We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view but lousy service”
Review of Red Sky

Red Sky
Ranked #65 of 10,929 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $59 - $119
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Siam
Description: It's the perfect location to celebrate life's happy moment. Fifty-five storeys above the bustle of central Bangkok. It's the one of the city's top dining destinations, serve up jaw-dropping panoramic vistas, an inspired menu, and a remarkable well-balance wine list. So what better place than Red Sky to impress an out-of-town guest, celebrate the closure of a business deal, or even pop the question? With its spectacular setting, outstanding food, and jazzy music it is the perfect formula for a great night out. Happy hour at the bar is daily from 4PM-6PM.
Makati, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Stunning view but lousy service”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Love this spot. Thanks to my girl friend she took us here last week. Definitely one of the best place in Bangkok. The place offers an amazing view of Bangkok sky line. Beautiful decoration and big couches with comfortable pillow. We got there before the sun began to set so we had a good view of the whole city before it turned red but the view at night is even more stunning.
The service though was very lousy. Took 30 minutes to bring our 2nd drink even after repeatedly asking them. And for the bill it took another 20-30 minutes again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildpinkfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    317
    95
    37
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Not cheap but worth it for the experience”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

As long as you prepare yourself for the fact that you are going to pay 1,000 Baht upwards for two drinks you'll be ok. The views are breathtaking, the service is excellent and the ambience is wonderful.
A must for visitors to the big Mango and worth the splurge, but probably best as a starting place rather than all night at these prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirkbyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good view but service and food was terrible...”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went to red sky to have dinner and want to try the roof top restuarant. Then we went up to 55 Fl. at the Sky Restuarant.... We ordered strater, main meals and side dish. Everything looks fine but suddenly we would like to went up to sky bar to have sight seeing but we had denied to allow becuase my buddy wear the uni suite, then I understand that and didn't argue. However, the sentense of their told to us its quite impolite to us...like we didn't wnat to serve you here. So, we back to our table and wait for our food. When it came....the starter was fine..after then main meals had arrived. I ordered a fish dish and my buddy ordered lamp. This 2 dishes were tastless and cook not well like put in microwave and serve it. So, we stopped to eat and ask for bill. It was my mistake to have dinner here. For anybody want to go this sky bar, i recommend you to have your dinner at cental world then go up to have some drink here....for better view. Or go to other place which better service and good food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donnie1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Resident Manager at Red Sky, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for your recent feedback and time to post the review.
We must sincerely apologize for the shortfalls experienced at Red Sky and Red Sky Bar. Our dress code is smart casual and I was most alarmed to read that you felt we "did not want to serve you". This is not the standard to which we operate and I have directly spoken with all concerned and our team in the kitchen to review our standards and conduct re-training.
We do hope we can welcome you back to Red Sky and I would be honored to show you our improvements.

Kind regards,
John Kendes
Resident Manager
Email: johnke@chr.co.th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view but a bit slow”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Firstly, the view is spectacular. On arrival we went to happy hour on the top level where drinks were 2 for 1 per person.Then down to the dining level where we were seated and our drink and meal orders taken. Drinks arrived (great mojito), followed by entree of prawn and mango cocktail, very nice. Then things slowed down!! We waited at least 40 minutes for our main course, which, when it arrived, was great, but there is only so much time to spend admiring the view. All up, a nice place to go for a special evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“55 floors up - great place to take in the views of Bangkok”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Up front I have to say that I did not eat here but went up to Red Sky for a few drinks.

The views are magnificent if there are no haze.

Entering Centara Grand, take lobby elevator to 23rd floor. Alight here and take another elevator to 55th floor to Red Sky restaurant / bar. If you chose to just have drinks and snacks, you can sit on the 55th floor (outside) or go upstairs (outside) for an even better view, albeit a windy one. Depending on where you sit, your view may be blocked by external steel works but you can always ask the hostess to move you to a seat with a better view when one becomes available.

I like this bar as much as Sky bar, Sirocco etc. There's a good selection of beer, whisky, etc

Price is a little high but if you have a romantic bone in your body, does money really matter?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Sky also viewed

 

Been to Red Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing