We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay, despite the protests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Ranked #49 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Sayre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing stay, despite the protests”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Yes, my wife and I had to walk our bags about 5 blocks through the streets of Bangkok, however once we got to the hotel that was soon forgotten. The hotel staff did a wonderful job ensuring our stay was a great one. As Marriott gold elite members, my wife and I were treated like true VIPs at their executive lounge and other facilities. Lounge has a number of scheduled "events" during the day from breakfast to cocktail hour(s). Although it is true that the protests are close to the hotel, some taxis have the ability to make it through the closed street and provide services to hotel guests. Getting back could be a bit of a challenge, however, take a card from the hotel that says the address of the hotel in thai and you should be dropped off pretty close to the hotel. BTS/air train station is very close to the hotel also, to make sightseeing very easy. This Renaissance is probably my favorite in the world. Super chic, clean and up to date. Can't recommend it enough to Bangkok visitors, especially Marriott gold+ elite members.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,945
    781
    143
    31
    36
See reviews for
520
965
250
639
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

The first impression from the outside is of a big traditional inner city hub hotel. However, entering the lobby one is impressed with the style and design of the modern along with traditional Thai features. The rooms are large and spacious and the bathroom amenities are excellent. Fitness center is average. Breakfast was very good with a huge selection of western, Asian and traditional regional cuisine.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the city and my standard choice of a room near the elevator was a smart decision...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AbuKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hat Yai, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Because of its centrally location in Bangkok ,the hotel is excellent for shopping , skytrain travelling,and within walking distance to various interesting places.It is very easy to reach MBK,Siam Square ,Siam Paragon , Pratunam etc.The service is good and the facilities are more than adequate. Good food and great selection of food to choose at the breakfast buffet ,will make a good start for the new day.

Room Tip: Higher floor and corner rooms are preferrable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Krassanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I've been meaning to stay at this hotel for some time now, glad I did and the hotel did not disappoint. Rooms were nice, we had booked one studio suite and one deluxe, both were large and comfortable.

Pros:

Location, couldn't be beaten, across the road from Gaysorn and Central. Point to note: Its is problematic to take a cab from the hotel because of the protests. Parts of Sukhumvit, depending on the day were blocked and the entire Ratchprasong intersection is a site of a major demonstration. However if you are comfortable walking or taking the BTS then this should not really bother you.

Food at the restaurant is also very good, we ate at the Italian restaurant La Tavola which I would highly recommend.

Gym and Pool were also excellent. Some reviewers have said that the pool water was cold, I found it to be fine.

What I loved best was the soft lounge music which was played in every part of the hotel. The lighting was perfect adding to a very nice and comfortable feel.

The hotel however did feel empty, not many people at the bar or the hotel restaurants. Attributing this to the protests nearby.

All in all a top stay highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor and corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mikaeelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkvanderWielen, Director of Operations at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Mikaeelh,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us after meaning to stay for some time. I am glad to read that you had an excellent stay.

We have a fantastic location and are located adjacent to the BTS which makes moving around the city very easy. I am pleased to read your comments about La Tavola & Wine Bar, out Italian restaurant, which does get some great reviews. We are just about to launch our new menu in March so I hope that you will be able to try the new dishes on offer.
The music and lighting really does set the tone for a chic look and feel which is what Renaissance Hotels are all about. Renaissance is the lifestyle hotel brand for Marriott and the hotels tend to be a bit more funky and styled than our other brands.

Great to read it was a top stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again,

Safe travels ahead and kind regards
Blair Fowler
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Very good location. Maintenance is poor.
Big problem soundproofing, you hear everything that is in the next room
a great lack of precision for this category of hotel.
House reassembled smelling sewer system and faulty air conditioning. Very basic room cleaning.

I would not stay at this hotel

Room Tip: 1702 this room smell 2122 and 1726 no aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Napa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkvanderWielen, Director of Operations at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Napa2014,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel and for review of the hotel.

I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your satisfaction in particular with the room in which you occupied. We do have very high standards of housekeeping and I am concerned to read that we did not provide these to you on your stay. We use our guests feedback to ensure that we continue to deliver the highest standard of service to our guests and will certainly share with the team to ensure that your issues are taken seriously.
I am pleased to read that you found the hotels location to be very good and I hope this enabled you to enjoy your time whilst in Bangkok.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I do hope that you will think of us again should you travel to Bangkok again in the near future.

Safe travels ahead and kind regards,

Kind regards,
Blair Fowler
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, California
Level Contributor
538 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

I was totally impressed with this hotel. From the moment we arrive in the lobby, a ms.pemika met us and check us in perfectly- she upgraded me to corner room with windows on three sides- Bathroom huge, bathtub facing out for great views, large shower and seperate toilet.Big king bed with wonderful lighting. 2 bottles of water in the room everyday. go for the upgrade which includes the executive club, which is one of the best in the world. full breakfast and 15 min massage each,social drinks from 6-8pm with salad,great cheese, and some entries as well. well worth the upgrade fees which happen to be 1500 bht per day at this time. protest are going on, but we were out in the streets all day, shopping and having a grand old time. Do not stay away from Bangkok- great time to be here,many hotels discounted deals and the bhat is over 32.not this price for many years. do not miss this time. no problem with protestors, we were met with only love and happiness from eberyone.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank srimanone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkvanderWielen, Director of Operations at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear srimanone,

Thank you for your review and your comments that the hotel is “One of the best hotels in Bangkok”. The team will all be pleased to read such a great comment.

Khun Pemika, or Kim as she is known to many guests is our Club Lounge Manager and does a fantastic job to ensure that all of our guests are well taken care of. She is often mentioned in this forum and is a real asset for the hotel. I am glad she took such care of you during your stay. Likewise it is great to read that you enjoyed the Club Lounge.

Many travelers are enjoying the city at the current time and as you mentioned you were able to enjoy the city. We are located in a great location that has easy access to many of the major shopping malls and the BTS to move around the city.

Hope to see you again, Safe travels ahead!

Kind regards
Blair Fowler
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
732 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

The location of the hotel is well situated near the "Central" shopping center, and is directly in front of the Chit Lom Skytrain stairs. Marriott Elite members will find the Concierge Lounge to be one of the best in the world - great personalized service for check-in and check-out, plus breakfast, high tea scones and desserts (3-5 pm), and appetizers (6-8 pm). I know some reviewers indicated they didn't like the "no child" policy after a certain hour (they were allowed earlier in the day), but we appreciated it. I've been in far too many club lounges globally where the kids are unruly (in the food, noisy, running around) and the parents do nothing to stop it. So kudos to the hotel for taking action.

The protest activity contributed to reducing occupancy considerably during our stay, so we had access to the full breakfast buffet in the Flavors restaurant (instead of the Lounge), which was incredible -omelettes, Thai pancakes, stir-frys, dim sum, fruit, pastries, cheeses, salad, meats, you name it and they had it!

Food aside, we also were upgraded to a corner suite the size of a small apartment. The sheets were high thread count, bathroom had separate stand-alone tub and shower areas, make-up mirror, push-button shades, and glass separating the bath area from the bedroom (you could close the shades so you don't see what's happening in the bath). Amenities were "Tokyo Milk" brand - quite nice scent. Towels were fluffy and all was clean. Turn down service came by around 3 pm each day to refresh the room.

Marriott Elite members also get one free piece of laundry for each night of their stay, so in our case, we stayed 5 night nights and received credit for 5 items (no dry cleaning) which could be used one at a time or all at once. It didn't matter whether it was jeans or shirts, and the job was well done - returned to our room by around 4 pm each day. Members also get a complimentary 15 minute head/neck/shoulder massage in their spa, which as wonderful (they gave each of us this treat!). I didn't book any other spa treatments but expect this intro might entice others to try them - the spa did seem well-appointed and it's on the pool level at the top of the hotel.

They do offer a Mercedes airport pickup and drop-off service. We used it for departure since we had an extremely early flight and wanted to be sure we got there without a hassle (traffic at 5 am was non-existent). Just contact the hotel to arrange with the concierge.

There's an ATM machine next door to the hotel, and convenience stores (7-11 is everywhere) nearby.

As for the recent protest activity in Bangkok, note that there were tents, food stalls and stands selling Thailand memorabilia (flags, whistles, t-shirts, etc.) right outside the hotel entrance. The street is blocked to traffic but taxis can get in. There is a cursory security checkpoint for cars/taxis as they arrive at the hotel. The protesters were mostly quiet during the day, and walking around the area was no problem. The protest noise picked up at night (after dinner) so we just stayed inside and enjoyed the hotel's Concierge Lounge (21st floor).

If we ever return to Bangkok, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are an Elite member, ask for a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CleopatraBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkvanderWielen, Director of Operations at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear CleopatraBunny,

Thank you for your review and for highlighting your experience in detail for other travelers. I am glad to read that you had perfect service during your stay.

As a very frequent traveler such as yourself it’s very nice to read your comments about the Club lounge both for the service you experienced and the offerings that are made available to our Club guests. The suite you were upgraded to is one of our most popular rooms for the natural light and space that is on offer. Tokyo milk is the new amenity line for Renaissance Hotels globally and we do get great comments for the quality and look of these products.

The hotels limousine service is certainly the best way to get from and to the airport. Our guests are met at the airport by a dedicated airport representative and escorted directly to the awaiting Mercedes limousine. Very easy and comfortable.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your return should you visit Bangkok in the near future,

Kind regards
Blair Fowler
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#20 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hansar Bangkok Hotel
#38 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Property: Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#44 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing