We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1
Ranked #200 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Really good !”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We returned to this hotel for 6 days from August 4 to August 10.
Despite nearly all the staff have changed, the friendly spirit remains the same.
Rooms are very clean and breakfast has plenty of meals to satisfy European or Asian tastes.
At the hotel, the same and very good travel agency is still there. Mr Toe can arrange for you any tour at reasonable prices.
The hotel also provides airport pick up or drop off. Why taking a taxi ?
It's our hotel in Bangkok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huynhtantai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Front Office Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Huynhtantai


Thank you very much for your lovly review, We work hard in every day to ensure that our guest enjoy with our service and facilities in or hotel, We look forward to thewelcome you back the the future, thank you once agian for share your experience.

Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    193
    76
    30
    15
See reviews for
72
136
117
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I used to stay here quite a bit, and thought it offered a decent value when staying in Bangkok. It's still pretty cheap for the location it offers, but still I would expect much better service when I'm staying in Thailand.

When we arrived at 10pm we informed the staff that our travel were forced to change, and we'd instead be checking out at 4am (6 hours later) rather than the 2 nights stay we initially booked. Because we booked through an online travel agent, we were informed that our booking was not amendable or refundable. Even they were not able to give us a free drink or snack at checkin despite our booking including 2 free breakfast that we now couldnt use. Alright... that's what we'd expect when our travel plans changed unexpectedly.

The staff were generally not helpful, and borderline rude. Here are a few examples:
1. We were put in a smoking room, but were never asked our preference (wouldn't the default preference be non-smoking?). We could have asked to change of course, but the hotel does not have an elevator, so the idea of doing another up & down of 3 flights (with luggage) didn't seem worth it... we were only going to be there for 6 hours anyway.

2. After dropping our stuff in the room, we wanted to get a quick bite to eat. The hotel markets its free 'tuk tuk' service, which is great... except when you need to wait 10 minutes for one of the staff to free themselves up and actually drive you. It's a small hotel and at 10.15 pm there is not too much going on... seemed very lazy on the staff's part.

3. Once back in the room trying to sleep, our room had alot of strange noises coming from the airconditioning unit. We had only a few hours to sleep before an early flight, so had to choose between a hot room or a noisy room for our nap... we opted for hot because the aircon was just that loud!

4. At checkin we carefully arranged with the staff a taxi for the next morning since our flight departed at 6am, and we wanted to make sure there was no chance to miss the flight. A few mistakes caused by the staff here -
- one staff first insisted that it would take an hour to get to the airport, despite my questioning whether that would be normal at 4am. He insisted so I asked another staff, who confirmed it was only a 20 mins drive at that time.
- the staff had confirmed the taxi on a metered basis, but when we got 1 block from the hotel the taxi still hadn't turned the meter on, and said the hotel told him it would be THB 350 (more than 2x the actual metered fair). We had this fixed fare taxi send us back to the hotel, without paying anything, and then waited until we were able to hail a meter taxi on the street. Obviously a bit of a stress when you are going for a flight (and when you had specifically asked the hotel to arrange a meter taxi).

Maybe it was just an unlucky night, or just had a bad staff on duty... I'm not sure. But the fact that I paid for 2 nights (with breakfast) and stayed only 6 hours made it that much more sour that I was given attitude, poor service, and nearly ripped off because of the staff.

If in Bangkok, I'd recommend to pay a little bit more (maybe only $20) and stay somewhere that offers better service, and the rooms are not a shoe box.

I'll definitely be back to Bangkok, and will deifnitely not be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank greg_plifka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Front Office Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Greg

Thank you very much for you advice feed back which your unsatisfied an experience. We apologize for assigned your to new building which we not much room as on that date we were fully. But We have been investigated with a bell boy who took your luggage to your room, definately he took your luggage to your room.

Please kindly to check with your booking as you book because Its show up room not include breakfast It was " ROOM ONLY" In our website to loaded " EARLY BIRD " promotion option which we have to honest the condition " NO Cancelled, NO Amendment " But we recommended to Booking any option which loaded and condition are flexible. I sincerely regret indeed that to could not redeemption Room and /or ABF which you don't take to any, Not our Hotel policy but almost The hotel have been doing.Otherwise our hotel provide welcome drink as some snack for check in guest that you can use at our restaurant which we closed at 23.00 pm in daily.

Sorry once again for the TAXI paid which hotel never inform to flat cost charge ,it must be on meter and they didnt belong with hotel ,actually we recommend booking with "Hotel Limousine" it should be better and also any mistake hotel will fully responsibility caused. May I recommend the tourist your should asking Driver turn on meter to avoid " TRICKLY" Taxi driver which out of control by hotel.

Room Size 25 SQ2 for Superior Room Which we assigned your that equally for all Hotel room it doesnt belong you room was smallest. Just Only Superior Balcony room that a bit widen.(Recommend Book)

Tuk Tuk Service which we provided 24 Hr, But sometime we would like to say apologize for keep your waiting but not over 15 Minute , We would like appreciated to reservation at front desk prior leaving 10-15 Minute they will stand by.


Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

There are very charming and inexpensive places in bangkok , impressed with the hotel from being start,staffs very polite and extremely welcome by greeting and great smell for cool face towel,valua for money and fantastic during stay, Breakfast great , Staff at restaurant very helpful, the room clean, comfortable, tuktuk service driver nice and helpful, Mostly satisfy and come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Front Office Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Bobbysky

Thank you very much for your lovely review, and lovely to hear that you have wonderful experience with Salil Thonglor 1 , we look forword to see you soon.

Best Regards.,

Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Salil is a small boutique hotel. i stayed at 4th floor (Winter floor). the room is quite big 35sqm. the interior is lovely. with chandelier hanging above our bed. but the windows are small and not much view. if u want to have more view, better book a room with balcony. The breakfast was nice. Small swimming pool. it was great that Salil Hotel provide Free Tuktuk Service from hotel to BTS station, so u dont need to walk if u want to go to BTS. however back to hotel, i had to walk. it doesnt matter, cause the diatance is shorter if walk back to hotel from BTS. The staff was friendly too.

however.... there was one night that the fire alarm rang for few times (at least 4times) in the middle of the night. that woke all the occupants up on the Winter floor. I couldnt sleep afterwards. That night was really annoying.
The corridor was very hot, i dont know why the staff sets on a warm temperature in the corridor.

but overall, i enjoyed my stay @ Salil Hotel. and will come back again someday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felissia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Front Office Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Felissiah

Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed in our facilities in the hotel and we take all guest comment into department very seriously and we wil do improvments can be made, we look to see you again soon.

Best Regards.,
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perchtoldsdorf, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I came back agin to 5 nights stay in July , The room was clean ,size not large but enough and comfortable, The Room maid very night to pay attention, front staffs very helpful and friendly ,breakfast buffet good and better than before, the pool was relaxing, and nice floor after change. Overall satsfy and choose this hotel for next trip in bangkok.

Room Tip: Recommend balcony room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bredonpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, General Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Bredonpt

Thank you very much for your keep loyalty with Salil Hotel Thonglor, the feed back was significant to our improvement of service provided. I am ensurely you great comment will expand to our staff .

we would welcome you again and again by VIP treat up.

Should you have any further queries or more information please do not hesitate contact me at you convenience.

Best Regards,

Joe

General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Simple breakfast, quiet neighbourhood, we heard only some cats/monkeys on the roof. Good location. Condoms in the minibar ;) Good for spending 1-2 nights before/after the flight. Pool was nice. The AC was a bit noisy, but you can get used to it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, General Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Kuba B

Thank you very much for your kind advice feed back which very significant to us . We hopefully to take an opportunity service you in the next future.

Should you have any further queries or any assistance please do not hesitate contact us at you convenience.

Best Regards,

Joe

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel is nicely located in a very calm and peaceful neighborhood of Sukhumvit where Greyhound headquarter is. It feels safe to walk around and to the BTS, even late at night. The superior room was large and comfortable except there wasn't much of a view outside the window. The lobby/concierge staff, Apple (male), was extremely friendly and always greeted us chirpily and with a broad smile. If you needed help to get to the nearest street food corner at Soi 38, you could request for a tuk-tuk service, if the staff is not busy.

Room Tip: request for one with balcony if you prefer but not much of a view. Just avoid the room next to the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stripeon69th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Stripeon69th

Thank you for your enjoyed our property so much and thank you for share this review.
We are looking to see you return trip in Bankok , it would be pleasure to host you in the future.


Best Reagds.,

Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Thong Lor & Ekamai
The Salil Hotel Sukhumvit 57 - Thonglor
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8
#248 of 861 in Bangkok
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thong Lor & Ekamai
PlayHaus Thonglor
PlayHaus Thonglor
#194 of 861 in Bangkok
218 reviews
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Volve Hotel Bangkok
Volve Hotel Bangkok
#272 of 861 in Bangkok
32 reviews
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1

Property: Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1
Address: 44/14-17 Sukhumvit 53, (Paidee-Madee) Sukhumvit Rd. | Khlong Tan Nuea, Watthana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Thong Lor & Ekamai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salil Group introduce the “concept living space” as part of a new kind of hotel experience. A hotel that’s more like a private home on the corner of a European street. The 130-room, 8-floor hotel comprises 118 Deluxe rooms and 12 one-bedroom suites. Among essential hotel facilities are all-day dining cafe, tea lounge, souvenir corner, rooftop pool and garden, fitness room, and working space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing