We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Bangkok
Post
Inbox
Search

“Authentic Thai gem by the canal ”
Review of The Family

The Family
Ranked #43 of 14,274 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $1 - $5
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Cute place by the canal, welcoming decor and friendly staff. Prices are very good value and food is authentic and delicious. Green curry was bang on. We like our food spicy and medium was pretty hot. So only order hot if you like it to blow your socks off. Definitely recommend!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank KingMatt89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Situated on the canal.. be sure to book ahead for an outdoor spot.

Menu consists of Thai standards including several vegetarian dishes.

Service was agreeable and food was all right.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bas0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I went here on a Sunday evening around 7pm. Was very close to our hotel (Thanabumi) so thought why not. Right away we were told wait for a table would be around half hour and food after time of ordering would take an hour- thanked him for the heads up and it was no problem. We got seated within 10 minutes and we’re asked for our drink order right away. Waited a bit (maybe 1/2 hour 40 mins) for food but we were warned. My food came out first and we waited about 10 minutes for my husbands. We didn’t mind- we were told that they were busy and were enjoying the loving cats in the area. The same gentleman who sat us apologized and explained why my food came out so much sooner and insisted to give it to us half price.... wow ok! Then he came over with two beers free of charge! We were really blow away by the service and how on top of everything everyone was here. Food and drinks were great and reasonably priced. Would give it a 10/10!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank EmilyW1468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food here is delicious! Very authentic, small cozy restaurant. I would recommend that you make a reservation as it’s so popular. The only negative was the amount of time it took for our food to come initially and between courses, but the staff did make us aware of the delay. The portions are good, cocktails were huge and delicious. They make the food here Thai spicy, not tourist spicy according to the waitress, So we asked for medium heat which was hot! It was all delicious!! I would definitely recommend

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank jadams2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing service, food and atmosphere, next to the canal. My daughter loved the many cats wondering around. The servers were excellent, especially the male (Robert) who explained the dishes and different levels of spice to us. When we asked about the cats, although the restaurant was busy, he took his time and explained to us how they all came to be part of the restaurant. Amazing customer service, 10/10 would recommend.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank benjamingatehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Family also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to The Family? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing