We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1
Ranked #213 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

For my wife and I this was our first visit to Bangkok so we really didn't know quite what to expect in terms of "value for money" accommodation. Wow - what a great experience. This is a really warm and colourful hotel tucked away in a quiet street yet very close to many amenities. (a variety of shops, Thai massage parlours and some super eating places - particularly street food vendors where we ate supper for the 3 days we were there)
The first thing that strikes you is the fantastic level of service and friendliness from every single staff member. The young man managing the restaurant was exceptional.
We stayed in one of the 4th floor de luxe rooms overlooking the pool and restaurant and it was great. Tons of space, big bathroom with shower, bath and every shampoo, shower gel and conditioner you could wish for. Effective air-con, flat screen TV (with a remote that worked!) and a courtesy bar with free bottled water that was replenished daily.
Breakfast really set you up for the day with cereals, rolls, toast, fresh fruit, yoghurt, a range of Thai dishes and freshly cooked scrambled egg or omlettes.
Great venue, great service and great value.
Thank you to everyone at the Salil Hotel for making this such a great stay.

Room Tip: Booking a de luxe room will give you a huge bed, big bathroom and plenty of space for your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Front Office Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Graham O

Thank you very much for salil hotel thonglor has been selected for you host during visit in bangkok. the great feed back will distributing to staffs and keep provided a best service.

we will welcome you and your family to stay with us again in the next traveling.

Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    185
    75
    30
    15
See reviews for
71
132
107
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

good place for this hotel quiet. Very clean, nice rooms, nice terrace for breakfast and very nice little pool. For the lazy, tuk tuk one takes you to the metro station of air (5 min walk otherwise)! will book again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndusKau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Front Office Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear IndusKau

The Salil Hotel Thonglor were very appreciated for you kind advice comment which very rewarding our team to motivating team and keeping up for the best hospitality service distribute to customers.

Hopefully, the salil hotel get an opportunity to serve you and your family in the next future.

Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located at Soi Thonglor 1, just a few minutes walk to the BTS Thonglor.

Hotel exterior decor very colourful and fun. Interior wise - room is small though they gave me a corner room which is slightly bigger than those along the hallway. So thankyou to the reception staff.

Staff are courteous especially those at the breakfast tables, buffet spread is reasonable and the egg chef is nice and fast.

They only gave one key card and so need to pay Baht500 as deposit for a spare key card. When the cleaners come clean the room they will still dislodge the spare key card in the room if you leave it there. My problem with this is that it disrupts the charging process of my computer and battery bank so I need to charge again when I come back to the room in the night.

They provide free transfer from airport depending on the type of promotion you pick. The driver is pretty savvy so he goes through small roads to avoid major traffic congestion.

Would recommend this hotel any time. ... good price and good location

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tts_jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Front Office Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear tts_jeff

Thank you very much for you kindness advice feed back for your satisfied our service provided and our staffs during stay. We were encouraging and motivating all staffs to keeping best hospitality service expand to clients.

However if you would like to returning please inform us directly we will offer the special benificial to you for next travelling .

Should you have any further queries or more information plese do not hesitate contact me at you convenience e-mail : fom-sl2@salilhotel.com

Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2013

very impressed that upon arrival, they superb to treat me. I pay extra for up grade to balcony room that value to paid that,nice view ,over all located like home ,green ,fresh air. Breakfast should add more items but it reasonable price, the staff at restuarant was friendly.
the located hotel near BTS by 5 minute walk and acces to rich of entertainment and 10 minute to siam paragon or down town.

recommend this hotel to host you

Room Tip: 2nd floor with balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wangleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, General Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Wangleo

Thank you very much for Salil Hotel Thonglor soi 1 have an opportunity Host your during visited In Bangkok.

With the pleasure your're welcome advised a great comment for encourage our staffs to keep up best service .

we hopefully we will welcome you once again in soonest.

Best Regards,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

A magnificent palace ideally located at the heart of the most vibrant part of Bangkok Thailand, the Salil Hotel Thong lor is a unique place to stay at Bangkok and feel that you are at noble hotel.

A place where in contemporary comfort and elegance meets the silence, sophistication and kindness of classic culture.

Embebed in the atmosphere of luxury that is the very soul of this establishment are the amazing services , the pool the outstanding restaurant with new culinary concept .All of them combining style and contemporary chic with an impeccable service attentive but not intrusive that makes the experience of the hotel more than unforgettable, memorable.

Because beyond the elegance and glamour of The Salil Thong Lor Hotel what it is truly remarkable is the personalized care of the guest, the kindness and consideration, the attention to details .

Everything reflects a philosophy and a very special art of living .

A pleasure to repeat indeed. We will come back !!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Badjongster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Front Office Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Badjongster

The Salil Hotel Thonglor were very appreciated for you kind advice comment which very rewarding our team to motivating team and keeping up for the best hospitality service distribute to customers.

Hopefully, the salil hotel get an opportunity to serve you and your family in the next future.


Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

You won't find rooms smaller than this anywhere in the world, not even in Tokyo at the price that you have paid for. You could barely move inside the room and if you have one large suitcase then you wonder yourself jumping the stuff every now and then even to reach bathroom. I booked this hotel (2 rooms) for my family's visit, looking at 4 star hotel rating. I wonder who has given this hotel 4 star rating or is it self imposed. It doesn't even deserve 2 star. The staff is nice and cooperative. I never got hot water in the bathroom for my stay of 4 days. Every time they came and said that it is fixed but it never was. Finally, they offered me to change my room on the 4th floor of a building which does not have an elevator. I had no option but to decline and probably that's why they would have offered me.

When I was booking this hotel, I was getting a better deal online from other travel sites. I called them but they insisted to book through them only and offered me to switch to one of the bigger rooms because we had a kid with us. They also suggested me to go for hot package that includes breakfast and airport transfers, which later I realized was absolutely a marketing gimmick. When I checked-in I asked for a bigger room and it was a standard reply that all rooms are full. I extended my stay and decided to shift to one of their other hotels at Soi 8 after my family left the country. Since, airport transfer was included in our package I asked them to drop me off to their other hotel where I was staying for the rest of my stay. The hotel was on the way to airport and they had to just drop me off in the van for which I had already paid for. They asked me to pay additional 600 THB just for a drop to their own hotel which was on the way to airport where they were going to drop my family. Can you ever imagine this? I preferred to take a meter taxi and wonder how much did I pay to the taxi.....67 THB. Yes, it costed me only 67 THB against 600 THB which they had asked me to pay for the transport for which I had already paid them 1000 THB.

The second incidence was the breakfast for my kid. When I was booking through a travel site the breakfast for 2 adults and one child was included. When they asked me to book through them I checked with them on the same. They said yes. When I reached hotel they asked me to pay additional money for my kid's breakfast and they did charge me. It was a very small amount that would have neither hurt me nor them, but the question was integrity and customer service more than the money.

They deserve a poor review but the only reason I am giving them an average rating is for the supportive and polite nature of their staff. On top of that, their travel service is awesome. I doubt you will get a better deal than what you get from the lady (she is independent and not part of the hotel staff) who sits in the inside corner. If you want to book dinner cruise or any event please go to her as she will offer you the rates better than you can even find online. The car that we booked through her was also a good experience.

You can read my review about the same hotel at Soi 8 in a short while. It was even worst experience than this.

Room Tip: As far as possible, prefer to stay at other hotels which are much better than this at the same or lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraavelGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Front Office Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear TavelGeek

Thank you for you feed back as you satisfy experience during stay at Salil Hotel Thonglor 1.
your comment very significant us to improving,

Our room type we have 3 categories with Superior, Superior balcony, Deluxe, for choice when you were reserve we will emphasize Front office staff to assign and escort guest accordance booking said.

Hotel Limo car and Taxi meter it would be difference price. (Normal to compare with safty)

For the extra Breakfast we already sent the e-mail to you on 28 Nov 13 time 08:55hrs, we sent the e-mail to confirm chrage breakfast for child price 130 THB.

please keep my apologize for any inconvenience .

Should you have any further queries or more information please do not hesitate us at you convenience

Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I've been to Bangkok about 10 or so times, but this is my first time staying in the Thong Lor area. Actually I quite like the neighbourhood- quiet, but convenient at the same time, with good amenities around.

The plus points of the hotel: Staff were generally friendly and helpful, decor was tasteful (nice pool area which we never used; cafe area was nice as well), good location (4 minute or so walk from BTS), beds are comfortable.

I can't complain about anything being really bad, mostly just mediocre. Rooms are acceptable, but not memorable. The buffet breakfast was below average (save your money and just get breakfast on the street!).

I've stayed in much nicer places elsewhere in Thailand for 25% of Salil's price. I understand that Bangkok is more expensive than other parts of Thailand, but even in the big city, you can find the same quality of hotel (or better!) for much less than what you would pay here.

In short, Bangkok is a city of choices, with many options for accommodation. Salil is, at best, a mediocre choice. But in a city like Bangkok, you can do much better! Do some more research and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLO721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, ผู้จัดการ at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Value guest

Thank you for you feed back as you satisfy experience during stay at Salil Hotel Thonglor 1.
your comment very significant us to improving,

we effort to set up variety of Breakfast ,as Salad, Hot dish , ham, sausage, bolona ,Suzhi, milk ,fruit juice, 5 series or bread, 3 kinds of season fruit, coffee & Tea which serve in every morning. may our staff not to pay attendtion at you as much as they can , i will briefing my staff both of approach to offer asssistance in consistency, we are ensurely the stree didnt provided more varieties of Breakfast as the hotel providing ,however i will checking the quality too.

our room type we have 3 categories are Superior, Superior balcony,deluxe, for choice when you were reserve we will emphasize Front office staff to assign and escort guest accordance booking said.

please keep my apologize for any inconvenience .

Should you have any further queries or more information please do not hesitate us at you convenience

Best Regards,

Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8
#209 of 859 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Thong Lor & Ekamai
PlayHaus Thonglor
PlayHaus Thonglor
#191 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Volve Hotel Bangkok
Volve Hotel Bangkok
#269 of 859 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok
Thong Lor & Ekamai
THA City Loft Hotel
THA City Loft Hotel
#281 of 859 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1

Property: Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1
Address: 44/14-17 Sukhumvit 53, (Paidee-Madee) Sukhumvit Rd. | Khlong Tan Nuea, Watthana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Thong Lor & Ekamai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salil Group introduce the “concept living space” as part of a new kind of hotel experience. A hotel that’s more like a private home on the corner of a European street. The 130-room, 8-floor hotel comprises 118 Deluxe rooms and 12 one-bedroom suites. Among essential hotel facilities are all-day dining cafe, tea lounge, souvenir corner, rooftop pool and garden, fitness room, and working space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing