We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very limited vegetarian options!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Na Aroon

Na Aroon
Ranked #80 of 10,706 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Description: Welcome to “Na Aroon” Restaurant at Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel and Spa. As you may be aware we try to produce a healthy but tasty cuisine. Our food is mainly vegetarian and we have an extensive range of seafood. We do not sell meat. We do not use MSG, food coloring, preservatives. We do use as much organic materials as we can and we try to ensure that we know the provenance of our food stuffs. We use good quality oil and properly fermented soy sauce.Please ask our staff for help on menu selection if you need assistance. Where as most of our vegetarian food is “mang sawirat” ( no killing) we can produce good tasty food for vegans and even “Jay” ( Chinese vegetarians). Please let us know if you eat eggs or not.Our western desserts are not quite so healthy but are all homemade and quite delicious! We use a good deal of fresh produce from the Kings’ project – Doi Khum – fresh strawberries, gooseberries, figs, rhubarb, raspberries – to name a few.We look forward to having you with us.
India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very limited vegetarian options!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We made a trip especially to have a vegetarian meal after reading so many reviews but when we got there, much to our dismay, we found that there were very limited vegetarian options, so we left without having a meal feeling very disappointed.

The hotel looked beautiful though. And the staff were very courteous and polite.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidlees, Manager at Na Aroon, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear PDK111

Thanks for your review. It's a pity that you chose to leave without trying the food. Our menu is about 65% vegetarian. I think that if you had studied the menu carefully you would have seen that we have a very extensive range of Thai vegetarian dishes. As with most restaurants in Bangkok we will always make other dishes that might not be featured on the menu if we have the ingredients.

Daily we have many types of vegetarians coming and eating as well as non vegetarians. Our senior restaurant staff our helpful and can make suitable suggestions of what to eat.

So having made the journey to the restaurant it's a shame you didn't try our dishes.

Anyway many thanks

David Lees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    86
    25
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Frome, Somerset
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Na aroon advertises itself as a Vegetarian restaurant , though it does have a few seafood dishes for us Carnivores.
We were staying at the hotel this is a part of so was very convenient when not wanting to face the chaos that is Bangkok's streets in the evening.
The setting is lovely, quiet , small and with friendly staff. The food is very good and well presented. If sitting outside remember the mosquito repellent!
Deserts are British, which is a welcome departure from the 'healthy' Thai food!

Prices were not bad with our meal for two, with a glass of wine each coming in at around 1400 Baht.

If you're a veggie you'll love it, if a Carnivore then be sure to like Seafood.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAFCDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience (also for carnivores)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We are not vegetarians. Actually carnivores by nature. But this is too good to miss out. Crab with pepper sauce, curries very good. We ate twice at Na Aroon. Shared the starters:Crispy noodles at the first dinner and papaja salad the second time. A bottle of French sauvignon blanc to accompany the Thai tastes. Desserts: one with coconut and shaved ice with pandan and one with 'rubies' (see pictures). The scenery, the staff. Out of this world. Do go

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sumbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Divine Food !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 days and ate here most of our stay.
Delicious fresh and beautifully presented food.
Lots of choice and my daughter absolutely loved the Pad Thai.
Great service and David is definitely passionate about what they serve.
Wish I was back there now!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aussieitchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum yum yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My partner found Na Aroon on Trip Advisor so we went there for dinner on our last night in Bangkok. The food was absolutely delicious catering to vegetarians but also offering seafood. The setting is absolutely beautiful and relaxed and each dish we ordered was wonderful. The restaurant was a bit tricky to find but absolutely worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jandy0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Na Aroon also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Na Aroon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing