorn Pink several years ago. It is nothing fancy, but it is always clean & almost always quiet. It has a secure feeling about it, as there are desk staff on 24 hours a day. The staff have always been friendly & helpful.

The location is perfect if you want to be close to the many benefits of the Khao Sarn Road/Banglumphu area, but not living in the madhouse. The area has a lot of tourist services, is close to the river boats & many tourist attractions. This is a much better alternative to a guesthouse. It now has free wifi, (a recent improvement). The prices are cheap...very good value.

You can reserve rooms online from their website without making a deposit or giving a credit card number. They will get back to you in a day or two with your reservation. I find this very handy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
148 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

I have been staying in the Nakorn Pink Hotel since 1999 and am surprised it does not have more reviews. First, the area is away from the noise of Koa San and Banglamphu. It has a nice local vibe with small local eating areas and it is only a 5 - 10 minute walk to Koa San and area.

The hotel is clean and the rooms are cleaned every day. A bonus is a tv and fridge in the rooms even the least expensive rooms (fan rooms). You have a wide range of room options. Wifi in the rooms is fast and free; the hotel also provides free drinking water (fill your bottle).

The hotel may be a little dated with older furniture and the rooms may be a bit dark as the windows have shades to keep them cool. The room does have only one plug in for electronics. But for the price, it is great value and the service is very friendly and kind!

I will keep coming back

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spiritedbolderwomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#314 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#53 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Banglamphu
Blue Chang House
Blue Chang House
#147 of 1,155 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
The Rajata
The Rajata
#142 of 615 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Banglamphu
Penpark Place
Penpark Place
#46 of 615 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Banglamphu
Bewel Hostel
Bewel Hostel
#145 of 1,155 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nakorn Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakorn Ping Hotel

Property: Nakorn Ping Hotel
Address: 9/1 Samsen Road Soi 6, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 615 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 118

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing