We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tour with Tong - very nice experience”
Review of Tour with Tong

Tour with Tong
Ranked #1 of 208 Tours in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experiences through a local's eyes...with our qualified, friendly, honest, informative private tour guides...who make your visit privileged and personalized in our expert's hands....
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Roma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tour with Tong - very nice experience”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We arrived in Bangkok at 7.30 am from an international flight. As we were very tired we went to the hotel to have a little bit of rest and, as we had only one day to spend in the city, we decided to book a tour with Tong in order to avoid the hassle and the waste of time of going around a city that we didn't know at all. The best decision ever!
Nang, the tour guide, came to pick us up at the hotel at 11.00 am and until 16.00 pm she showed us all the best places in Bangkok. She helped us with a problem with our mobile phone that didn't work, she was so informative, gentle and kind that we really enjoyed our day with her. In fact we managed to visit a lot of temples like: Grand Palace, Wat Prah Kaew, Wat Pho, Wat Arum, Wat Trimitr and the flower market. I highly recommend to book a tour with Tong!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pallina68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,798
    222
    36
    16
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No need to do your homework before you visit Bangkok.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We found this to be a very well run and very well conceived business.

No stress, no planning required, and no wasting precious time getting oriented to an unfamiliar city. Ms Eve (our expert guide) made any language barriers, cultural barriers and safety concerns disappear.

Miss Eve was absolutely excellent and I recommend asking for her by name. She is particularly understanding of Australian travellers.

Our family group of 4 could relax and enjoy the day without a care in the world.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaycol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tiger Temple tour with TWT”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Initially tour with Tong might appear little costly, but actually it is not.... if u consider its value for money.

We had been to Bangkok many many times (how many times we actually do not know :) )... but this is the first time we took there a tour... mainly because we wanted to explore bangkok and its nearby for our little child. Tour with Tong became an ideal choice. I decided to choose them seeing reviews on tripadvisor, thanks to the reviewers who guided me.

We went for a whole day tour - Tong suggested us an SUV, we were only 3, but this was of use, when our son slept peacefully at the backseat on our way back and regained all his energy before reaching bangkok... we left our Sukhumvit hotel at 8:15 (delayed 15 mins by ourselves) - went to Domnuen Saudak floating market and then to the Tiger Temple. Our guide Nina was an excellent person who knows her job very well. She knew exactly when to reach the Tiger temple and what to do there. I really adore their plans. Our son was excited and we were very satisfied. We took a short break at the Bridge on the River Kwai on our way back.

Thanks Tong, we really loved this tour... the driver drove us safe and Nina did her job very very well. Hope to see u all again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank aditi_nundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best way to start the trip”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We took the Bangkok tour by public transportation on our first day. It really helped us to learn how to travel in the city and where to go. Nang was fantastic, she brought us in the real Bangkok. Definitely a highlight on our trip!!! We discovered many things that we would not have seen without Nang: local market, local transportation, street food, etc...
Highly recommanded!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awsome quality, personalized experience for moderate cost”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I took 2 excellent private day trips with them.

The first one was called "fisherman village", but it's highlights were feeding wild swimming monkeys in the jungle and a relaxing seafood lunch in a little house on the sea. They've also included the train market (I would opt out from that if I took this trip any more time) and a floating market which was quite fun. All for around 3400 baht / person + tips.

The other one was a premium pro plus;) version of the elephant village tour. It consisted of riding an elephant (both on a seat and bareback) thru the jungle and the "elephant bath" - swimming and playing in the water with elephants. Mahouts did their best to show us as much tricks with elephants as possible - getting on and off the elephant (in a several ways), making them raise their trunks, a rodeo in the water etc. A great advantage over other programs was that you had your own elephant and a mahout to help you with it - it would be MUCH less fun to come with a larger group and squeeze 3 people on one elephant seat for a much shorter period (as other people in the village did). The option we took was not advertised on the website and cost around 5000 baht + tips / a person.

On the general side: both trips were very private (me and my friend + the guide + the driver), smoothly organized (the guide always set up everything remotely before me came, including meals) and of exceptional quality. Each time around 7 people were doing their best to make sure everything was prepared for us, helping us with the animals, driving the boat, preparing lunches, delivering milk to feed elephants etc.

Tong no longer leads the tours herself - you get an English speaking guide and a driver for each tour. Tong replies to the emails - she is VERY responsive and quite flexible.

Strongly recommended!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank qadro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tour with Tong also viewed

 

Been to Tour with Tong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing